We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Believe It or Not!

Ripley's Believe It or Not!
Ranked #24 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The only place in Gatlinburg where you'll find shrunken heads, a 12ft tall superhero sculpture made of scrap car parts, an authentic vampire killing kit, one-of-a-kind artwork, tons of hands-on interactives, and a wicked spinning vortex tunnel!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
nyc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was cool and we went to it because we had the Ripleys multi attraction tickets. We've been to other Ripley museums and they're all pretty much the same, funny and entertaining.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmommaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    440
    383
    131
    84
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good if you only go once.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had been to Ripleys several years ago and the whole family really enjoyed it. Well this weekend the kids wanted to go again, so I was sure they would have changed it up a little since the last time we were there. Nope. It was exactly the same as it was several years ago. As pricey as this place is you would think that they would make noticeable changes from time to time. It is a pretty good museum, but only if you go once.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place if you can get a good deal ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had planned our trip to Gatlinburg for quite a while. When Ripley's had a deal come up on Groupon for very cheap tickets we snagged a pair. We figured it would be good to have an indoor activity to do in case it was raining or too cold.

We were not disappointed. It was a fun self-guided tour through a bunch of oddities displays. Sure, a lot of it was stuff you had seen on tv before ... or at any circus/state fair freak show ... but it was a neat experience none-the-less.

However, if we had to pay full price admission, I don't think it would be such a great deal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Odd is right...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went here because my 10 year old loves these sorts of things and it was pretty interesting but really overcrowded. Lots to read and lots to see. You really do have to read every little thing to get what the picture or replica is about and that can be rather difficult with many others packed in the same place with you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not that good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My grandson had been wanting to go in here for a long time because of the big granite ball outside. I finally took him. It really wasn't that great. It had a bunch of exhibitions but wasn't very interesting. Won't go back.

Helpful?
Thank BlfdBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, Marketing at Ripley's Believe It or Not!, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your visit with your grandson. We are always striving to make our Odditorium enjoyably to all. Feel free to email me at taylor@ripleys.com and let me know more about your experience. This will help us to improve for future guests. Thank you for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing