We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worked for Large Family Reunion”
Terrace Garden Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor Terrace Garden Manor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
13 reviews
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
Terrace Garden Manor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 42
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mtnlover1...
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“False advertising and poor management.”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Dirty, couldn't get televisions to turn on because the remotes are all mixed up, overloaded extension cords throughout the house, fireplace didn't work. The theater room would have been nice but we couldn't get the television/or dvd player to work. Doesn't look like the pictures on the internet. I have no doubt this place was once beautiful but has been a while. We called the rental company just to see if they had anything else available and the owners showed up angry and argumentative.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
I am sorry that you didn't like Terrace Garden. It is a favorite of many of our guests. In checking our records, I see that you were allowed to check-in early, 1:30 rather than the usual 4:00 check-in time. Our company manages Terrace Gardens for the property owners. The owners live locally and take great pride in their property. They inspect it personally before each guest arrival and were actually there when you arrived. They actually fixed all of the issues you mentioned with the exception of the cable outage which was an area wide outage. After hearing your complaints the day you checked in, the owners called our office and said they were offering you a full refund because you didn't like Terrace Gardens. We did not have any 13 bedroom properties available to move you to. You then told the owners you would like to stay.
We take all guest comments very seriously. We investigate the issues posted in the reviews and clarify the options given to our guests so that anyone reading the reviews has all the information in order to make an informed decision.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worked for Large Family Reunion”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
6
people found this review helpful

My job every couple years is to secure a place for a large family reunion. We range in age from 5-85, some need handicap accessibility, we want to stay under one roof, oh, and I have a budget to stay within. Terrace Garden met those requirements and we had a wonderful stay over a long weekend.

Pros:
1. Cost: Terrace Garden was built in 1968. Over the years it has been updated and added on to. Since it is not a brand new building, the cost is much less than other large cabins in Gatlinburg.
2. Plenty of sleeping space. We easily slept 32 people. The bunk rooms are very small, but they serve the purpose. I would say 5 of the bedrooms are very nice, the other 9 are fine and functional.
3. Plenty of bathrooms and we never ran out of hot water. Plus there is a full size washer and dryer in one of the rooms, which made it easy to keep up with towels.
4. Heating/air conditioning was very easy to control with three different thermostats. We had no issues with keeping the temperature comfortable throughout the house.

What you need to know before you rent:
1. Property is up a very long, windy road. We have several young adult and elderly drivers that were nervous making the trek into town. We choose to stay more at the cabin because of this. Also, Gatlinburg traffic was extremely heavy. One of us ran to the grocery store 6.5 miles away and it took 45 minutes to get there and 1.5 hours to get back to the cabin.
2. Handicapped bathroom is in the main hallway. This is clearly marked on the floor plan provided by rental company. If you have a person who needs an equipped bathroom, just note they will have to walk from bedroom to get to it. Also, only toilet has bars. Bathtub does not. Those with mobility issues were able to stay in rooms on the main level, which also has the kitchen, dining and living areas. that worked out nicely.
3. Kitchen was fully equipped. We cooked all of our meals there, except for one night when we ordered pizza. Bring paper plates and cups, as there is only one dishwasher. We knew this in advance and were very glad to have planned accordingly.
4. Pool and clubhouses are not near the house. They are 2 miles away. We knew pool was only open in the summer. But were very surprised to find the clubhouse was closed as well, especially since the book in the cabin stated the clubhouse was open through Thanksgiving. Since the cabin didn't have one large gathering space, we were hoping to use the club house.
5. Although this house sits on some acreage, there is no real space for kids to place outside. We filled the drive with cars. The kids have brought games to play, but acreage was to steep and close to roads to safely let them play. We did find a nice park in Gatlinburg.
6. Dining area sits about 14-17 people comfortably. On the two days the weather was nice some eat on different decks that had tables or out front. Our last two days were chilly and we ended up eating more or less in shifts.
7. If your group is one that wakes up and goes to sleep at different times, be aware that the lower level bedrooms toward the front of the house hear every footstep, chair scrape, and toilet flush from upstairs. Also the two rooms closest to the kitchen are not sound proof at all, making it difficult for those folks to sleep when others are awake. If you are a group that is basically on the same schedule this should not be an issue. If you are a group like ours where the elderly liked getting up before 4 in the morning and the young adults/teens went to bed after midnight, it was an issue.

There wasn't one room where we could all gather, which was kind of a bummer. Oh, and we did have a bear climb a tree close to the house one night and paw some of the cars in the driveway. Just added to the adventure.

All that being said, we really did have a wonderful time. I would recommend this cabin to anyone, as long as you have realistic expectations about what you are renting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The number of bedrooms for the price
Liked least: No large gathering space big enough for our group
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta GA
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike32792
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Price for a Nice Lodge”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Had a nice time at the chalet. It's a nice place in a fantastic location but it does need some updating. Some rooms have no place to store clothes and one of the bunk rooms on the bottom floor is like a dungeon with no natural lighting and it's very small.

Kitchen was nice but it is small for a large group/family. Needs more counter space. Lots of pots and pans. Some were old and in need of replacement.

The bedroom with the attached laundry, in my opinion, needs some thought in why is this a bedroom. The game room access is through the 3 bedrooms surrounding it or from the side entrance door which is next to a steep slope. This was an issue at times during our stay.

I did have one issue with the property manager, When the final payment was made, the cost was $5 higher than the contract stated. I contacted them about the issue and I was told it would be taken care of. It never was.

A/C issues are another concern. Bottom floor is controlled by the 2nd floor temperature which makes the floor, at times, very cold during the evening hours.

Overall, everyone had a wonderful time at our family reunion. When we did have issues, the owner was very quick to respond to the issues. Having access to area pools other amenities was a nice bonus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: Property needs updating
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing