We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the tubing”

Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area
Ranked #22 of 114 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From downtown Gatlinburg, hop on to the 120 passenger aerial tramway for a ride to this ski area with a 600-foot vertical drop, nine beautiful trails and an amusement park complete with indoor ice skating, wildlife encounter, Alpine Slide, water rides and more.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Tubing was great. We are from the tropics so this is only our second tubing experience ever and we really enjoyed it.
Tubbing sesion price US$ 25.00 for 1.5 hours.
Staff at the tubing was real nice.
My advice get there early we were in line for close to 2 hours.

Skiing was nice but expected more.
The practicing space for beginners (as us ... first time) is small and the more experienced finish their skiing where the beginners are practicing. This is not smart since us beginners can´t hardly move and represent a threat to the most experienced.

Bathrooms were kind of dirty.


Food is not out of this world but is good but pricy.
Hamburgers are tasty.

Thank ctornoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,851 - 4,855 of 6,607 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall, this ski park is a pretty good value. My wife and I were able to ski during the twilight hours (3-10pm) on a Friday for under $100.00 total including rentals. Not bad at all, seeing as how we spent almost double that in Colorado the year prior. Anyway, there aren't a lot of trails, but the scenery is nice enough and they offer night skiing as well. As for snow tubing, if you go at night when it is not busy, you'll be fine. However, if you go during the day when it is even semi-crowded, you're going to be upset. We bought tickets for the 3-4:30 time slot on a Sunday afternoon. We arrived at 2:55 and literally got down the hill for the first time at 3:30....Yes, that's 35 minutes....for ONE time! We went down one more time (got down at 3:55) and went to talk to the manager. After a short explanation of how in 1 hour, we had made it down only twice, we were told that "we were wasting time" taking to him (manager) and could have been in line for our next turn! We told him that we understood that as a safety precaution, the people waiting to go down the hill needed to wait for the people at the bottom to clear the lanes. But the simple fact was that there were literally minutes passing when the lanes were completely clear that other people could have tubed down! We asked for refund of our money and we're told that "there are no refunds". So we each got a $25 dollar credit for night skiing that we had to use that night. OH and forgot to mention that the waiting area at the top of the hill was pure ice! There were people slipping and falling everywhere! But remember...safety first ;)

All in all - Skiing is decent, tubing sucks.

1  Thank Pollard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberGatlinburg, Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our affordable rates and night skiing. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After reading the negative reviews we started not to go but decided we would give it a shot. It was 17 degrees the morning we went so we decided to take the tram. When we got to the tram office at 7:30am there were signs up that the tubing for 11, 1 & 3 were already sold out. We didn't know what to do because you had to pay to take the tram but didn't know if we could get tickets for tubing. We ended up tubing at 9am then we went skiing afterward. I found the staff to be very nice and even the tubing staff, well the older ladies in the tubing staff, went out of there way to help us get tickets before the session started. We skied till 8pm and had to drag my 7yo off the slope. With tubing and skiing we dropped $235 for two. The food was not over priced cheeseburger and fries $6.50 16" pizza $15 they even had some Mexican food for $7-8.

Thank Paulw75b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberGatlinburg, Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for posting your review. We're glad you had a great time tubing and skiing and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is an awesome place to go with lots of fun things to do and see but make sure to take plenty of money. We had a great time but really could not enjoy everything due to the prices. The skiing, snow boarding and tubing are expensive for the period of time you are given. Snack bar inside is also pricey so just have plenty of money on hand if you want to do it all.

Thank KimandSteve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberGatlinburg, Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, and we're happy to hear you had a lot of fun. Pay us a visit the next time you're in town--we'd love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently went tubing and were disappointed in the amount of time we got to slide. The tubing area was overcrowded, even though Ober limits the amount of attendees. There were many times when the slopes were clear and we had to wait for no apparent reason. Also, near the end of our time, the staff were doing minor work to the slope that could have waited until after our session was over. Since time is limited to 1.5 hours, the staff should have done a better job of making sure the amount of tubing could be maximized.

Thank KnoxvilleTraveler865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OberGatlinburg, Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

We're apologize that your tubing session did not go as planned. We do minor work from time to time to ensure a great experience for our guests. Please visit us again the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing