We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay - walking distance to most everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent Stay - walking distance to most everything”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 2013 - the rooms are nice sized, the rooms on the river are overrated as the river is very noisy. The best feature was the easy parking and walking distance to most of the Gatlinburg attractions...the worst feature was the breakfast, bread and bagels were dry, very crowded. When we arrived early one day, the waffle makers were off when we arrived, they say HOT on them, so my daughter didn't touch it to check...when the timer didn't come on when she flipped it, I tried the power switch to find that they were turned off...it made a mess, the breakfast lady was kinda rude to my daughter who actually helped here clean up the resultant mess. The pool and lazy river are small, but so is every other hotel pool in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: skip the river overlook, it's noisy
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    328
    130
    63
    44
See reviews for
347
436
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Bearskin Lodge first week of July 2013, it was clean but not as clean as you would have thought. Lobby was really small, pool is really small, service was awful, unfriendly people. Breakfast was good just be there early to grab some food, eating area was small also. Didn't realize the hotel was so far away from everything you had to walk a ways to shop and with two little ones that is not fun. The beds were sooo uncomfortable to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Bearskin Lodge in Gatlinburg, TN on our yearly family vaca in 2012. First I have to say it was clean and adequate but not for me. It was your typical "L" room, so to speak, where you walk in and the 2 beds are side by side in one room, and the bath room in an adjoining room. Somewhat modern room, clean and you do get a continental hot breakfast, which my children loved. Better get up with the sunrise to get that breakfast or it will be gone! Very small eating area, but breakfast was good. One perk about this place is that every room is secured by entering into the lobby to get to any room, so if you like that security, then you're staying at the right place. The hotel is located at the far end of the main strip of downtown Gatlinburg, right before you would start to drive up into the mountains. Overall, I'll give it 3-4 stars because of the clean and secure atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TN-Southern-Belle-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had seen this hotel many times before walking to the hotel where we usually stay. We decided to try it for the July 4th weekend and we loved it! It was very spacious and clean. The balcony was great and we spent a lot of time watching people walking below. We had no issues with anything not working properly and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We also loved the covered garage due to lots of rain. The breakfast was very typical but plentiful and a good variety. They also had warm cookies in the afternoons!! If we had any complaints it would be that the beds could be a little more comfortable, the fridge is pretty small, and I felt the towels were thin but the rest of the family found them okay.

Positives were definitely location (off the main strip but close enough), friendly staff, big clean rooms, and the breakfast selection. We will definitely return to Bearskin Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSLuv2travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When my husband and I first got to our non smoking room, it smelled like cigarette smoke. When we went to bed later that night we found dried blood on the blanket at the foot of the bed, half of the jets in the tub didnt work, sink wasnt draining right in bathroom. After calling the front desk to complain about the blood they did upgrade our room. When we went into the second room and pulled the covers back on the bed there was what looked like fruit juice and soda stains on it. The next day housekeeping never came in the room to take out trash or make bed. Room hadn't been touched. Another phone call had to be made about that. Pathetic place for such money. They should have spent less money on the lobby and put more luxury into their rooms. Completely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maybird1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasureville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here 4 nights and we had a wonderful time!! The Bearskin Lodge is one of the nicest places we have stayed at in Gatlinburg! I have NO complaints!! The room was big and cozy the bathroom was clean and in great condition. The beds were very comfy!! The continental breakfast was great and had a good selection of different items...the waffles were delish as was the biscuits and gravy! The pool area was clean and we all enjoyed the lazy river. My favorite thing was our balcony overlooking the mtn stream....very soothing at night. Spent alot of time there. It would have been nicer if the empty hotel wasn't directly on the other side other than that it was overall a very nice place to stay. Kids were very happy and are already asking when we can come back!! The location was at the end of river road so we had to walk a good piece to get to the shops...my legs got pretty sore, but it was good for me!! We didn't get to use the fireplace in our room but it was a great homey feel and added to the decor. The price of the room was a little on the high end but we made up for it by eating free breakfast and we packed lunch meat and bread to eat for lunch so all we were out was dinner. For the service we got it was well worth the $$. Oh and the kids loved the free cookies in the lobby...happy happy happy!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickigayhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Mrs and I stayed here for 4 days, it is very clean and well kept. It has a good location if you are in to walking to places. There is a covered carport area with double elevators. The rooms were nice and spacious and the balcony overlooking the river was nice. The Mrs really loved the whirlpool in the room and the fireplace in the room. I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reaperresistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing