We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
atlanta
1 review
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Me and my famiy was at the resort for the xmas week. We did have to attend a time share presentation. It was not a bad, we explain we was not interested. We attended the water park for the entire trip. The weather was great, and the staff was also great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    684
    432
    259
    363
See reviews for
1,575
788
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed here during the Christmas holidays, we got stuck in NC because of the snowstorm and after calling Concierge services at the hotel they were able to guide us thru the best route to get there. Check in was a breeze, we were one day late but they had our reservations ready to go. The grounds and the rooms are beautifull. The service is great, everybody is friendly. The only complaint was that the walls are very thin, you could hear the footsteps of people above and when they moved their chairs. I had already read reviews here and took my earplugs and used them at night and they helped alot. Ate at their restaurant for breakfast and dinner, good food and good service. The waterpark was great since it was very cold outside. Ordered a pizza from their snack bar for dinner once.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yulivenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

Beautiful resort with great amenities. Staff are very helpful.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmilyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

We really enjoyed the resort and our one bedrom cabin was better than we had expected. Everyone was friendly and professinal. It is also pet friendly and there were lot of guests, including us enjoying this perk. October is a very busy time in Gatlinburg, but the scenery is beautiful. We will go there again

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank craywms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

We own several Marriott timeshare weeks/locations and therefore are used to staying in very nice accomodations. When we exchanged our gold star resort week for this interval gold star resort we expected something quite nice. Then we looked at the reviews on this site and began to have some second thoughts. Unlike many of the previous reviewers' experiences we found our stay to be very pleasant. Our one bedroom unit was clean, quiet and cozy ... nestled up to the side of the mountains with a small stream bubbling merrily along just below our outside deck. The mountains were at peak color and absolutely magnificent. The grounds were well kept and, though we did not avail ourselves of them, the on-grounds amenities and activities were nice. The Smoky Mountains National Park is just minutes away as is Gatlinburg. Parking in Gatlinburg proper is expensive and a better alternative for visiting downtown is the Gatlinburg trolley. It runs about every 30 minutes and for a $1 each way you can be delivered right to the center of town and, it has a stop right at the entrance to the resort. Further, if you want to explore beyond downtown you can buy a $2 per person pass at the concierge desk that allows unlimited trips and transfers on the trolley for the day. Heading in the other direction out of the resort it is only about 5 minutes drive to Pidgeon Forge and all of the restaurants, shopping and attractions located there.

We arrived late so check in was a breeze though we noted that at normal check-in times the next day the desk was crowded. But with over 700 units and everyone generally arriving in a narrow timeframe one should expect to wait a bit at check-in. We understand that everyone wants to get into their room ASAP upon arrival but, if crowded when you arrive, we would recommend parking, walking around the grounds or getting something to eat and checking-in after the rush.

We experienced no pressure to attend any timeshare sales presentation. But, as a matter of curiosity, we stopped into the sales center to see what they had going. We asked a few questions, spent about 15 minutes with a very low pressure sales associate who told us that the founder of Westgate Resorts had recently installed new management to address all of the negative feedback that had been forthcoming. So maybe, just maybe this resort has found its way. At least for us,we had a very positive experience.

Only negatives are that internet service must be paid for and is not inexpensive. We think that a gold star resort should provide this amenity at no cost. Also, and this is not the fault of the resort, cell phones (at least ours) do not get reception in the room and only marginal, though adequate, reception outside. But, as to the internet service, you can pay to use it on-site or, as a suggestion, just head to the Gatlinburg library, as we did, to get the service at no cost. And, the library is very nice in its own right.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

Our rooms were clean and well furnished. When the guide found out we were renters instead of owners the high pressure sales pitch kicked in. We finally got rid of her and enjoyed our day. The next morning at 8am, our doorbell rang and before we could get to the door, two security guards had let themselves into our room! They said the previous guest had left some prescription sunglasses in the room and they were looking for them. I think a phone call would have been sufficient. When I complained, I asked to be notified when they had investigated the incident and never heard back. All that, plus we had to pay for internet service??? We enjoyed our trip to the Smokeys, and the rooms were as advertised, but with the high pressure tactics and questionable ethics of the security staff, our return to Westgate is uncertain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knidiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

the place is nestled in the Smoky Mountians National Forest, just outside of the Park entrance...you have Gatlinburg to shop, eat, and the park to venture and hike, you also have Pigeon Forge to also shop, eat and see shows at. There's so much to see and do there, you need almost 2 months to see most of it, and about 6 months to see the whole National Forest there in that area...
The resort is beautiful, most friendly, and helpful people work there, would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountianrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing