We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Resaca, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort has the friendliest staff, the best amenities, and makes for a stress-free family vacation. There is so much to do on site, you hardly need to leave. Our family LOVES the waterpark. Owners get free passes for the duration of their stay. They have multiple onsite restaurants and a convenience store. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3gibsonkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review! Thanks so much, it is a real pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing a quality vacation experience that exceeded your expectations. Knowing you enjoyed all our great amenities is wonderful. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    684
    436
    259
    363
See reviews for
1,585
791
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a great family vacation. Our experience was great -- from the personal attention at check-in to the gorgeous views from our villa at the top of the mountain. Unlike other reviewers, we had good experiences with the shuttle service throughout the week and never waited more than a few minutes for a shuttle within the resort. Waits for the trolley to Gatlinburg were a bit longer but still not bad, especially for just $0.50 per trip! While I wasn't very impressed with the restaurant food at dinnertime, breakfast was great, and the bar offered delicious and quick lunch and dinner options. Dawn in the bar provided excellent service and kept us coming back. Our parents are owners, and my husband and I ended up buying a timeshare as well because of our experience here. We really appreciated the service and consideration from Jamie, Amanda, and Jason. Thanks so much, you guys are great! I'm looking forward to many more family vacations here and at the other Westgate resorts in the years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsully2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear kind words such as yours. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We always look forward to assisting our owners and guests and providing them with the ultimate vacation. On behalf of the entire Westgate Team, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were owners for our week and had a very nice time. Staff was extremely friendly at all times. We had water park passes for the week and used them daily with our six year old. The park does tend to work better for young children. The pool was clean and constantly monitored by staff. Shuttles were convenient and drivers friendly and knowledgable. Our one bedroom was beautiful on the top of the mountain with an amazing view of Gatlinburg. You could hear neighbors quite easily through the walls but we didn't have any major issues with ours. Our only disappointment was our one visit to the restaurant. The prices were on the high side while the atmosphere and food were definitely underwhelming for such a nice resort. We did use cabin delivery service once and were quite pleased with it ( the menu items differ from restaurant menu). Overall, a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had an overall “great vacation”. We are glad you were able to make use of the shuttle and the waterpark. We always look forward to exceeding all our owner and guest expectations. We hope that we can provide your family with many happy memories in years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are owners. Have been since 2005. It is a great place to stay with your kids. Owners get free wifi, waterpark passes, restraunt discounts, and more. Do I think they have issues... YES. Shuttles are the pitts! Waited no less than 25 min. almost every time. 1time even waited 50 min. Worse than that you ask to speak to management, and you NEVER get too! It is sad that owners aren`t respected and appreciated more. That is my complaint. For 8 YEARS I have given suggestions to help with the shuttle, but same old song and dance. Management should be ashamed too for not returning phone calls! Poor management skills!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alr1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please accept our apologies in regard to the shuttle service. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Check-in was a little slow, but was prepared for that from reading other reviews. Our unit was at the top of the mountain with awesome views. We didn't take advantage of the water park and pools, but looked like families were enjoying both. Internet was slow and not worth the daily fee. One public computer in the lodge that was usually available. Restaurant very expensive. Only had breakfast buffet and it was only average.

Great family place. Plenty to do for kids. Location perfect for the National Park, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge.

Employees were all so friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide our guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The resort is so spread out that getting to the pool and restaurants is a hassle. The room was nice, but the walls are so paper thin that you can hear EVERYTHING that your neighbors say and do. The outdoor pool is way too small for so many guests. The "water park" is a glorified splash pad for children, and costs $18.95 per person, per day to use. On top of being an overpriced room, they put a $50 hold on your card, and there was a $22 "resort fee" that you pay upon check-in. The wireless was a joke. Was not able to check in until 4:30. Our room had a balcony that was over the very busy road, so we heard traffic noise the whole time. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Overall, we had a nice stay. There were a few issues with the room. The shower door wouldn't close and the coffee maker was broken. It was very clean and attractive, although other reviewers are correct in saying that the walls are very thin. Service in the sports bar/restaurant was quite slow, but the woman was working alone. The pools were lovely and open until 11:00. That made it nice because we enjoyed a late swim a couple of nights after getting back for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.1 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing