We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The resort is nice. However we were on the very top of the mountain and it was quite a drive to the pools, etc. The room was very clean but if you are not an owner they will aggravate you to buy one. The water park wasn't what we expected but it was pretty nice. It was in a good location being in between gatlinburg and pigeon forge.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHarper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found our resort to be nice, clean, and conveniently located close to the area attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We do offer a shuttle service that takes our guests’ to different areas at the resort. We do realize it is quite a walk if you’re on top of the mountain all the way down to the waterpark. The Front Desk staff will have more detailed information for you when you check in. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Gatlinburg.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    684
    436
    259
    363
See reviews for
1,585
791
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our recent stay was not as we hoped, and I will be the first to admit that we are far from picky people! We were aware that we were getting a small unit, but the studio was quite small. In addition, there were multiple wet spots on the carpet upon check-in. I placed hand towels down to soak it up, the towels were then brown therefore the wet spots were quite dirty. For the rest of our stay I didnt feel comfortable letting my 10 month old even on the carpet. The staff were very nice and accommodating, shuttle service was nice. Restaurant had good food. However, the pool was small for the size of the resort and always very crowded, we never felt comfortable taking our small children. We chose the resort because we wanted something a bit outside of town to avoid the crowds, we found the resort quite busy but still enjoyed the location. I have been to many more low-scale hotels/resorts that offered free wi-fi, we were very disappointed that you were going to charge $10 a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heatherr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry to hear you were not happy during your stay with us. You can always speak with our Front Desk staff if you are not happy with your unit and you can always request additional cleanings from our Housekeeping team. We are a large resort and during peak seasons we can be a little busy. We do apologize if you were inconvenienced by the number of people at the resort. We are proud to offer Wi-Fi on property. This service is free to all of our owners, but is still accessible to all other guests for a fee which can be settled at the front desk. We appreciate you sharing your comments and we will pass this information along to our resort management team. We hope to see you again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked this resort after being owners at the one in Florida knowing that the one in Florida was fantastic. The first disappointment was arriving and seeing so much construction, mud everywhere, it was hard to drive through because of all the construction equipment and workers. Two days into our vacation and the phone, tv and Internet went out in our building. The construction crew had cut the lines. Therefore we were without all of this for over 24 hours. We finally got service back around five last night only to be awakened this morning at 630am to every alarm in the building going off. It was terrible. We then had to evacuate into the parking lot while security went in to every room and checked everything. By the way after going in to every room, he then left the doors open for anyone to enter. Yesterday we requested clean towels at 130 pm. I called them again around 7 asking where our clean towels were. She stated he must be on his way with them. We finally got clean towels around 830pm last night. What a disappointment this has been!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in the newer buildings because of all the noise and traffic and mud from constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do apologize if the construction disturbed you. We are working our fastest and hardest to complete our new buildings. We are in the process of upgrading the resort and sometimes it may cause noise or issues may arise because of this. We really appreciate you bringing everything to our attention and we will address this with our resort manager. We hope this will not keep you from seeing how we’ve improved.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from our 3 rd stay June 26 th - 29 th ... In 2011 we became owners . love this place looking forward to future visits n visiting other westgates..... Trick is to pay off fast n don't buy more then you need...have not got the chance to try all the amenities yet as far as checking out the prices ..Owners need major discounts since you let non owners stay at our resort ..something that I need to check on further the watermark is the biggest amenity n to me it should be free to Owners ...but we loved our stay it's absolutly beautiful ....n well kept up n growing adding future amenties ... Overall fantastic time ...needs more golf arts to help owners only to get around the resort if needed ..we got told it's only for checking in and tours ...luckily some very nice staff gave us a couple rides when we needed it ..going up those hills on foot wears your out ..after leaving waterpark or swimming in the outdoor pools ... Other then that it's great..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. First off, we want to thank you for being valued Owners with Westgate Resorts. We love hearing that our owners really enjoy visiting our resort and want to experience the others as well. As an Owner, you do receive free tickets to the indoor waterpark. We do apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding this. We also offer a shuttle that comes around the resort to pick up/drop off our owners and guests. We understand it’s a large resort and it can be tiring walking to/from your unit. You can check with the Front Desk for more info on the free shuttle service we offer. We’re glad you find our resort to be beautiful and that you enjoyed the activities and amenities we offer. We’re honored you chose us and can’t wait to see you again!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful place- you won't be disappointed. Rooms are spacious and the views are spectacular. We had a great experience and we would definitely return. Just a heads up on the water park- it's most enjoyable for kids age 10 and below. There are a couple of water slides but no thrilling slides that older kids and teenagers would enjoy. I enjoyed sipping my coffee on the balcony and staring at the beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa. We love hearing that you think our resort is wonderful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having a nice spacious unit with a spectacular view makes your vacation even more relaxing and enjoyable. We’re honored that you’ll be returning. We’ll see you soon!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our stay was "ok." Room on the "first" floor was very lower level - below street level. No sunshine at all. Door was very hard to close/lock and we returned one day to find that housekeeping had not closed our door all the way so it was open the entire day. Last day we noticed lots and lots of ants in the living room - and no one had spilled anything. Housekeeping came and their rationale was, "...well, you're in the mountains." My husband said, "Well, if we wanted ants we would have gone camping in the woods"! Did the timesharing presentation and it was VERY HIGH Pressure! It was supposed to be 90 minutes long and after two hours we were still waiting to be "signed out" by a manager. Our "hostess" was Kristina and she was fine during the presentation, but once she found out we were not going to buy, she just got up and walked off - no "thank you" no shaking our hands, no nothing. My husband said she looked like she was going to cry. Would not stay here again and would definitely not recommend the timeshare presentation to anyone.

Room Tip: "First" floor is below street level - you will feel as if you are in a cave! Also, when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acorntm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. Safety and cleanliness are our number one priorities and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will be sharing this with our Housekeeping management team. We do also have pest control available on property. Our Front Desk would always be more than happy to assist you with another unit if there is an issue with bugs. We train our staff to provide top notch customer service and we deeply apologize if a member of our staff was less than courteous. That is definitely not the standard we hold for our staff. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again to see how we’ve improved.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my wife just returned from westgate in gatlinburg it was great we stayed June 26-29 2014 every person on staff were great and the tour of the property was so great me and my wife became new Owners to a two bedroom villa I recommend this resort to anybody I have stayed at a lot of them around the USA this one is the best A++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonynea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Congratulations on becoming new owners; we welcome you to the Westgate family! It’s awesome to hear that you had a great time while visiting us. We love hearing that our staff provided top notch customer service. We’re honored you chose us and we’ll see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing