We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun for the whole family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 106 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Fun for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well worth the headache of the traffic and crowds in Gatlinburg. My son loves fish and could go there each and every day! We love to spend an afternoon at the aquarium!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,433
    2,441
    704
    120
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun But Crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies was a beautiful aquarium but extremely crowded. We visited during the off season and still barely had enough room to move around. Beside being packed like sardines the smell when you first walk in is nauseating. I'm not sure if it goes away farther in or if you simply get used to it. I just hope we didn't leave smelling like the place. Other than being overly crowded and foul smelling there are some really amazing creatures featured. I'm not sure if I would personally consider this the #1 aquarium but it was definately worth checking out just make sure you give yourself plenty of time to wait through the crowds if you actually want to experience it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaLand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for the kids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although it was quite expensive, we had a great time here. They took excellent care of the fish and animals here. The aquarium was just amazing!! Lots of great things to see here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Seeing all the fish in the Aquarium was lots of fun, plus the parking was nice because you can park there for the rest of the day and still only be charged a flat rate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonJasper_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to the aquarium while on a family vacation with our 7 month old daughter (my brother was there with his 16 month old daughter as well). Both girls were able to enjoy it and there was no cost for either of them. Overall, I'd say its a bit pricey ($25 per adult) but as a one-off it was worth seeing. We really enjoyed the sharks lagoon and the music playing in the background was so relaxing. Our daughter loved the penguins especially the tunnel out into the middle of their enclosure. She got a big kick out of the pods in the kids area the let you go up into the middle of the fish tanks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebrowns3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing