We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got quite excited looking at the pictures on the website thinking we would get a mountain atmosphere for our 2 night stay in the Smokies but the hotel is actually facing a petrol station & junk food chain restaurant. Therefore, there is no real attraction in using the rather small swimming pool.

Rooms were ok, a bit dark but spacious and clean. Breakfast could be better for the standing the hotel pretends to have as it is just the usual standard chain choices.

Overall, although we still enjoyed our stay, the hotel has not the standing it pretends based on the hotel website and price policy. Shall we have to choose again, we would rather go in a chain hotel in Pigeon Forge, a few miles away where value for money would be guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    328
    130
    63
    44
See reviews for
348
436
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've stayed here before in October 2011. This was our second stay and enjoyed our experience. Good location for walking downtown to shops and dining. We never got back in the car. We walked everywhere. Rooms are clean, lobby and corridors as well. Parking is a little tight. That's the only down fall. Will be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I visited Gatlinburg for my birthday and stayed here. We only stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. It was terrific!! We stayed in a king suite and had a balcony over looking the river. It was a cool September morning and the brisk air with the sound of the river was perfect to have our morning coffee with! The breakfast was also very nice. Gravy and biscuits.. yum! We will definetly be returning. It was very majestic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back with river view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang3828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First buy definitely not the last stay at the Bearskin Lodge. After reading some of the reviews about rude employees and service, was wondering. We were warmly greeted and encountered nothing but good old fashioned southern hospitality! The lodge was decorated for Fall and we enjoyed sitting in the rockers outside the lobby. Our room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the river. We also had an in-room jacuzzi (only 4 out of the 6 jets worked) but it was enough to enjoy for sure! Great corner fireplace in the room and the vanity area was seperate from the toilet. Realized on day 3 that we could have complimentary newspapers in the lobby. . both USA Today and Knoxville. It was too cool to swim in the outdoor pool but we did enjoy the outdoor fireplaces burning at night. One drawback in the room was the shower lacked water pressure but made do with that. The VERY BEST thing about the Bearskin is you are only 1 block away from the Parkway in Gatlinburg so we could walk around town just about anywhere. There were about a half dozen nice restaurants adjacent or within 1 block of our hotel and Ober Gatlinburg tramway was just a short walk away. Also you are within 1/2 mile or so of the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park or the By-Pass road which is a really nice way to get to Pigeon Forge without traveling through all the lights and traffic in Gatlinburg. Also if you wish to use the Trolley it stops by the Bearskin along River Road. You can pay .50 for each ride or better yet, buy a $2.00 pass for an entire day at the hotel desk. We definitely wold stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is one of the better hotels we've stayed at in Gatlinburg. Our room was very clean, the staff was friendly (both night and day), the breakfast was good and the location was perfect. When we checked in the lady at the front desk asked if we had any discounts and when I said not that I know of she listed off several they accept and one turned out to be something we had so she was able to save us a few dollars! We liked being off the main crowded road, but still within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Since we came to the Smoky's to hike, this location was great as it's so close to the park entrance...no traffic to sit in! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMHO-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very very nice rooms! Fireplace, jacuzzi, flat screen tv view of the creek definitely our favorite place. Great free breakfast the ambiance is wonderful and the prices are reasonable. Highly recommended font miss this place'

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaPapa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Bearskin Lodge. It is in a great location and you can walk to all the area attractions in Gatlinburg. The hotel is in need of some renovations. The carpets in the hallways and the sleeping rooms need to be replaced as they are very worn down and have stains on them. The bed was a little firm for my taste and there was a stain in the bathtub. We liked the rustic decor and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdickinson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Property: Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Address: 840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing