We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time and The Best Visit Yet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarland Cellars Winery

Sugarland Cellars Winery
Ranked #6 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“2nd Time and The Best Visit Yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Came all the way from Cincinnati to grab a couple bottles of "Martha Jane Rose", came in out of a pouring rain and were treated to a fun wine tasting by wonderful Miss Peggy and a surprising tour by Doug. Doug took the time to "show us the ropes-behind the scenes" helped us to understand the real work and commitment (and fun) creating these delicious wines, we felt like part of the family!! What a great place and a really wonderful shop, not to mention all the folks who make it all happen. A true surprise and a great memory for us to share with friends and family. Make sure to stop at Sugarland Cellars whenever you're in Gatlinburg!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FranknMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    149
    57
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited here for their wine tasting on Friday night, great wine, fun people. I'm so glad we stopped in. Met a guy from Texas that worked there, he was a delight to talk to. A must go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbieInTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The tour was excellent, was given by an ex school teacher, cant remember her name. but it was lovely! she was full of nice facts for beginners, and great facts about the owners and the winery. i'm a bit of a wine snob, as i know what i like. This place had great sweet and semi sweet wines. i dont care to drink real dry wines these days. The semi-sweet wines were just my speed. If you love wine, make sure to do their wine trail. free tastings and like the other reviewers, yes you do get a free wine glass and t-shirt.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vpolizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My 4th stop for the Rocky Top wine trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you love wine, you have to do the wine trail! It was a cold rainy day when I stopped in. I loved the atmosphere, outside you are nestled beside the mountains and inside it was cozy and inviting.

Did the tasting and tried their sweet wines. Wiley Oakley, Mountain Laurel and Cherry Kee, all very good, but the Cherry Kee was even greater when paired with chocolate!

These guys were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaraLynn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very friendly staff and some pretty nice wines to taste. I was not familiar with muscadine wines and really enjoyed their Rose blend of white and red muscadine. (bought a couple bottles of that). We decided to try the Rocky Top Wine trail where you get a free glass when you visit 3 wineries and a free tee shirt if you visit all five. We picked up our t-shirt at Eagle Springs Winery on our way home. My other favorite was Hillside Winery, they give a tour of the production areas and we even got a glass of their Hillside Spumante served by their head chemist. Very friendly and we learned a lot of the how and why of making the bubbly wines (which they specialize in)
If you enjoy wine I would recommend you try the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarland Cellars Winery also viewed

 

Been to Sugarland Cellars Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing