We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we visited”

Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina
Ranked #42 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh Tex Mex Cantina, "World Famous Margaritas"and the only Roof Top Dining in Gatlinburg with Fire Pit Lounge areas.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Glad we visited”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I fancied a Mexican after several days of eating in grills and diners. This looked better than the one by the aquarium and by heck, we were pleased we went there. Despite the greeter being very lack-lustre, we had a good dinner starting with a massive bowl of complimentary nachos and warm salsa. The fajitas and margaritas were very good and the waiter even gave us some milk to take out, after we asked him where we could buy some from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    528
    257
    156
    193
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could be much better!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice server, poor mannered bartender who sat us on the roof which has amazing atmosphere, food was so so nothing great nothing horrible, we've had much better! Under new management it could possibly be amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corky32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious - delightful discovery”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped here on a whim, it was not our intention to eat Mexican food in Gatlinburg but there are surprisingly few restaurants in the shopping district. Wow. We are so glad that we did. The food was fresh and delicious - better Mexican food than we have had in a restaurant in a long time. The warm salsa was insanely good, we never get seconds but we did here. Amazing. The Mesquite chicken was flavorful, the tortillas were hand-pressed and the black beans were smoky and perfect - not an afterthought like they are in most restaurants. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was friendly and professional. And they brought our kids' meals right away, which anyone with small children can appreciate. We had no idea that this little gem would be the culinary highlight of our trip to Tennessee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very Different for Gatlinburg!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is our 3rd time at Charro Burro. The rooftop lounge is wonderful. The food is very good. The prices are fair for the food you get. It is just a fun place to go to all year, they have misters when it is hot. They have fire pits when it is cold.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Servers apparently are incompetent or don't care about making money.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sat ignored for a full 10 mins on the deck upstairs while the server passed by our table 5 times and spoke to everyone around us, while completely ignoring us. Can't comment on the food because we were never able to place a drink order let alone order food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnchick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Loco Burro Fresh Mex Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing