We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,093)
Filter reviews
3,093 results
Traveler rating
1,278
695
445
272
403
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
695
445
272
403
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkindoor waterparkmason jarshuttle servicetimeshare ownersbedroom deluxepigeon forgefull kitchensmoky mountainwasher dryerlazy riverspring breakfamily vacationtrolley stopconciergecabinaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
1,878 - 1,883 of 3,093 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first time at The Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort so everything was a surprise for us. When we checked in it was not hard to miss that we were just a guest and not an owner, so that feeling gave me a little apprehension about what our experience would be. However, next we were shown our Cabin by following a Golf Cart up the mountain until we arrived at our unit. The Cabin was really nice outside and in, with the unit including a nice size great room and kitchen, a large bed room with a king size bed and two full bath areas. The couch in the great room I believe was a hide-a-bed so this unit would easily accommodate two couples. I am sure there are many various cabin configurations to fit anyone's needs. The Resort offers free shuttle rides that run every twenty minutes or so and you can link up with the Gatlinburg Trolly right from the Westgate property and get pretty much anywhere you would want to go. The Trolly is 50 cents per person per boarding or you can get an all-day pass for $2. This facility is really nice with fantastic staff easily contacted for any and all needs. They have an on-sight convenience grocery with reasonable prices, an on-sight restaurant and daily activities for the family. There are outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs available and a Water Park for about $19 per person per day (free for owners). We attended a very reasonably priced singing performance in the sales office that was absolutely wonderful. There is a Family of Singers that have worked with Westgate for quite a number years and they are indeed excellent. This is a fun Resort and it couldn't be in a better location for access to the National Park or for any of the Restaurants, Shops and Amusement options in the three area cities. This property is quite large already, but likely to double over the next several years. Great place for Family or Friends.

Room Tip: Best Tip I can offer is be prepared for an outdated WiFi policy that is totally omitted from online or brochure data when planning your stay. The WiFi for Guests is at an extra charge and is only available for up to Two Devices. Today's Families have far more devices than two and it is currently set up such that you have to fully log out of the first device to log in with the second. The System for logging out was not working well for Apple devices, but the Resort Staff offered a work around that was satisfactory.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you had a great time. All of our staff is there to make you feel comfortable and we strive for our staff to be very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our resort amenities. We truly look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay. Great location between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The facilities were very good. They do need to fix their TV reception and have more spa times available. Everything else was great. We would stay here again and will recommend to others too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Thank Jim9303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort amenities and services. We are also thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I took her 3 yr old and 11 mo. old to this resort for a week. It was perfect! The 3 yr and playing in the snow. Our 1 bedroom deluxe was gorgeous, spacious, clean, well decorated. Every staff member we came in contact with (and there were quite a few) was gracious, friendly and helpful. We will definitely use this resort again.

Room Tip: Check out the map of the resort to decided the best location for you. Some are on top of a mountain. Shuttle service good though.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

We appreciate your responses concerning your stay with Westgate Smoky Mountains. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort. It is a real pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing a quality vacation experience that exceeded your expectations. Our team members take great pride in providing great service to all our guests. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This property was the perfect choice for location as it was almost exactly in the center of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. A 3 min ride to Gatlinburg and 7 min ride to Pigeon Forge. The rooms were fantastic and the views were even better. We used the fireplace every day and the kitchen was extremely useful with a 1 year old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaplesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are so thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our great location to be able to enjoy everything you wanted while in the area. We are glad to know that you enjoyed breathtaking views from your room, the fire place and the additional room amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We own a time share at this resort and have always enjoyed our stays there. A couple of years ago we were placed in a very poorly maintained basement unit that had no view, no natural light and very inconvenient parking. At the time I wrote a negative review.

This time we ended up in a much nicer unit, thanks to a manager who wanted to make up for our previous stay. We were on the top floor of the building so noise from above was not an issue. However, be aware that the older units are not at all soundproof. You can hear furniture moving on the tile floors both above you and next to you. If someone stays in the other half of a split unit you can hear them talking and hear their tv. I'm told that the newer units have carpeted floors so noise is much less in these.

Neither of the DVD players in our unit were operational. Maintenance quickly replaced them though. I liked the way the unit was decorated and found both lounging furniture and bed to be very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and laundry facilities were conveniently placed and in good working order.

The Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge Trolleys stop at the front of the resort and the resort has a shuttle that will take you to the shuttle stop (as well as anywhere else on the property), if you aren't within easy walking distance.

The water park is well maintained as are the outdoor pools. The area is very beautiful and this resort is very conveniently located. It's not in town, although it's close to both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. The resort itself is kind of like a small city, very crowded with buildings. It has several restaurants, a small grocery store, a spa, a fitness center and more.

As always housekeeping, maintenance and front desk staff were top notch. One thing that I found rather entertaining: Our room looked out on the parking lot behind the sales center, (not a very inspiring view, but since we were on the top floor, you could see the mountains over top of the sales center),and all day long, every day, employees were gathered at the edge of the parking lot by a road. Many of them appeared to be smoking which made me wonder if employees are not permitted to smoke on site. If this is the case, I suggest that a smoking room be made available to employees.

One minor complaint. Parking is at a premium and the building we were in had several spots taken up by a dumpster and several more taken by construction vehicles. I've noticed this here before. Management seems to be oblivious to the fact that convenient parking should be reserved for guests.

Overall,this was a great stay. The National Park was closed for part of our time there, but we found plenty of other entertainment, including the afore-mentioned onsite water park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for being a Westgate Owner. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy to hear you had an awesome experience at the resort! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It’s great to hear you found value in your in room amenities. We would be honored if you would come back and see us soon!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews