We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This resort was an excellent surprise in an awesome location! Arrived at this destination on an owner referral and to our surprise were treated to a VIP suite! The room was spacious, jacuzzi in bedroom, fireplace in living room, and a balcony facing the mountains! Awesome vacation and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee52869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that our staff was able to accommodate you and your family into a suite. All of our staff is there to make you feel comfortable and we strive for our staff to be very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoy our resort amenities. Please think of us as your home away from home. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are a timeshare owning family, so we typically spend a full week in one resort and plan accordingly. We were owner referrals, so we knew most of what we were getting when we booked. This was our first family trip to Pigeon Forge. The water park being extra was a surprise, but we got free tickets. The room was noisier than expected, with the adjoining cabin's children being up late, yelling and jumping on beds at 11 pm. If we return, earplugs and an upper room will be required. The room was spacious, the furniture was nice and comfortable, the view was spectacular and the balcony was relaxing. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and accommodating the entire week. We used the quieter pool at the top more than the crowded one.

The negatives - thin walls/ceilings, no complimentary coffee in rooms, slightly odd dual bathroom configuration (one shared shower), trolley goes only to Gatlinburg (although you are closer to Pigeon Forge), and navigating stairs with suitcases. The positives - great central location, mini-market and package store on the property, the indoor water park, the staff, shuttle service and the security. Overall, we were pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, wear comfortable shoes and bring earplugs. It's a family resort in the mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for telling us your story of your stay with us at Westgate Smoky Mountains. You really took the time to take in the resort amenities and the areas activities. We apologize that there were a few challenges during your stay. Please come back and see us soon, and provide us the opportunity to provide a 5 star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I took an offer to go to the Smokey Mountains Resort in Gatlinburg, TN for a "good" price with my family just by attending a "90" minute presentation that turned out to be 2 1/2 hours surrounded by pushy and aggressive people trying to make us buy a timeshare ... 3 Different salesman came to our table and were very rude at the end when my wife had to almost scream that we did not wanted to buy their "dream" package that is all over the internet to be a SCAM. We were supposed be there for 4 days and with the bad experience we checked out the third day and left ... While we were at the resort my little daughter complaint that her head was itching and my wife thought that her scalp was just dry due to the pool and the sun ... to our surprise there was LICE all over our clothes and my daughters heads ... It wasn't 2 or 3 it was a full scale plague that took us another 2 or 3 days to treat and get rid of ... WOW after I came back I read all the negative reviews that this Westgate company has and I would have paid full price somewhere else and not get a discount and deal with all this crap from this place.
Stay away if you can !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms full of lice !!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that our staff was not too accomodating to make your stay a more pleasant one. We are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visited this resort on a time share visit of my mother's. My mother is an owner. The first time we had went up in 2008, it was the worst experience ever. But this year (I guess because we complained like crazy after the last time) we had a wonderful time. We got the room as promised, we were in the area as promised, and we didn't have to visit any 90 minute time share program. We called if we needed anything and they sent what we needed. We were close to the pool and water park. We also got 4 free tickets to the water park for the entire 7 days we were there. They treated us just as if we were the owners. I guess this is the only way to go after reading all the other comments. I would love to go again, they are building a zipline that will be free to the owners. It's a shame that the water park is not free to ALL guests, even those just visiting or listening to the time share sales pitch. It definitely makes the resort worth the stay, and worth having to listen to that horrible 3 hour pressurized sales pitch. We really enjoyed the arcade also, and the children loved playing pool at the pool tables. We also enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. We had a great vacation. We stayed Memorial Week, 2013. Everyone was very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: You want to be closer to the bottom where the welcome center, park and pool are. You don't want...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrabbShack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are so very happy to hear you had an amazing time with us at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort. We are honored that you feel we provide a great vacation! We definitely strive to provide the best amenities and having lots of fun things for our guests to do. Thanks for trusting us with your vacation; we hope we will be on your mind next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. Never again at any Westgate. We did not go for the "tour". Were not told the room does not get cleaned. Were not told the waterpark is extra. Don't be fooled by the picture of the studio room on the website. Our studio was a cave - the bed pushed against the wall, very dark, awful shower. Check-in took 30 min and then they charged a $50 amenities fee "just in case we had extra charges". Supposed to be refunded to our card in 3-5 days. Didn't like that we were responsible for the trash and linens/towels to be put at the front door at check out. No ice machine and no ice trays in room fridge. Asked for pool towels that came 3 hours after requested when they said they'd be right up. Never saw any hot tubs or wonderful views. DO NOT STAY HERE! There are lots of other places in this area to stay that at least have a window in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is top notch across the board. Located right between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge minutes away from plenty to do but still have the secluded peacefulness of the Smokey's. Plenty to do for the hole family you would never have to leave the resort. If you are in the area this place is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1smarshall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you for saying that our resort is “top notch”. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort amenities and services. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our resort. We hope to see you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to spend the night here. We did not realize we would be on top of a mountain (no deck with rocking chairs to even enjoy the view- you have to pay for the whole unit to get that) also with flights of stairs to climb. No pool close by- there are only two for 800 units. You have to wait for a shuttle if you go to the pool or the overcrowded water park that costs extra. We paid 170.00 and we could have gotten a beautiful room, even a cabin at a resort for that. So we stayed in from 5:00 pm on a Saturday. Also the noise from families staying above and next door is terrible. And don't even be tempted to tour the place, they will claim $400 in freebies, run don't walk away, unless you enjoy two and half hours of boring and high pressure sales talk and then cannot extricate yourself from the sales staff who become less and less friendly and then make fun of you for not purchasing their lowest offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Litesleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to read that you room was clean, neat and that you were lucky and able to receive room service every day. We apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff. However, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#22 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing