We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 106 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful time for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time seeing the sharks, penguins and sting rays. I only wish they had more aquariums. We didn't get to see any shows.

Helpful?
Thank ashes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,430
    2,441
    704
    120
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fish lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

we enjoy going to the aquarium, kids love it. its a great way to spend part of the day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seesall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go on an off day for a better visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

If it weren't for the fact that we only paid $4.99 per person due to a military discount, I would have been very disappointed with this aquarium. It is rated as the #1 aquarium in the U.S., but I didn't find it to be any better than other aquariums we have been to. There are small viewing areas for many of the exhibits and on a crowded day, it makes for long wait times with little else to look at. Parking at the aquarium was very reasonably priced and the aquarium itself only takes a couple hours to complete unless you watch all the shows. If we ever go back, it will be during the off season because the heavy summer crowd made this a rather unpleasant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hydegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Aquarium I've Visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was the best aquarium I've visited, hands down. I was very skeptical at first, but it is very well organized. The exhibits are great. No complaints at all!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Cove, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Aquarium!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very nice attraction. Great for couples or a family with kids. So much to see and do. Loved the tunnel with the aquarium all around you!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Little P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing