We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aquarium at it's BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Aquarium at it's BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great opportunity to see the wonders of the seas in an absolutely beautiful surrounding. Amazing exhibits, great fun for young and old. Could have spent a full day there if the younger kids would have allowed.
Be sure to buy tickets online. Ticket prices for adults is almost $31 at the door but $24.99 online. I just excused myself from the ticket counter and used the internet on my iPhone to purchase the tickets for my family.
They have a couple locations in which you can choose to have your picture taken within the Aquarium by their photographers and available for purchase. $15 for (1), $20 for (2) and a specialty package for $25.
Worth the money for the experience. Would get a season pass if we where going to in town a few more days throughout the year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank InkedCelticCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,749
    2,539
    725
    125
    48
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sure it's expensive, but what isn't in Gatlinburg? If you are in the area, you really should go. It is well laid-out and has just enough to keep you very entertained. The shark tunnel is incredible and the sting-ray feedings were neat too. We went late- from about 6 pm til close at 9. This meant less people, but we missed the outside part of the penguin exhibit. My 4-month-old and I were surprised to find lactation rooms within each of the ladies restrooms- a nice touch for moms and babies. We will definitely come again (but try to avoid the food court- way too expensive for not-good-at-all food).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kredenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good time but not a show stopper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Four of us 23, 29, 53, & 54. Good time by all but wasn't any better than other aquariums we have seen. The ticket window wants to sell you either the ticket to the aquarium or a combo pack to their 8 properties. We had seen on line that you could buy a pick two or three attractions with the aquarium ticket but the ticket seller said they did not have such a thing. We went to guest services and she said they did and sold us what we wanted.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Aquarium is great but I wish places like that would use mature teenagers/young adults instead of childish ones. It really puts a damper on customer service. We encountered some pretty snotty and immature girls working the photo area. However, the aquarium itself was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KH21010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit pricey! But Fun sharks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Let me just start off by saying that everything in Gatlinburg is a bit on the expensive side. We paid around $25.00 per person and honestly, I thought there would've been a little more to see. There were sharks, which was awesome, but that seemed like the main attraction.. Everything else was kind of blah. But, the kids love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BetsyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, marketing at Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I apologize to hear that you did not enjoy your visit in the way we would like. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our shark lagoon which is our biggest tank. I hope that you also got to spend some time watching our penguins, as they are full of personality. We hope that you will visit again to see what changes we make in the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing