We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lots of fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 107 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Love the sharks and Penguins. Worth the money. Nice big parking garage right behind. Easy walk to everything,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,134
    2,347
    679
    118
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great time! Bring your kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to several aquariums, so we have seen it all. Ripley's is well-planned and designed for enjoyment of all ages. We left feeling like we had a worthwhile experience, while paying a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank LilyMcG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful... simply beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well designed, educational for family's, couples, older folks and children....... this is the place to visit when you go to Gatlinburg. It is reasonably priced and you will love just standing on the moving walkways and just being able to look at all the wonderful rays and colorful sealife. We have enjoyed visiting the Aquarium each time we visit the Smokey's..... it is a tridition we love.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank natakatt4u2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anmoore WV
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies was very nice. Lots of things to see, set up well, great for kids. The tunnel was awesome too!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank tjeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a great time! Very easy to see why this is rated the #1 aquarium in the US according to their sign & print materials. My wife and I went to Shedd Aquarium in Chicago a year ago and enjoyed Ripley's much more. Very neat to see the tunnels they have for kids to explore the exhibits, too.

Definitely would recommend to all who are in/visit the Gatlinburg area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gcgill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing