We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but ok exhibit”

Ripley's Believe It or Not!
Ranked #46 of 119 things to do in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The only place in Gatlinburg where you'll find shrunken heads, a 12ft tall superhero sculpture made of scrap car parts, an authentic vampire killing kit, one-of-a-kind artwork, tons of hands-on interactives, and a wicked spinning vortex tunnel!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Needs updating. Don't recommend for young children. I understand most of the exhibits are original and unique, but need a more updated & interesting display. A lot of the exhibits are exactly the same from 10 years ago. An ok exhibit, but a one time deal.

Thank Hacklerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, Marketing at Ripley's Believe It or Not!, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hacklerfam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. As you said, a lot of the exhibits are original, but we are also striving every year to add a few new pieces to change things up. We added some unique art pieces this year, as well as the transformer we put in the lobby. We look forward to adding more new pieces and hope that you will give us another chance when you are in Gatlinburg again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interesting things"
in 61 reviews
"ripley's museum"
in 25 reviews
"wax hand"
in 24 reviews
"interactive things"
in 17 reviews
"interesting place"
in 24 reviews
"neat things"
in 24 reviews
"package deal"
in 23 reviews
"take your time"
in 24 reviews
"rainy day"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 47 reviews
"other attractions"
in 20 reviews
"whole family"
in 24 reviews
"little pricey"
in 19 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 27 reviews
"oddities"
in 86 reviews
"exhibits"
in 279 reviews
"facts"
in 41 reviews
Filter

1,456 - 1,460 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am a huge fan of oddities. (Just about everywhere my husband and I vacation we find a fiji merman.) Because I enjoyed the Ripley's Believe It Or Not TV show as a kiddo, I was really excited to see this museum when we visited Gatlinburg. I liked that you could get 3 Ripley's attractions for about $40 per person, and that they were open Christmas day. I enjoyed myself and this place houses many interesting little exhibits, great photo ops, and interactive attractions. However, like everything in Gatlinburg, the entire building is covered in a layer of grime. It's such a touristy little city that the traffic just leaves its mark on these places. Please, take hand sanitizer! And I am so glad that other visitors noticed the insane amount of misspellings and grammatical errors displayed for all to see throughout the museum. Kind of annoying! Other than the obvious need of updates, cleaning, and repairs (the shadow wall was not working when we visited, thick cobwebs and broken parts of the ceiling in the main foyer, several other exhibits showed wear) it was a fun time and we enjoyed ourselves. We probably won't return unless they advertise new attractions or updates.

Thank River W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was not worth the money and we had a coupon. Nothing updated, looks like they haven't done any updates in 20 years. Very dissapointed

2  Thank Tracy N Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, Marketing at Ripley's Believe It or Not!, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We apologize to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are striving every year to add new exhibits to keep things new. In 2012, we added our transformer as well as the unique portraits that are in the wax hands section. We will continue to add new exhibits and we hope that you will come back and give us another chance soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Basically this is an overpriced tourist trap. Some of the exhibits are mildly interesting. Some of them need to be updated. Don't expect too much at this one.

1  Thank uncle_stu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am usually a fan of Ripley's attractions but this one needs a thorough facelift. The placards throughout the museum have numerous misspellings, outdated references and poorly maintained displays. Many of the records that they refer to have been eclipsed a dozen years ago and never updated. Interactive displays were usually non-functioning and had aparently been out of service for a very long time. It gives the feeling of a tourist trap that doesnt care if we never come back ever again.

1  Thank FlyboyWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing