We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Staying here could be hit or miss. Each Condo is owned individually so some may be nicer then others. We had revesered two separate rooms both by different owners. I can say both were nice and clean. One was more updated then the other but both were very nice. Location was good as well with the parkway being a short walk away. Indoor pool was nice, mgmt let us stay swimming past closing hours which was nice of them. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoganM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,259 - 2,265 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

It's not 5 star but comfortable. We stayed in a hotel room on the samll side, will not sleep 4 people. it was enough for us. greta area to visit and had a lot of fun. Location is great for all area attractions

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank duckandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was a hideous experience. We exchanged a lovely Cancun "resort" condo for this dump. It was brown, dark, dank & the window looked over the parking lot. Drapes had to remain closed so passersby wouldn't be looking at our sofa. This was the most depressing vacation I have ever had & we left 2 days early just to get out of there. Because of this, I will never return to Gatlinburg. Ober Gatlinburg was awful. 6 black bears laying on a concrete pavement...I wanted to help them escape. We got on a sky-lift & after 30 seconds, it started raining. We were soaked & freezing & told, with the other 60 people stuck up there, that we could be taken down 7 at a time, in someone's truck. Our reward was going back to the dark, depressing cave that was our condo. I couldn't wait to leave this place & will never come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GreatEscape504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

For hiking or sightseeing in the Great Smoky Mountains you can't beat the Gatlinburg Town Square in Gatlinburg, TN. You can walk to downtown Gatlinburg (full of restaurants and tourist attractions) and also be about 10 miles from Pigeon Forge which is a shopping and entertainment mecca. The units are comfortable but not elegant, and the resort amenities good. The resort has two small heated swimming pools (indoors and outdoors) plus an outdoor hot tub. We have always (in our many trips there) found the staff to be unusually friendly and helpful. The only negative for us was the poor wireless Internet signal. We paid $30 for a week of unreliable service (made worse by the location of our unit on the backside of the resort). The tech support was not helpful being located in Florida!

Room Tip: If a wireless Internet service is a priority, avoid rooms that do not have access to the central pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews of GTS, I really didn't know what to expect. However, after talking with several other guests during our week-long timeshare exchange here, I believe I've figured it out. There are 3 buildings in the complex: Phase, I, Phase II-A and Phase II-B. If you are lucky enough to get a unit in eiher phase 2 building, you will probably be pleased. These are the creek-side units, obviously much newer. However, being timeshare exchangers, we had no say in where we were assigned. If you are not a timeshare guest, be sure to look at the unit before accepting it. Our 2-bdrm unit in Phase I faced the street, which was quite noisy. The unit did have newer furniture, appliances and carpeting, but there were many areas both inside and outside our unit which were not renovated. The older phase has no washer or dryer in the units, although these are available on the 3rd through 6th floors and are free of charge. Still, this can be a long walk in this large complex if you're carrying a basket of laundry in 35 degree weather. Our 2-bdrm unit was advertised to sleep 6, however, was equipped with dishes for only 5, necessitating us to run the dishwasher twice a day. The kitchen was small and the oven door could not be opened all the way due to the refrigerator placed next to it. Even with the refrigerator door open, there was not enough room to open the overn door completely, resulting in a nice burn to my hand when I tried to manipulate a baking dish. The master bdrm had it's own bath which was separated by louvered doors. The toilet was also separated off by louvered doors. Whomever painted these doors during the "renovation" did not bother to clean off the dust before applying the paint. The closet doors were also louvered and would not close completely. Some of the walls had large scuff marks and wallpaper was torn in some areas. The moulding was coming off the bottom of the shower door and paint was chipping on many surfaces. 3 different types of light bulbs encircled the vanity mirror in the master bath. The screen doors in both the bedroom and living area had large gaping holes. When we arrived, the living area screen door was completely off it's frame and sitting on the patio floor. Internet was $7.95 a day or you could go down to the activity center and pay 20 cents a minute to use their PC. As many other reviewers indicate, parking was tight in the underground lot with many concrete posts. We spent the week with another couple but were limited to 1 parking space in the main lot for the weekend. Our guest had to park their car about a block away. The stairwells were filthy and in need of a good pressure washing and paint job. There was dust, cobwebs and cigarette butts everywhere. We used the indoor pool just one time and noticed the wooden handrails in the area were covered with mold. Would I stay there again? Only if I was guaranteed a unit in the newer section. I can overlook a few minor flaws, but GTS had way too many and should definitely not be classified as an RCI "Gold Crown" resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in either of the Phase 2 buildings, which are creek-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TennTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked the Gatlinburg Town Square through our Hilton Grand Vacations Club exchange program. I was really nervous after reading some of the reviews. So lets just start with the bed bug thing. We didn't find any! Also, the studio wasn't as small and crammed as I thought. Not huge but it is a studio. It is clean, and not as dark as I thought either. The lady that checked us in was very friendly and efficient. The parking spaces are cramped for a Deville but we made it work. Now as for the bed it could be better. It is a queen size and we are definitely use to a king. So everytime my husband moved I rolled into him. Not very restful. But all in all this is a nice place and not as bad as some of the reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The resort is about a quarter of a mile from downtown Gatlinburg. It has a really nice heated indoor pool. My room was a studio unit and it was small but it provided sleeping spaces for 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids). The room was ok. Everything in the room was kind of outdated (CRT TV is still being used, old type of microwave, old dresser has a broken drawer...) except for the whirlpool. $59 House keeping fee for any less than 7 nights stay is not really attractive but it is reasonable comparing with other resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joentnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
2.4 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#47 of 77 in Gatlinburg
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 77 in Gatlinburg
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Address: 414 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#23 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $66 - $1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gatlinburg Town Square Nestled in the midst of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, you’ll find resort living in an area so vividly beautiful, walking through it is akin to moving through a painting. Gatlinburg Town Square and Town Village are ideally situated in the heart of Gatlinburg Tennessee, within easy walking distance to downtown and all the entertainment, shopping and nightlife only the Smokies could offer. Discover nature’s gallery of mountain trails, pristine waterfalls and breathtaking mountain vistas, all on display and timelessly preserved for your family’s enjoyment in The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, located less than a mile away. Whether you want to bask in the tranquility of the mountains, or discover the adventures that await within them, you are sure to find something to fit your vacation needs. As soon as you arrive at the resort, you’ll find yourself adjusting to ‘mountain time’ as you gaze upon a three-story waterfall cascading down the stone tower beckoning you inside where you will be greeted by a resort team exuding the Southern hospitality for which this region is world famous. Let the vacation begin by lounging in front of your private fireplace or by grilling alongside our spring-fed creek. Here, you can indulge in the many attractions, such as in an aerial tram ride 2,675 feet above the city, and immerse yourself in the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Square Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing