We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One More Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In terms of the room, Westgate wasn't quite what we were expecting since it was a 5 star resort. Some of the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and we were barely able to make it through 2 showers before the water started to get cold. The bed also wasn't as comfortable as we expected. However, the basics were there. We did actually like the layout we received. The only truley terrible thing about our room was it's location. We stayed in 331, and the road stopped somewhere around 325. Parking at night was a NIGHTMARE. The first night we had to park at 317 and the next 321 and walk up the hill to our room. The last thing you want after walking around Gatlinburg all day is to have to walk up hill to your room. We were told that the room we were staying in was under contract through another company, and Westgate was not allowed to do any kind of service to the room until the contract was complete. These were problems that the other company should have taken care of, but obviously did not.

Our only other complaint was really the customer service we experienced when we were trying to stay an extra night. We went for 3 night originally and did one of the timeshare tours we told them about some of the problems we were having with parking and the water, and they promised they would take care of us since we expressed interest in staying an extra night. We did not end up buying a timeshare, but we did purchase a vacation package. We did the tour on Saturday, and we were scheduled to check out on Sunday, so Sunday morning we called the front desk to see if they had adjusted the rate from what they quoted us the day before. As it turns out, since we did not buy, they did not take care of us as promised. The price even jumped from $137 to $201. My boyfriend spent almost all morning on the phone with various people to try to get it figured out. Close to 12, we got a knock on the door from Security asking us to please go to the front desk and that they had asked we leave the room. I was baffled that they actually sent security since my boyfriend asked them directly if we should come to the front desk or stay in the room and wait for calls. We had already had our bags packed up since we knew we would be switching rooms, so all we had to do was walk out. Once we got to the front desk, they did apologize and we did end up staying another night. To me, their communication systems are in need of major improvements. Ultimately the best customer we received was from our Bell Service man, Cody.

On a positive note, the location of the resort is FANTASTIC! Also, if you get to stay a little higher on the mountain, the view is amazing. We ended up staying at the highest built point our last night and it was much better than our stay at the bottom. I also have to say that the room we got our last night was much better than the first (better water, softer matress, no peeling wallpaper).

Room Tip: Make sure to ask not to be placed in any of the "cabins" 325-333. They are in the bad park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nea6788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to read that your overall stay was not satisfactory, we are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 3,032 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

all in all it was a good experience.staff was very friendly,sales part was great until the closer came in ,that kinda turned me off.room was good,but it did have dirty carpets and there was some small places of mold on shower curtain. Like I said all in all it was good, but the resort lifestyle is just not for my wife and I.

Room Tip: higher floors have less human noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have read so many negative reviews about this resort and not sure if some people just cannot be happy or if their experiences were that much different. We had a wonderful time, accommodations were very, very nice. Room was nice and clean, amenities in the room were great, was nice to be able to cook and have everything needed. Staff were all friendly, enjoyed having the trolley to take us up and down the mountain to The Mason Jar. Check in was quick and check out was fast. Resort is always packed, everyone seems to be having a great time.

Just returned home and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a top unit if concerned about noise, ask for a unit away from the pool and parking appears r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are honored you chose to stay with us here at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resorts! We are happy to hear you had a great time! We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds, but we also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived at Westgate and the check-in process was very long with waits after giving our information. We had to wait for a concierge to take us to our room. The room itself was located half way up the side. The view of the Smoky Mountains was nice. The 1 bedroom deluze accommodation was excellent. The rooms were clean. Carpeting getting to the end of the life and should be replaced in the next coiuple of years. We had an appointment for a 90 minute presentation. Avoid this as it took 150 minutes. We did get $100 dollars but could have spent the afternoon doing something more pleasing. They do try to sell to you but we do not like to go to the same place more than once. The restaurant was nice and the meal was large enough for left-overs. Disappointing was the fact that WIFI cost $10 per day. The motel MICROTEL in town along with pthers advertise FREE WIFI. Nowadays this is a must for a resort of this caliber.
Overall I recommend the accomodation as it was large enough for a comfortable week stay.

Room Tip: Note the golf carts are constantly "puttering" about and are noisier than cars. One can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the location and amenities here at the Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did a vacation exchange through Interval International for this resort. It is a gold rated resort according to them. We exchanged our gold rated in Branson for a week here. By the pictures we saw it looked great, however, it wasn't what we got. The 1 bedroom/1 bath we got was average at best. When we asked our concierge about it he said we were in a rental unit because they save all of the best units for owners. We did take a tour of the units and saw what was in the pictures that made us come here. The setting is beautiful. You are right next to the Smokies. Parking was horrible due to the fact that you are on the side of a mountain. The restaurant on site is overpriced and the market is about double what you would get at the grocery store. Most of this is to be expected. What wasn't expected was the price of the "water park" on site. There were several pictures of the water park on Interval's website which lead us to believe that is was part of the resort. It is on the resort property, but is not included in the resort unless you are an owner. It cost about $65 for four of us to get in and my 2 year old was free. Just don't feel like I got a good trade!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwlewis1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know what we are exceling in and some areas that need work. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came here for a week with my family, 7 of us, and it was gorgeous. We come to the Smoky Mountains yearly, and were not disappointed this week. The rooms were perfect. We were placed in a room that was connected, and had 2 kitchens, 2 bedrooms, and 2 living areas. It was great to have some separation when staying together for a week in a small arrangement. The property is gorgeous. If you are wanting to stay at a resort to give you that "feel of being in the smoky mtns", this is the one. Best of all, the indoor water park. It is great for little kids. They do have lifeguards on duty, but they appear slightly young, and I would not count on them for the safety of my children. While we were there, they did have an older lady slip and fall in some water. They did respond appropriately which was nice to see. The kiddy areas in the waterpark are amazing. Being that this area can be so humid, it is nice that the waterpark is indoor, so it does not leave you outside to roast while you are watching your precious kids burn off some energy.
Timeshares are timeshares. We went to the presentation, didn't buy, and didn't feel ripped off. They can take up a good chunk of a morning, but we already own a timeshare, and know how the system works. They make it seem better than it is, you buy, and then feel ripped off. If you go to the presentation, do your research BEFORE you go. This makes you an educated buyer.
I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is a real pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing a quality vacation experience that exceeded your expectations. We are glad you were able to enjoy our resort amenities such as our indoor waterpark. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed there for a short weekend for a great rate. However we would not pay the full $250 a night they said they usually charge. Had to do a 90 minute timeshare presentation that actually was 2 1/2 hours long and after 3 sales people trying to convince us we finally had to be rude in order for them to quit pressuring us. Water park is more for small children, our teenage boys wanted nothing to do with it and you have to buy their drinks and food can not bring own from your unit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was our delight to have you stay us. We understand you had some concerns during your stay. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing