We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Large and Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Canton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large and Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a group reservation under one name/charge account that was quickly divided into separate accounts upon arrival in a very accommodating way--which so many facilities are not inclined to do. The staff helped us with so many reservations/tickets for many attractions and were able to obtain discounts for us when available. Our rooms were spacious (two queens beds) and offered gas fireplaces and small balconies on the river. Parking was free--Yay! and covered parking was readily available. The location was perfect--across the street from the entrance to the park, offering a 3 mile jog to and from the ranger station--and also offered walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Traffic in Gatlinburg and to/from neighboring towns is awful so this is very important.

Room Tip: It's so nice to have a fireplace in your room and also two beds for increased room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    282
    116
    57
    42
See reviews for
270
347
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were looking for a hotel where the slightest opening of a balcony door would allow us to hear the babbling brook, and the promotional materials for Bearskin mentioned that very early. One thing we learned, from our 5th story rooms, the babbling brook was very faint. When we return to the Bearskin--and we certainly will--we'll ask for rooms on the 1st or 2nd story. (The rather generous complimentary breakfast is on the 3rd floor, but that location is easily approached from any level.) The hosts at the desk were very informative about attractions and special events as well as recommended restaurants. I must insert here that the prime reason for selecting Bearskin Lodge is its proximity to Peddler's Steak House right next door. A meal there is as much an element of our Gatlinburg stay as the city itself. After our Friday night meal, we returned to enjoy conversing with other guests, warmed by the provided fire pit inside the swimming pool area out front. In late October, the fire kept us at least warm enough for a brief conversation. As another assistance the hosts provided a catalog of discounts. Gatlinburg has never claimed match the bargains of Pigeon Forge, but for us, ambiance is worth the price. We received one reduction for AAA. There is also one for senior citizens and during check-out we were informed that "repeat customers pay 15% less." We'll remind them of that next time we arrive! All in all a very pleasant place to explore the delights of Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonSmith1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We needed a room for one night while staying in the area. We wanted to stay at the Riverhouse, but they had no rooms available. The hotel and parking area were clean. The parking spaces were a bit narrow. The room was clean and decent enough, no bed bugs. They had a free breakfast, but we did not use that. Price was about $110, for mid October isn't horrible, but in a normal highway hotel in an average town this would have been high. The person that check us in wasn't very friendly, but everyone else was.

The hotel is at the south end of Gatlinburg so convenient to the Park and Obergatlinburg. A bit far for most to walk to the main part of the strip where the chair lift, etc are. It is close to Bennetts BBQ which I always like. As another user mentioned it is a block of the main drag so your city view is of the back of the gas station.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a balcony. Those rooms were offered to us for $160. They do have some rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DewChugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in April for our spring break in an effort to do something different than the beach. We had a great time. Friendly hotel staff and clean rooms. Rooms were on the smaller side for a family of four. Heated outdoor pool was open and kids had a blast while we sat poolside with some wine with outdoor fire pit going. Great location as it was a bit away from the main drag, but was close enough to walk to without having all the noise. Great restaurants nearby. Morning breakfast staff were really nice and welcoming. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a family vacation. Only suggestion would be to not go during the week of the car show, as we missed our reservation for the Dixie Stampede because we were completely deadlocked in traffic. Dixie Stampede was wonderful to work with though and offered us the option of seeing a later show or a refund. We opted for the later show and had a blast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got quite excited looking at the pictures on the website thinking we would get a mountain atmosphere for our 2 night stay in the Smokies but the hotel is actually facing a petrol station & junk food chain restaurant. Therefore, there is no real attraction in using the rather small swimming pool.

Rooms were ok, a bit dark but spacious and clean. Breakfast could be better for the standing the hotel pretends to have as it is just the usual standard chain choices.

Overall, although we still enjoyed our stay, the hotel has not the standing it pretends based on the hotel website and price policy. Shall we have to choose again, we would rather go in a chain hotel in Pigeon Forge, a few miles away where value for money would be guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've stayed here before in October 2011. This was our second stay and enjoyed our experience. Good location for walking downtown to shops and dining. We never got back in the car. We walked everywhere. Rooms are clean, lobby and corridors as well. Parking is a little tight. That's the only down fall. Will be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I visited Gatlinburg for my birthday and stayed here. We only stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. It was terrific!! We stayed in a king suite and had a balcony over looking the river. It was a cool September morning and the brisk air with the sound of the river was perfect to have our morning coffee with! The breakfast was also very nice. Gravy and biscuits.. yum! We will definetly be returning. It was very majestic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back with river view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ang3828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#7 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#10 of 84 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing