We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very nice place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
wyoming michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very very nice place to stay!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at bearskin lodge and were nicely surprised..room was very spacious and clean...location is very nice,walking distance to shops and eating...also because its off the main street its quiet for sleeping......when there i left my medications behind...my big error..called tnem the next day and they were so nice about mailing them to me......i was so impressed how i was treated and i would stay there again next time...so yes i would highly recommend all to stay here!!....

  • Liked — large clean rooms and location
  • Disliked — pool kind of small and out doors
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayooper_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    325
    129
    62
    44
See reviews for
337
429
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Every time we got to gatlinburg we always stay at the bearskin- its our family's favorite! we love the service and the rooms, we pretty much love everything!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank silly145016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We loved this hotel. The room was huge, we had a balcony overlooking the river and it was so relaxing!!!!!! The room was clean, the staff was friendly. The elevator was slow so we walked up the stairs everyday to our room, but you walk so much in Tennessee anyways that it was no big deal for us and our two daughters at the time (6 and 8). Our AC went out and they not only fixed it but comped our room for us. These things happen in any hotel, it's how they handle it and they handled it with class and grace. We are coming back this summer and can't wait. A great deal, a great room, an overall great place!!!!

  • Liked — Location it was walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — the elevator was slow so we walked the stairs instead
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvinTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville,NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed at The Bearskin Lodge over Mother's Day weekend. The location is perfect! Just one block from the main drag downtown Gatlinburg. Plenty of nearby shops,restaurants and attractions. The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast is all you would want. The nearby stream is peaceful and relaxing as well. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here each time I travel to Gatlinburg.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uncpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We recently stayed at the Bearskin Lodge for one night. My husband and I were taking our 4 year old grand daughters to Atlanta. We decided to break the trip up by going to Gatlinburg. We called for reservations the morning before we left. I asked about discounts and was told that we would receive a 10% discount by showing an AARP card at time of registration. Our room was guaranteed with a credit card.
We arrived after dinner that night. When you enter, there is the pleasant smell of a wood fire in the lobby. Our room was on the mountain stream, as requested. It had a sliding glass door that led out to the balcony that was large enough to accommodate 2 chairs and a small table. The room was quite large, more than enough room for the 4 of us. It was nicely decorated in an attempt to be rustic, but luxurious and was quite clean. The room had a gas fire that could be set on a timer for up to a half hour. It was delightful to listen to the mountain stream go by under your window while you watched the flames of the fire. (We only did this for a little while, I was too concerned about the wasting of energy.)
In the morning, there was a fisherman in the stream below us. My grand daughter was fascinated with him, watching him progress up the stream. My husband and I sat and read the paper which had been provided to us.
Breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. My husband and I had hot waffles, which I made. There was no wait for the waffle maker. Our grand daughters had bananas and cold cereal. It was quick and easy. The breakfast room itself is small and has a rather sterile feel to it.
Check out was quick and efficient. No problems with our bill. After the discount, including tax, the bill was $82. The people at the counter were very friendly. The hotel is one of the closest to the entrance to Smoky Mt. Visitor center and is one block away from the main street in Gatlinburg.

Negatives: The balcony does face the windows of another hotel. That didn't bother us. We really didn't notice anyone from the other hotel.

For a hotel that is trying to be a little more upscale, the toiletries were the worst that I have ever seen in a hotel. There were little slivers of an off brand soap and 1 bottle of Breck shampoo.

The pool which is located outdoors is tiny. Next to it is an equally small lazy river. I know that my older grandchildren would be very disappointed with the swimming facilities.

Overall, a pleasant experience

  • Liked — location on stream, large room, gas fireplace
  • Disliked — toiletries, small pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank QueenMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Stayed 2 nights during spring break and enjoyed the place.
Had a room with fire place and whirpool tub. Fire place has
30 minute timer which was inconvienent, but you can't adjust
the flow of heat so you need a break after 30 minutes. Room
had a balcony over river but view is obscured from Family Inn
across river. Next stay here I will ask for city view room. Rooms
very clean which is sometimes hard to find in Gatlinburg. Nice
free breakfast. Like most motels in Gatlinburg parking lot small
for suv's and vans. Couple blocks from center of town but if
you don't mind the walk, its definitly worth it. This place is a little
more expensive then some but well worth the few extra bucks.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — One elevator
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakamakLakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Booked this hotel after shopping around online. The price was very reasonable, but their website didn't have many photos. Nonetheless, I took a chance on the Bearskin Lodge and I was happy I did. This was the 3rd hotel my family stayed in during our vacation, so we ALL had something to compare to. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's nicer than an economy hotel. For a family with young children, I highly recommend the rooms. The kids loved the rustic decor and fireplace in the room. The location was great, right at the Smokey Mountain Park entrance and within walking distance to the main attractions of Gatlinburg. The Hotel's pool and lazy river are very small and I wouldn't recommend the hotel to someone that like to hang out at the pool. The Hotel offers a free (limited menu) breakfast, which consists of cereals, bagels, donuts, waffles, hard boiled eggs , bananas and apples. If you would like a heartier breakfast, you need to go out - but there a plenty of places to choose from within walking distance. Also, the room the serve breakfast in is too small for the hotel capacity.

  • Liked — Location & Value
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitar570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing