We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Ranked #2 of 109 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was probably the highlight of my trip. Only downfall was the screaming children who were visiting from schools. I enjoyed everything about the aquarium. It was amazing to see divers in the shark lagoon. As an adult, I still love to visit a good aquarium and this is probably the best I have been to!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,866
    2,584
    746
    128
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best aquarium”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We drove out of our way on way back from Florida to Michigan to visit this aquarium. I went several years and it is still by far one of the best aquariums I've been to. Love the shark tanks, rays, fish-you can even hold a horseshoe crab :) had a great time!!

Helpful?
1 Thank im_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great time and worth the price. Lots of exotic fish! The shark tunnel is informative and amazing. I would recommend to anyone with interest in this kind of thing. I would go again myself!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gator C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best aquarium I've been to!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I took 8 children to the aquarium all under the age of seven and all of them seemed to thoroughly enjoy it. The 3 adults who were with me and I all enjoyed it as well. The tunnel through their aquarium is a great way to get a close up of many fish. The experience of having sharks coming right at you is thrilling especially with several inches of plexiglass separating us. There were several shows to view and little things for the toddlers to enjoy. This is the first Ripleys attraction that's actually worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Kfrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went here because my son is crazy about fish! We seen sharks, octopus, sting rays and penguins ! The children were overwhelmed! The smell kinda made me a bit nauseas . But all and all it was very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshTren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing