We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, stylish, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
East Peoria, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, stylish, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here during our winter vacation. We got the weekday rate plus a special winter rate which resulted in a $30/night room rate. The room was spacious, clean and the log trimmed furniture and log cabin theme was a really cool plus. With the red trolley stopping right in front of the lodge that added convienience was a plus. I would probably rate the lodge as 4-1/2 stars if possible. The only thing that is keeping me from giving them 5 stars is the dining area. For a hotel this size it is not large enough. Even on the off season it was pretty crowded at times with not enough seating. I would definately recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a clean, in town hotel close to attractions and would consider staying there again sometime.

Room Tip: One minor complaint. If you stay in room 201 this room is right above the A/C units. I don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    309
    128
    61
    44
See reviews for
315
408
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just got back from our weekend stay at Bearskin Lodge on the River and I must say we are incredibly impressed. It was definitely one of the nicer hotel rooms we have stayed in. We stayed in a queen suite with a balcony, fireplace and whirlpool tub. It was very clean and very peaceful. Staff was great. Atmosphere was very cabin-like. It was our first time staying here, and we would definitely come back again. We did not utilize the free breakfast and it was way too cold to use their outdoor pool, but overall I am so pleased with this property and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirl0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed in a king room with fireplace and whirlpool tub, loved the balcony,we left the door to the balcony cracked all nite long so we could listen to the river, it was so peaceful. we would stay here again for sure. make sure you try the wild boar saloon they have the best food on the strip

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnie3660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a good breakfast-nope, just the bread, cereal and donuts and coffee! If you are looking for exercise-nope! But the rooms are very clean and the creek provided a nice sound and view, the fireplace was extra nice but was on a 30 minute timer so I had to keep getting up to turn it back on. Nice location, no restaurant inside but there were several down the street. Also the "fresh baked cookies" they provide daily just amounts to approximately 24 and when they are gone, it is so sorry. We were there 3 nights and only able to get cookies 1 time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cootnorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family of 5 had a very nice time on a Smokey Mt. Adventure in July of 2011. This lodge was a great find. Comfortable, affordable and a good location for horse back riding, white water rafting, music and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the room was large, bed was very comfy and the river side balcony view was great. I would suggest to stay in room 519-521 as to not have to look at the back of the empty hotel across the river. The staff was very nice especially Jess. The location is excellent for walking and The Peddler restaurant next door is a must (pricey) but worth it. We will stay at the Bearskin again!!

Room Tip: Stay in room 520 or 521
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Bearskin Lodge. Thank you for taking a moment to write a response. Happy Belated Anniversary...and we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in Gatlinburg, and decided to try the Bearskin Lodge for 3 nights. We had a king room with a fireplace and a balcony over the creek. (Room 520 had a nicer view than those with the hotel behind.) The room was very roomy, but we would have enjoyed more comfortable chairs. We thought the bed and pillows were fine, but we asked for an extra blanket and didn't use the heavy comforter at night. The bathroom was extememly small for the size of the room. The vanity was small but we managed. The bath and toilet area was so small it hardly had room for the door to close. The lobby is so small it seemed more like a motor lodge. There is a roaring fireplace with just a few chairs. They had fresh cookies every afternoon-which were nice. We enjoyed being in walking distance of several of our favorite restauants and the tram. The front desk clerks were nice. We were not impressed with the continental breakfast, but we just enjoyed several good Pancake restaurants just a few blocks away. Since there are other hotels we like better, we probably won't return to Bearskin, but we wanted to give it a try.

Room Tip: We didn't find a fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing