We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, but need to replace some beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visit this place the first week of 2014 with my wife. Everything was great from the beginning. The place, the view, the food, the area very nice. We didn't know, how much attractions they had in the area. Just couple things that disturb or staying: one, the bed on our studio. The mattress need to be replaced soon, and change the location in the room. (I never seen a hotel nor resort have it beds against to the wall). The other thing was, it doesn't matter if you are owner or not, they still trying to sale you a timeshare on their place (We own at Orlando). So we spend half day listen their sales person trying to do their job.
We are coming back with the kids for spring break and we hope to have a better experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much for being a Westgate Owner. We appreciate having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we use it to measure areas we need to work on and areas we are excelling in. I will forward your thoughts and suggestions on to the appropriate staff which can implement service improvements. We appreciate your comments and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived in early afternoon during the rain. Everyone was was very friendly and helpful, check in was quick . We were taken to our home away from home for the week by Rob. HE IS EXCELLENT AT HIS JOB... WE had a great time at the resort, kids loved the waterpark. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, quick to help solve any problems that arose.. We will be going back again. Karen C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your Christmas vacation. We are very happy to know that Robert was able to accommodate you and your family while you were on property. As you discovered, the resort offers many amenities such as our Wild bear Falls Water Park for the kids and family. We hope to provide you with another excellent vacation!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Other than location and shuttle service there are no redeeming features. The staff was extremely rude. I was a full paying guest and not a time share potential owner. Not worth the money. Golf cart traffic was extensive and left it unsafe to walk and so busy you could not enjoy a peaceful mountain view. Parking in NOT easily available. Be prepared to walk or be shuttled. On site food was OK! Property is geared to timeshare sales so perhaps they receive all the good service. Unfortunate to stay in the hotel room rather than cabin. Seriously needing updates and a great cleaning. Pull out bed did NOT pull out and after a long drive bedtime was delayed by a two hour repair by maintenance to put bed in working order. No Apologies or comp given.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knsmckinney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We are honored you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your compliments on our location and shuttle service. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort which is nearby Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We understand you had some concerns during your stay. Your feedback will certainly be relayed to the appropriate department. We hope to see you in the near future!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived in the early evening and it was raining. I am disabled and was greeted warmly and checked in easily and my disability was accommodated well throughout our stay. When we wanted to come to the lodge or waterpark, I called guest services and a golf cart picked us up and transported us. We had hoped to eat more at the resort. Unfortunately the food was not good and too expensive. I enjoyed a massage at the spa and it was great! We were able to go to Pigeon Forge easily and enjoyed the Dixie Stampede. I had purchased tickets for Dollywood and they closed the park the day we had scheduled. I did receive a full refund. I would have chosen a larger room had the internet pictures been true to size. Overall the kids had a great time and we would visit the resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It’s wonderful to know that our staff from guest services accommodated you throughout your entire stay. We love that you were able to explore Pigeon Forge and the Dixie Stampede. As well as experience our Serenity Spa and Wild Bears Fall Water Park. It’s our hope that you will visit us again during Christmas vacation once more.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My family checked in on Jan 3rd 2014. The check in process was ok the cabin was really nice. The weekend that we checked in was the week of the "polar vortex", some of the gaps under the doors and around the windows made for a really cold couple of days. Another issue was the wireless service, it was an additional cost to access it, I think it was $40 for the week. However whichever device that you signed up for the service on was the only device that you could get the service on. If you signed up for the service with your laptop,and turned it off and another
wanted to use their tablet to use the wireless connection you could only do that if you signed up
again with that tablet and started an account with it. The connection was not for one device at a time but only for the initial device, unless you agreed to pay for that device too. Are you serious? I can maybe even see them not wanting everyone in the cabin using their devices all
at once but an entirely different charge? If they listen to customer feed back they really need to take a serious look at this. But other than having to stuff newspaper to seal up some of the wind drafts and the wireless deal I really can't complain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevsPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review. We are honored you chose to stay with us! We are delighted to know that you loved your stay at Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort and were able to relax in the cabins. It’s our hope that you were able to experience all that our resort has to offer. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our Wi-Fi as we are always looking for ways to improve our amenities. We hope you will come back to see us soon!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at Westgate around 5:30 pm on Tuesday, December 31, 2013. With the exception of no sign as to where to park under the covered check in area and the fact that Westgate's reservation department booked our trip for 2014-2015 instead of 2013-2014, things were great. Kriska and Ginger that work at the front desk saw the error and, quickly as they could, found us a cabin to stay in that was the exact one I had booked through reservations. Not only did they find us a cabin, they also gave a a gift certificate use T the Smokehouse grill. All of our experiences with the employees at Westgate were great. They were all courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful. We were treated like family. Some things could improve like more insulation the walls for sound proofing and possibly have families designated I one area of the resort and couples in another but that can be a work in progress. We enjoyed the cabin delivery for dinner and the shuttles that ran to Gatlinburg so you did not have to pay for parking. The indoor waterpark and the heated outside pool were great as well. Thanks, Westgate,for a very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We loved our room that was close to the Registration Building because we walk to it to get Starbucks...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. This always helps us to improve the customer service experience. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort amenities and services. We would be honored if you would come back and see us soon!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from a trip that we took with three nights in Nashville and three nights in Gatlinburg. The first leg of the trip was excellent, then we arrived at the resort. We pulled in and stood in the front of the line for an hour. They had four people working at the desk and no longer we waited so long...The check in process is the longest I have ever seen! Once we were told where we were going to be staying, we had to wait another thirty minutes for a "Bell Hop" to show us to our room. The ride up the mountain was beautiful. We were in the 4000 building, which looks new and all the way at the top. We were both so excited to be able to see the mountain views. Then we actually get into our room.

The room was on the ground level, and had a fireplace, two tvs, a large bathroom, and kitchen. The room itself looked very nice until I noticed that we had one window...about 1 ft by 3 ft in size and looked out on the buildings a/c units. So looking around and it looks like every other room in the place has a balconcy and a large window. So I called down to the front desk and spoke with the front desk manager...The rudest "manager" I had ever talked to telling me that there are no rooms...No rooms at 5pm on a Sunday? yea right...She told me to call back the next morning at 10.

So at 10am I drove down to the lobby and asked for her and was told she was in a meeting and there were already three couples wainting to speek with her. So I went back to my room, about 30 minutes later she calls and says that they had a room that was not as nice that we could look at. I agreed to just look so after being told it would be 15 minutes for a bell hop to pick us up, we waited. 45 minutes later I call down and ask when they were coming and the bell hop desk had no idea what I was talking about and put me on hold for 15 more minutes. Finally they said they would be up in 10 minutes to take us...30 minutes later they arrive and take us to a old musty room. I would rather have a clean view with no room that a gross musty room with a window.

In closing:
customer service is horrible
hot water in the shower only lasts about 5 minutes (even after we called and they "fixed")
you can hear everything that your neighbors say...not even muffled...it sounds like you are having conversations with them.
I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER WESTGATE RESORT AND WILL ADVISE ALL INTERESTED IN THE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE PRACTICES AND POOR QUALITY OF THE RESORT ITSELF...

Room Tip: Run as fast as you can!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dstraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you found our resort to be “beautiful”. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will work diligently with our resort staff and our booking partners to ensure a smoother check in process. Also, all of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. We sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We hope that the experience that you had with these particular team members will not keep you from staying with us again.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing