We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The resort is so spread out that getting to the pool and restaurants is a hassle. The room was nice, but the walls are so paper thin that you can hear EVERYTHING that your neighbors say and do. The outdoor pool is way too small for so many guests. The "water park" is a glorified splash pad for children, and costs $18.95 per person, per day to use. On top of being an overpriced room, they put a $50 hold on your card, and there was a $22 "resort fee" that you pay upon check-in. The wireless was a joke. Was not able to check in until 4:30. Our room had a balcony that was over the very busy road, so we heard traffic noise the whole time. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. We will certainly share your review with our staff, as we are always looking for areas to improve. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 3,038 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Overall, we had a nice stay. There were a few issues with the room. The shower door wouldn't close and the coffee maker was broken. It was very clean and attractive, although other reviewers are correct in saying that the walls are very thin. Service in the sports bar/restaurant was quite slow, but the woman was working alone. The pools were lovely and open until 11:00. That made it nice because we enjoyed a late swim a couple of nights after getting back for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 979annec979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort is a great destination for families. They have two outdoor pools and an indoor waterpark for hours of fun for the kids. The room we stayed in was in the 300 building, with views that were amazing. The layout of the unit(s) were wheelchair friendly, which for us was a HUGE plus. The resort provides a lot of activities on site, but we spent most of our time either in the waterpark or in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. The resort is located in the middle of these two tourist areas, within a short drive. There are also trolly's that will bring you to and from both. When we needed toiletries, they were there in minutes. When we needed maintenance for a DVD player, again, they were there in minutes! Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top of the mountain have amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyTravels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay at Westgate Smoky Mountain! We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds. But we also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our entire vacation experience was wonderful. We stayed in a five bedroom unit at the top of the mountain. The units were clean, the view was spectacular. There were 16 of us ranging in age from 7 to 78. There was something to do for everyone. The waterpark was a hit for all ages. When we called housekeeping to see if we could get a few of the items that were missing in the unit they were there in minutes. Would highly recommend this resort to all family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjbanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with us. Westgate Smoky Mountain is the perfect vacation for an entire family to enjoy. Our staff is there to assist you in any way they can and we are happy they were able to accommodate your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here and took the time share tour, the view was absolutely beautiful. The walls were too thin the people that were beside our room, we could here everything. The people we dealt with that worked there were rude and lied to us on multiple occasions.. We will not go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the issues you apologize. Please accept our apology if a member of our staff was less than courteous- this is not our standard. We appreciate your comments, as it helps us identify areas in which we can improve. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean however it stank of damp, we used half a can of air freshener and it didn't get much better. We got in bed the first night to find a wet patch in the bed coming through from a urine soaked mattress. Housekeeping were great and sent a brand new plastic wrapped mattress and bedding but it took an hour and a half which caused problems with a tired 6 yr old! The room was well equipped, and a good size for a family of 4. We could hear the bathroom and footsteps from the persons upstairs and the air conditioning was loud but no other noise. It was a little outside Gatlinburg and pigeon Forge so we ate in the restaurant on night one, mistake! Yukky mass produced food, I wasn't allowed even to switch fries for mashed potato. I worried about check in based on other reviews but actually we were through in 10 mins - it was a Monday afternoon though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emandmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms but apologize you had some issues with the bed, and the food at the restaurant. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in US along with my family. I was put up in One Bed Room Suite with all amenities. It had a kitchenette, a big bathroom, a king bed in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room and a laundry. Kitchen was well equipped. The property was on a hilltop offering excellent views of the Smokies.

The resort is away from the downtown and saves you from the hustle and bustle. I would strongly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were in 30xx...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangaloreAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is a real pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing a quality vacation experience that exceeded your expectations. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. Please think of us as your home away from home. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#4 of 78 in Gatlinburg
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.8 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $121 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing