We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have fixed the place up some”

Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area
Ranked #18 of 110 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From downtown Gatlinburg, hop on to the 120 passenger aerial tramway for a ride to this ski area with a 600-foot vertical drop, nine beautiful trails and an amusement park complete with indoor ice skating, wildlife encounter, Alpine Slide, water rides and more.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
801 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“They have fixed the place up some”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We noticed upgrades since we last visited this place which sure helped the look and feel of the place. The alpine slide is always a favorite ride of ours. Today there was a slow person with a small child that was barely moving on the slide so it wasn't fun for everyone behind them. I wish they would have one lane for folks with small children and another for everyone else so that all could enjoy. The chair lift is better than the one in downtown Gatlinburg as it is much longer and a much better value. Nice ice skating rink, arcade games, snacks and more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,350
    1,694
    1,066
    397
    365
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altos del Maria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You Can See for Miles and Miles”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

In the middle of Gatlinburg sits a ski area (who knew?), and two conveyances that will take you up the mountain.

We opted for the enclosed gondola that powers up above the hills, trees and hillside condos on heavy cables. The cost is $12 for adults, less for children. No senior discounts are offered.

The ride is 10 minutes long and is done standing, shoulder to shoulder with up to 80 passengers. The views on a clear day are wonderful, if you can get by a window.

Once there, other attractions not included in the price, await you: live animals, an ice rink, arcade, a maze, food, souvenirs. Not much of a view once you're there, but coming up or down, visibility today was at least 30-40 miles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alpine Slide”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a good time but it was nothing spectacular. It had nice views and the slide was fun but not something that I would rush back to. Overall good experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tons of FUN”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We visited on July 3rd and was surprised at the number of people there. It was not as crowded as we anticipated and there was very little wait for any of the rides. I would recommend two things 1) drive up to the park. Same cost ro park, and Tram is packed shoulder to shoulder for the ride up and down. 2) buy the day pass. Cost is equal to three or four rides.

Had a great time. We will go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience but too cold”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My family went to Ober Gatlinburg and decided to take the areial tramway. First we got our picture taken and then we got on. My daughter had to sit because she can't see when standing so she sat and I stood next to her. We had a great view of Gatlinburg but it was a windy day and everyone was cold. They didn't say when the areial tram would leave again so we picked up our picture and the next thing you know - the tram already left. Our experience might not have made the 4 star cut if it weren't for our caption, Bobby. Overall, it is a great family experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing