We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Metamorfosi, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife, 2 kids, and I stayed from Feb. 28 to March 4. We loved it! The hotel is immaculately clean, and the rooms are wonderfully spacious. The hotel is just off the main parkway. We didn't drive at all, opting to walk the entire 4 days, and that's with a walking 4 year old! They have chocolate chip cookies and hot Cocoa every evening, which my son loved. The employees were amazingly friendly and accommodating. We are already planning on returning for Christmas. The Bearskin helped make this our best family vacation ever!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank whodat1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We've added 24 hour coffee too! Those cookies in the afternoon are so yummy, and we are glad you enjoyed the cookies as well as your stay with us. Please come see us again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    309
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
315
408
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zebulon, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Bearskin Lodge February 22-26. We had a wonderful time as always. We've stayed here several years and always find the Bearskin Lodge very accommodating. Everyone was very nice and the hotel was clean. The beds were comfortable and jacuzzi tub was very relaxing. We had a king executive suite overlooking the city. The room has a beautiful gas fireplace which makes it very cozy. We look forward to visiting Gatlinburg every year and certainly will be staying here when we come. Thanks so much!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came to Gatlinburg to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We wanted a place on the river and Bearskin Lodge delivered. Our room has a balcony overlooking the river and a gas fireplace. The room is very clean and the staff is attentive. The free breakfast was a pleasant way to start the day. The only thing I would change is the toilets...they are so low to the floor I felt like I was in my grandson's kindergarten room again! Americans are aging...low toilets are a hazard

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerakrewot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
280 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lodge Feb.23-28 in room 524,which was a king exec suite that faced the city and mountains.The room was nice and very clean and big. The bed slept very good and we both woke up each morning relaxed and ready to go for the day. The staff was always very nice and helpful and greeted us every time we came in or left, even the housekeeping was very nice.(Please be sure to tip these women,they do a great job) The hotel was clean everywhere we looked. They had a fire burning in the lobby the whole time which was nice since it was cold outside. In the evenings there was fresh baked cookies and hot chocolate in the lobby. The breakfast area is on the 3rd floor. It was very good and everything was fresh and again the lady working there was very nice to us. Our room had a in room jacuzzi and a fireplace and both worked great. The balcony was a good size with 2 chairs and a small table. Outside around the pool area they have 2 huge firepits and they were always on at night. There is plenty of parking and you can park under the building if the other lot is full. There is also 2 elevators in the hotel. This hotel is one street over from the main parkway on River Rd. There is no need to pay to park when you can walk to most restaurants and things in Gatlinburg from this location. This was our first time staying at Bearskin Lodge and we had a great stay. Everything was 'Perfect'. I think we found our new home while vacationing in the mountains. We will stay here again and again. Bearskin has rooms that face the mountains and city and rooms that face the river. Both are nice. If you are looking for a nice, clean hotel then I would highly recommend Bearskin Lodge. They even have good rates compared to other places in town and probably the best location and friendly staff around. Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: They have rooms that face the mountains and city and they have rooms that face the river. We prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrushjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

As we walked into the lobby the first thing we noticed was the amount of dust especially on logs above the desk. The front desk clerks were polite but not very helpful. He did notice I had a military ID and applied a discount to our bill, that was a plus.
We got to our room and noticed that the bed cover was kind of heavy and our first thought was it was down (spouse allergic to feathers). We called the front desk and they assured us that their was no down. My spouse had miserable night so on the way out for the day we asked at the front desk about the cover and again we were told there was no down and that we can even check the tag to verify. We did and sure enough, DOWN!!
The bath tub had an odd shape to it which made it hard stand in and water would pool and not drain. We tried the spa tub and only two of the jets actually worked.
The breakfast area was very small. We spent three nights in the hotel during "slow" season and the breakfast room was always to capacity. I could not imagine what it is like during the busy season.
After our second full day of activities we came back to find a bag of towels and toilet paper hanging on our door and the room had not been cleaned up. Dirty towels were still there and the trash had not been taken out. Pretty obvious that nobody had been in our room. We called the front desk about it and they asked if we had requested that they not come in. Seriously! Would we be calling you if we requested that they not come? So then he states "oh, they must have forgot and they are gone for the day".
Finally, there was a two inch centipede looking bug in our bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank airborne25u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Sounds like you had a trying time with us at Bearskin Lodge during your recent visit. We certainly apologize for not meeting your expectations. In hopes of not sounding like a list of excuses, we would simply like to tell you that we are better than this and hopefully we can use your experience as a lesson. You'll be happy to know that our logs and interior of the lobby has completely been cleaned and dusted. We just did some major work to the fireplace, taking it from wood burning to gas, so there was some "construction" residue this week. Also, in the future, if you just give those jets a twist, you'll have water pressure. Some folks turn them off, and the solution is as simple as opening them up again. As for the housekeeping, the only time we offer fresh towels is when there is a Do Not Disturb tag on the door. We respect your privacy! We value our travelers and guests, and hope you will return to give us another try. Please accept out apologies and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Clean and simple. The interior design of the room is quaint-trying to mimic you are in a lodge. It is a little dated but not to the point it really needs any work done to it just yet. Beds are older but were comfortable enough for us. Free breakfast is standard usual fare you get at most hotels. We preferred to splurge and go to Old Dads across the street and a few pancake places in town. You definitely can hear the creek from the rooms on that side of the hotel(even on the 5th floor)which is nice however there is a old hotel across the creek that is an eyesore so if something like that bothers you, probably not the place for you. We were content with our stay-cant really complain as the rates this time of year are remarkable. Don't know if I would pay season rates to stay here though. Its at the end of Gatlinburg so you can walk into town from here and not worry about parking

Room Tip: Specify if you don't want a room with an adjoining door to another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of Bearskin Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our unique location and ambiance is perfect for many different purposes for travel, and we love hearing that we got it right! Please come back again soon. It will start to feel like home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the lodge multiple times over the last 5 years and its always amazing! The rooms are always clean, breakfast is great, and the staff is always very friendly! I Highly recommend this lodge to anyone!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShorterPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Perfect! It's guests like you that make us love what we do! We appreciate you taking your valuable time to write us a little note of satisfaction. Your loyalty means more than we could ever say, and we are excited to have you as part of our "family!" Please visit us again soon...and be sure to check out the new items in our gift shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing