We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool!”

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So cool!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing aquarium. Walking underneath one of the giant exhibits was beyond epic. We saw so many sharks, rays, and various species of fish. There was even a sawfish laying on the dome, only about three feet above our heads! It was a little expensive but it was money well spent. We'll be back again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,302
    2,722
    798
    133
    50
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Although my wife and I haven't been to many aquariums (got soured after visiting Shedd in Chicago and being disappointed), this changed our minds about aquariums (or at least this one!). The exhibits were well laid out and the shark tank was amazing, providing an overlook on top of the water, and then the walk underneath to view the fish swimming amongst you. The dinosaur exhibit was small, but one of the best we've seen; great job!! The lady at the horseshoe crab touch tank was very friendly also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cloth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great aquarium!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was definitely one of the best aquariums I've ever visited. I thought the price was pretty good and I really enjoyed my visit. They had fish I've never even heard of! The tunnel with the sharks swimming all around was pretty fantastic too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Aquarium. My 8 yr old daughter had not ever been there so we decided to take her. She had a blast. She loved all the fish. The shark petting area was awesome. It was a big area for lots of children. The penguins were so very cute! My daughter loved being able to be in the middle of the penguins. The children's area was wonderful. The staff at the aquarium were very friendly and knew their facts. While we were there they had a dinosaur exhibit. It was decent. It was very cramped. The price is average for aquariums but worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Decently priced, clean, friendly staff, and wonderful exhibits!! Great for kids and adults alike! Really enjoyed their new dinosaur exhibit as well!! Very informational and educational!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing