We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY WELL DONE!”

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Ranked #3 of 111 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“VERY WELL DONE!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

if you have been to gatlinburg before, you know there are lots of different ways to part with your money. when we took the grandkids to the aquarium, i was not expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised!!!!! you can spend 1.5 - 2 hours. we went mid-march, mid-week, right when it opened....the crowd size was comfortable. by the time we were leaving 90 minutes later, it was certainly picking up.
i'm not sure the kids realized it, but we adults were super impressed with the 'slow walk thru the shark tank' (people mover rides thru glass enclosed area).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank buttonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,465
    2,774
    815
    136
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, even for the price”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Couldn't believe it was $25/adult, but was pleasantly surprised. The underwater shark/ray/turtle exhibit was spectacular. Take in the "reef dive" presentation. Very informative and fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoshB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Fun for the whole family!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well worth the headache of the traffic and crowds in Gatlinburg. My son loves fish and could go there each and every day! We love to spend an afternoon at the aquarium!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun But Crowded”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies was a beautiful aquarium but extremely crowded. We visited during the off season and still barely had enough room to move around. Beside being packed like sardines the smell when you first walk in is nauseating. I'm not sure if it goes away farther in or if you simply get used to it. I just hope we didn't leave smelling like the place. Other than being overly crowded and foul smelling there are some really amazing creatures featured. I'm not sure if I would personally consider this the #1 aquarium but it was definately worth checking out just make sure you give yourself plenty of time to wait through the crowds if you actually want to experience it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaLand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for the kids!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although it was quite expensive, we had a great time here. They took excellent care of the fish and animals here. The aquarium was just amazing!! Lots of great things to see here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing