We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2014 Gatlinburg Road trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Laredo, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2014 Gatlinburg Road trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent a week at the resort. Excellent staff members, excellent service, beautiful location. We shared a 4 bedroom complex that comfortably accommodated 16 people. The cabin is spacious, clean and has a beautiful view. We absolutely fell in love with the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We’re thrilled to know your enjoyed everything from our helpful staff to our convenient location. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    684
    432
    259
    363
See reviews for
1,575
788
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was great I had a blast. The resort itself was amazing, it's accommodations was fantastic, I would recommend it to all my family and friends. I will definitely stay here again. I did not want to leave.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pcdonaldson d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It’s fantastic to hear you had a “blast”. We work hard to make our guests feel right at home by provide them with everything they may need. We feel honored that you would recommend us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been owners at the Smokey Mountain Resort for several years and have always enjoyed staying at this property. Our cabins are always clean and well maintained. We are provided with all utensils, dishes, etc. if you want to prepare any food during your stay. This time during our stay, check in was finally a breeze. We have stayed in a couple of the Orlando resorts as well as Las Vegas and it was very nice as well. The only areas of need or dislike are: when we purchased ten years ago, we were told that Westgate would be adding several more outdoor pools. There are still only two pools and there has been the addition of the waterpark. While the waterpark is nice, it is aimed at children and really not enjoyable for adults. The two pools are not enough for a resort this size. The second issue is every time owners check in, they are asked for an owner up date meeting. We have learned over the past few years to say "no" as this is a waste of our time. When on vacation, I do not want to plan a meeting to review what is happening on property and to be encouraged to increase our investment. This really needs to stop. I've complained about this before but it seems to fall on deaf ears. This also occurs at the other Westgate properties. The last thing is the Smokehouse grill. While the food was OK it is grossly understaffed. We had a party of 8 and waited for a table for 30 minutes. The restaurant was over 1/2 empty on a Friday night with only two cooks. It took two hours for our food. The party ahead of us, that had 12, left after about an hour. We ordered drinks from the Mason Jar and this took almost 15 minutes. There were a couple empty tables that were dirty and they still were not cleaned after our 30 minute wait. I'm not sure what the issue is with the management of those two establishments but it is really a shame because everything else is very nice but this is run very poorly. I believe Westgate needs to improve in some areas to be considered a four or five star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We also want to say thank you for being a loyal Westgate Owner for the past 10 years! We definitely appreciate you being a part of the Westgate family. We’re pleased to hear you have an enjoyable time regardless of which resort you visit. As an appreciated Owner, we value your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience experienced at the resort due to our sales team. These representatives are there to ensure your satisfaction and to assure you of the investment you made. Participating in the updates is purely voluntary, but we do offer incentives in return for your time. As an owner you are given valuable information concerning our newest features and updates to the units and property that way you are aware of the options we have and can choose the one that may best suit your vacation needs. We appreciate your comments on the Smokehouse Grill and Mason Jar Lounge. We will be passing this information along to our resort management team. We hope you will not be disappointed on your next stay.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place makes me appreciate hotels even more. Location is beautiful but that's where it ends for me. They nickel and dime you to death. The arcade is a rip-off, the restaurant is over-priced, the convenient store is outrageous ($5 for a small box of Poptarts). One of the worst was the noise in the rooms. We had to go upstairs and ask the family staying above us to please settle down as it sounded like there were giants walking and wrestling each other and sleep was impossible. The absolute worst was the timeshare push and sales pitch. They take you into a large, noisy room and make their pitch. It's excruciating. Worse than buying a car. They will not take "no" for an answer and when I said, "it all sounds enticing but we just bought a house and this does not fit in our budget and it's not something we wish to invest in -ever." All they heard was "it sounds enticing". They used every sales tactic known to man like getting up and leaving - letting us think it over, to telling us a unit was $40,000 then coming back with a trade-in for $15,000 and "crunching" numbers to get our payment to $200 a month. Okay, there is 15% interest by the way. They even did a pencil push where they wrote down why it would benefit you to invest in their timeshare saying, "okay, you're probably going to take about 30 more vacations..." Lol. Seriously. Life is life and nothing us guaranteed. When we tried to politely decline over and over they pushed harder. My husband finally got up and said, "thank you, but we have somewhere we need to be". They said he could go but I should stay. He then said, "I don't think so, my family is coming with me." Two hours -wasted. Never again.

Room Tip: Higher up - better parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Constantine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad that you found our resort to be conveniently located close to the area attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a timeshare resort and offer all of our owners and guests the opportunity to participate in one of our timeshare presentations. In return for participating we do offer incentives such as breakfast and discounts. Participation is purely voluntary and our sales team is there to assist you in any way they can in the process of buying a timeshare. Please accept our apology if a member of our staff was less than courteous; this is not our standard. We appreciate your comments, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had our Family Reunion here and it was awesome!!!!!!!! We had 103 family members to attend. The staff at the front desk was very polite and the check in process was great. The rooms were worth every penny. The kids loved the pool and the arcade. Overall it was a great reunion,my family really enjoyed it. Thank you to Mrs Susie in group sales for all your help and also Mrs Eleanor in housekeeping for all your help.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your family reunion experience! It’s great to hear you found our resort to be awesome and a great value. We do offer a lot of different amenities and activities for everyone in the family. We love hearing that you and your family were able to enjoy them. Our goal is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations. We are beyond thrilled to know our staff went above and beyond to make your stay even more enjoyable. We’re honored you chose us and hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Where should i start? We come to Westgate Resorts almost 2 times every year,I come with my parents. We have been members here for years, and we love it. I will be heading up there again on July 27th 2014 for my Honeymoon, i would not want to stay anywhere else but here! I Love that it is located in the Mountains, i also love the water park and the outside pool that is located near the entrance of Westgate, they also have a Spa which is very nice and lovely, and the breakfast in the morning is very good, the last thing they do have a bar and a Restaurant which is very nice. The rooms are very nice,clean, and beautiful. The rooms have a kitchen which comes in handy for cooking dinner some nights and or breakfast in the morning's. It has a nice comfortable chair and couch in the living room along with a beautiful fire place the relax in front of. There is also a master bed room with a jacuzie in the room. I love this place, it is one of the nicest places i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyb93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the amenities such as the waterpark, the outdoor pool, and the spa.

It fills us with joy to know that you have chosen the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort as the place to spend your honeymoon.

We are honored to be a part of what we are certain will be a wonderful experience and memorable time in your life.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Katrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Fork, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stay at resort twice a year. Very clean rooms. We have to stay in the "high rise" and it is very noisy at times from people in the rooms above us. Nice on sight restaurant and bar. Great indoor waterpark. We like it most because it is situated between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg thus the traffic is not too bad getting in and out.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahokiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you continue to visit us twice a year! We’re glad you find us to be clean and with a lot of different amenities and activities for everyone to enjoy; especially the water park! We are located close to all the area attractions and we do offer a free trolley to different locations in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. We’re honored you continue to choose us and can’t wait to see you!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing