We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!”

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Ranked #2 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Etowah, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I really enjoyed getting to see all the fish and the shark tank was awesome! Even though my 12 year old son was not quite as interested as I was. I think that this is a wonderful place to go through if you are in Gatlinburg.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JStokes4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,141
    2,663
    774
    130
    50
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Decent attraction for where it is located”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was severely crowded, but they had some coo. River monsters inside. Was hoping to see more jelly fish, but pretty cool viewing for the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gambleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Al
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great family outing”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited with our children and two grandchildren (ages 2 and9). All 8 of us found something of interest. It took no more than two hours to visit the entire aquarium. A top quality facility!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium - Try to avoid busy times”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It was rainy early this week when we first thought of going. We saw lines for tickets as well as a long line to get in, so we waited to go later in the week and were glad we did. There is not a lot of room to move, so your experience will not be pleasant if it is too crowded, especially with small children.

The underwater walkway is the highlight for most with the large number of sharks, otherwise this is pretty standard for large aquarium locations. The entry price was $25 pet adult, which is pretty standard tourist attraction rate. You could spend this same amount on 2 gokart rides.

Bottom line, this is a nice aquarium to visit for a bit of educational fun during a family vacation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave-in-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rip-off believe it or not.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spent $176 for my family to go here. There were 400+ people in the building which is probably a fire hazard. You could barely see any of the attractions up-close or take time to look at anything because there were so many people. people were trampling/shoving my family! It took 2 hours to go through this aquarium. Not because it was so big but because it was so packed! Save your $200 and just go to the Newport aquarium. What a huge rip-off. DON'T GO HERE!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing