We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Glad we stayed at the Bearskin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed at the Bearskin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to Gburg with her parents and we wanted to stay close to the strip. We settled on this hotel even though there were some bad reviews.
Glad we did! We chose the King on the river with jacuzzi and fireplace. The room was very spacious and had been updated recently. The fireplace in the corner is a very nice touch. I did not care for the 30 minute timer that they placed on it but i do understand why it is on there. It actually will warm the room very well. We thought the bed was quite comfortable and slept nicely. I think the TV would be better mounted on the wall up a bit higher. There are plenty of chairs available to use in the room too.
The balcony is small but nice. There was plenty of room for us to sit out and listen to the river run. The hotel across the river will become an issue at some point I'm sure but it did not bother us or our stay.
The breakfast is the typical continental type you will find in hotels. It was good and sure beat leaving to pay for a busy restaurant. They had some fruit too.
Location was great. It is one road off the main strip so you can leave your car and walk everywhere!
Try it...I think you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    293
    120
    59
    42
See reviews for
289
367
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

At the very end of "the strip" in Gatlinburg, you'll find the mountainesque Bearskin Lodge located on the river. The winter rates are a bargain. We go for several days in February for our anniversary. Though the lobby is small, the photo ops are plentiful. Many rooms have in-room whirlpool tubs and fireplaces-cozy, & relaxing. The rooms are nice, always clean, & spacious. Breakfast is included. You can walk next door to the Peddler Steakhouse-not to be missed.
Looking forward to our trip next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllishjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted to do a mini vacation and chose Gatlinburg. I always look at TA before choosing a hotel and this one was #22. The upside...it was clean, a great price and very convenient for walking around town, a little off the main drag, which was great. The downside...service was awful; we had a corner room overlooking the river that also was in direct view of a "Family" hotel sign and hotel that was closed down; and the breakfast area was overcrowded and a cramped little room. The video on the site had to be done by a master to make that place look bigger and much more amazing than real life. There was absolutely no place to sit and relax when you weren't in your room.

Room Tip: If you like the sound/view of water, ask for a room overlooking the river that does not also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JODI_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really liked the place, very comfortable and friendly staff. My children enjoyed the decor, the fresh baked cookies.Now they are going to talk about this vacation and Bear decor with their friends in Mi.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SD993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The pictures are extremely misleading. This place feels more like a cramped hotel than a lodge. 1 person working the counter and 4 families waiting in a 5 ft by 10 ft area to be checked in. The room itself was decent size with a little fridge, flat screen tv, but smelled extremely musty and just gross also was given a room with adjoining access when I only need 1 room and the family checking in in front of me who needed 2 rooms were told they could not have adjoining rooms. Front desk and sitting area is really really small. Pool is small. The hallways are cramped constantly filled with huge cleaning carts and trash bags hanging off them. The breakfast area would be decent if there was 8 people in there at a time, but apparently one tiny area serves multiple floors. Very crowded, literally no where to sit was 20-30 people in there on a Thurs morning. Would not stay there again just overall cramped feel to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank First B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great time of year to go for Spring Break! Ober Gatlinburg was still open that weekend and the tram to Ober is within walking distance. The Peddler Steakhouse is right next door and they have call ahead seating. The maid staff was very attentive and the free breakfast was reasonable. Better to go to the Pancake Pantry which is fairly reasonable walk (3/4mi) away.
My Wife was suffering from sciatica at the time and one of the Ladies working the front desk allowed us to borrow one of the rocking chairs from the front porch.
Bring stuff to make smores with and ask the staff to turn on the natural-gas fire pits by the swimming pool! Bring your own marshmallow sticks.
We intend to return Either this Fall for the fall color or New Years to see the ball drop from the Space Needle.

Room Tip: Ask for a two queen room with whirlpool bath overlooking the river. Those rooms will have more "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and stayed here in october. We were planning to use this hotel for our photo workshop participants and wanted to make sure the quality was what we expected and it was! Very nice large rooms and clean. Had small fridge in room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Most usually in a hotel you only see housekeeping cleaning rooms. But here they were cleaning the halls, elevators, windows in front lobby. They were cleaning everywhere in the morning while waiting to clean guests rooms. The free breakfast was awesome. Had a good selection of foods. Breakfast room was one of the largest we have seen. There was also a nice sitting area outside with a fire pit to sit around in the evening. It was a very nice place and they were great to work with in setting up for our photography group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pagesphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#7 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#11 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing