We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good aquarium”

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Ranger, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good aquarium”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lots of fish and sharks to see and I loved the "Penguin Playhouse". You walk through a tunnel with water above and on both sides of you...very cool!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,311
    2,725
    798
    133
    50
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crazy Shark Tank!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just wanted to sit and stare at the aquarium and listen to the soothing music, it was a nice break from the craziness that is Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. We had our tickets included with our room booking, otherwise we probably would not have gone here on our own, but we really enjoyed it. Their aquarium is huge and there is a moving walkway through the acrylic tunnels which makes the tour well-paced. The sharks were incredible and to see them swim right over you was freaky! They had alot of neat interactive stations for kids and everything was really well presented.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rubymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great kid-friendly aquarium!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Aquarium had great exhibits, and the automated pathway taking you through the middle of the shark tanks was great for my children. We had a blast! The only knock I had was the food court. It wasn't kid friendly for strollers, and the food was pretty disgusting (I'm not sure there was any meat in my cheeseburger).

Helpful?
Thank GeraldNissley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Love the sharks and Penguins. Worth the money. Nice big parking garage right behind. Easy walk to everything,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great time! Bring your kids!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to several aquariums, so we have seen it all. Ripley's is well-planned and designed for enjoyment of all ages. We left feeling like we had a worthwhile experience, while paying a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank LilyMcG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing