We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay...can't wait to go back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my 6-yr old son stayed here during Spring Break and absolutely loved it! We stayed in a 1-Bedroom King Bed villa with balcony. Our balcony overlooked a small creek and it was gorgeous! The staff was wonderful and even escorted us to our room and helped us in with our luggage. The waterpark was great, but a little pricey. I don't recommend the lobby restaurant, it wasn't very good. Great location to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The Trolley stops right at the entrance to the resort and there's a bus that takes you around the resort. I've recommended this resort to everyone I know and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed so many things about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort! We appreciate your review, thanks for sharing your story. We think our amenities are great too. We always look forward to assisting our owners and guests and providing them with the ultimate vacation. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 3,032 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

My daughter (12) and I went to Gatlinburg for her spring break. We chose Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort because we had friends also staying there. I loved the location of the resort. The trolley to Gatlinburg was a good idea because I hate driving in a a crowded conjested area. The trolley picks up from the resort or the welcome center across the road. Our room was nice, small but all we needed since it was just the two of us. We stayed in a studio behind the lobby and restaurant. This was a perfect place for us since we could easily walk to the restaurants, arcade, pool and waterpark, and store. The resort is beautiful. The only issue I really had was parking at the waterpark and restaurant was crowded making check in a little less than ideal. I was told I couldn't park at the waterpark which was frustrating and they asked me to move my car when I was checking in even though I was park at the check in parking(?) The room was clean and comfortable. Even though the temps were 20's and 30's at night the room was comfortable without any heat being on. We didn't have a mountain view from our room but we did have a nice balcony with a mountain stream running below, which was nice and pretty. The bubbling of the water made it nice to sit and read on the balcony. Our friends stayed on top of the mountain and their rooms where bigger and roomier than our little studio. They had fireplaces and great mountain views. They did however have issues with the heat in their room. Also, it was not as convenient having to either drive up and down the mountain to get to the store or restaurant or wait for the on site shuttle. The staff were friendly and helpful. The waterpark amazed me. It was fun for the kids, but be aware it cost extra to go to the waterpark, we paid 18.95 a day or 3 days for 39.95, it closes at 7:00 except on weekends it is open til 9:00pm. I was not bothered with the charges because I researched beforehand and was aware that it cost extra, but I also found it was well worth it. My daughter 12 loved it and we went almost everyday we were there. We enjoyed eating at the restaurant on site, the food was really good and it was nice as was the lobby area. I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReeseAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We love to receive reviews where our guests had a great time at Westgate Smoky Mountain! It is good to know you were able to enjoy the location of the resort and water park. We are always improving, so we value our guest’s feedback. We hope that we can provide your family with many happy memories in years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this place for the location to gatlinburg it's really close I had a 2 bedroom book but when I got here I got 2one bedrooms with the other room on top of me so a family of 8 which is what the 2 bedroom sleeps has to put 4 people up stairs which would be horrible except when they are kids the outsid door does not lock so you have to lock your unit doors which is stupid who wants to put there kids upstairs locked in at night god forbid some emergency happens you have to find the key run upstairs get them out no thanks this was a big thing for us I will not stay here again because of it

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed a week for Spring Break. We had 3 kids ages 8,8, and 10. We had a two bedroom room and lots of room. We even had 3 full baths. I was alittle concerned after reading some of the reviews but I have to say that afte my research the information that was given is ALL accurate. The only indoor pool is the waterpark and the prices were given and was clear before we went that we would have to pay for that. Our kids enjoyed the waterpark, unfortunatly it was below avg temps while we were there so the waterpark was a little cold. I cannot say that was the resorts fault. They had 2 outdoor heated pools that are on the small side. So if you plan to do alot of swimming then this resort would not be ideal but you can tell that information from the website. The location of resort was great for getting around. We were not being harrassed to buy timeshare. A person that stays at places like this has to realize that that is their business and not be bothered by it. If the timshare portion bothers you then you are best to stay at a hotel. As far as the noise I did not feel it was any different than any where else we have stayed. The resort cannot do much about rude people that don't respect other people and are loud. So I can see that if you have a loud family around you it could be disrupting but I would not say that is the fault of the resort. We would plan to stay here again if we came to gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room not one that faces the parking lot if you want it to be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We train our staff to be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities, resort amenities, as well as our great location! We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

if you are not ready for a very high pressure sales pitch don't go.took 4 hours of a 3 day vacation to hear it,.We were told that it was only a 90 minute presentation,and they don't want to let you leave until you buy one.they put you in a very loud environment and pressure you.They also get an attitude with you when you say no.,Be sure to have a general idea on the amount you have spent for your vacations in the past its how they try to get you to buy.Make sure you do the math first.before you say yes..,,,the walls of the rooms are thin and you can hear your neighbors,,you get no clean towels nor sheets,,it cost to go to the waterpark and it's open to the public,,,,the room was nice,,only good comment i have

Room Tip: stay somewhere else......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. Again, we apologize and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for our kids spring break and since it was a resort with a indoor pool... Upon arriving we realized how rude the parking guy to the front desk...
Then the rooms look cheap... Nothing a normal resort would usually have... We usually like pay preview movies in the room and that was not offered.... Tv is small and unclear... The manager is ( Belinda) is one of the rudest managers...
There is no house keeping what so ever.... They said they do house keeping on the 3rd day and nothing as done.. And the. Wen called they said it was on the 4th date... We came to the room and nothing was done.. We had to wash our own towels ... How do hey expect us to vacuum our own floors when there is no vacuum cleaner...... .?... And about their house keeping...they never have the same story.... We were there for a week and some had to go tot he store and buy my own cleaning product...
One of the worse hotels with a name resort attached to we have eve stayed... If you want to be mislead by this resort and do your own house keeping this is the hole for you... Stay at a regular hotel and save our money and a whole lotta disappointment ..

Room Tip: Do not get caught up in the word resort expecting resort service or resort accomadaions..this is a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natashashallom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are sorry about the issues you experienced. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. As a timeshare resort our housekeeping schedule does run a little differently however there is no excuse for the delays you experienced. We would hope that you will return to our resort to allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours got a 2br unit after attending a timeshare sales pitch. We split the cost with them and were very pleased with the unit. There were 4 adults and 4 children. Each family had their own kitchen, bathroom and bedroom yet we were still in the same room. Had some issues with DVD player and fireplace but maintenance came and fixed both. We were on a bottom unit in 4000 building and heard everything going on upstairs. Walls are VERY thin and if u have noisy neighbors it gets very annoying at 6am or 12am. We went to the waterpark twice. Kids loved it. We ordered room service from resort grill and food was delicious and priced right. It's just a short drive (traffic willing) to main Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyofgavinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
1.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 915 Westgate Resort Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5155
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $89 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park and bustling downtown Gatlinburg. With easy access to a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities and a variety of onsite amenities, including an amazing indoor/outdoor water park, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Smoky Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort
Westgate Smoky Mountain Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Gatlinburg
Westgate Resort Tennessee
Westgate Tennessee
Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort
Gatlinburg Westgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing