We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Gatlinburg Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gatlinburg Towers
Ranked #72 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed at Gatlinburg Towers in the middle of June of 2007 and were greatly pleased with everything. The people that worked there were nice and the rooms were clean.We forgot that they did not have soap and shampoo in the rooms but most condo rentals I have stayed at did not furnish these items either. We talked to Donna(the owner) and she told us about a new grocery store just down the road. When we got back the office was closed and we called on the phone outside the office to ask about towels and were informed that it would be later in the evening or possibly in the morning before we could get any. When we asked how late it might be she told us that her father had passed away that day and she did not know for sure when she would be there that night. We would recommend this place for anybody to stay. Check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 90 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2008

My husband and I were excited to have a chance for a weekend getaway with some family. At spur of the moment planning, we contacted a condo rental in Gatlinburg where we normally stay to find out they were booked. Now to make a long story short, we only found a place at Gatlinburg Towers that suited our needs or at least we thought. The pictures on the internet looked nice, in making the reservations, they were generous to give us a discount from the normal $135 a night to a unbelievable $75 a night. Upon arrival, smiles went to frowns. There is no view of the city or mountains unless you are on the top 2 or 3 floors and parking is on a steep slope. The lobby smelled like dog, the pool closes at 8:00 pm, The room was plain. (Clean but very run down) and the condo is 4 blocks from town. (No Trolley Stops). However, we did not let that ruin our weekend, We just slept there. The rest of the time we stayed out enjoying ourselves downtown in Gatlinburg, a ride to Cades Cove and dinner shows in Pigeon Forge. One thing about it, we will not be staying here again!!!!!! I believe anyone who has stayed here would agree that the discount is a big price for the condition of the place. Spend an extra $20 and stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardinal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Dirty, dirty, dirty and dirtier! Cheap shaby furnishings. Thin rough linens. Stained towels. Mildew. Worn out and stained bedspreads. Very badly neglected leak in master bath ceiling. Ants! And an imaginary desk and office staff. Stay somewhere else, anywhere but here! Don't let the cheap rate fool you. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TripleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Room 403 very dirty. Had to clean the place, especially the bathrooms before giving the kids a bath. Fully equipt kitchen with nasty utensils. Kitchen cabinets were really dirty on the outside. Sofa when you sat on it sunk in the middle, cannot imagine sleeping on it. Beds felt like you were sleeping on springs and they were really dirty/dusty underneath. Most important part was the pool. my two children and my husband were swimming and experienced burning of the eyes. The pool would create bubbles when you swam. (front desk said this was fine, it was checked daily!) Another girl was at the pool and her eyes were burning as well. Mgmt said they use a chemical other then chlorene, but everything is fine because we check it daily. I would recommend other accommodations before spending your money here!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGMCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We just returned from Gatlinburg Towers and all I can say is NEVER AGAIN. Parking was absolutely awful. We had to walk uphill just to get to the room. It was not as close to downtown as we understood it was. Downhill to go shopping and uphill to return. No nearby trolley as we thought. Not very easy at all. No working phone in the room. The offfice did check it but when they called the room they said it rang but my friend was there and it did not ring at all. There was a dial tone but we could not use a calling card. There was no cell phone signal unless you went downstairs and into the parking lot. Now how inconvenient is that??? There was a lot of mildew in the bathroom and some on the cabinets were missing. And the view....What view???? I would not recommend this place to ANYONE AT ALL. STAY AWAY....

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank t_roxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We booked this condo after receiving a brochure from the Gatlinberg Chamber of Commerce. It looked like a nice enough place online and so we decided to stay there. Big mistake!!! After a nine hour drive from home and bumper to bumper traffic thru Pidgeon Forge we arrived at the rental office. The lady at the desk seemed nice enough but that was soon to change. Upon finding the condo in the dark, we had to park on a huge hill, unload our luggage and push it up the hill to the elevator. An upleasant surprise greeted us when we open the door to our "luxury" condo----MOLD. This place was digusting.. we are not the type of people who are picky but I think that camping in a tent would have been a better option than staying in this place. It seriosly needs some maintenance. There were holes in the walls, the carpet was very dirty and had holes in it, the stove looked as if it had never been cleaned, the pans were dented and dirty, the pull out sofa bed fell to the floor in the middle, the sheets were paper thin, and the bathrooms were covered in mold and dirty, the single TV did not work. After discovering how unsatisfactory the condo was we called the rental office and were told that we should call the office in the morning and we would be moved. Well, we went to the office in the morning, after not sleeping most of the night due to the spiders and mold, and the office was closed. We decided to go to the aquarium and kept waiting for word on when we could move. Four hours later we received a call--- we could move into a different condo down the street. No apologies or refunds...too bad so sad I guess. The new place was fine but the lady at the desk was surly after that. When we returned home I mailed a complaint form to the Chamber of Commerce and the replied I received was that we had to work it out with the owner. I called the rental agency and was told that there would be no refund for the night we stayed at Gatlinberg towers because we were put in a different condo the next day. So much for customer service. My recommendation to you is not to stay at Gatlinberg Towers and do not rent from Affordable Discount Realty.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SR. PETERS TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our party of two families arrived on the evening of 06/15/2007 at approximately 7:15 PM. Since the office is supposed to be open until 8:00 PM every night, we were able to actually deal in person with a human being, which was not to be the case when the problems started later.

We were told by the person manning the desk that our original room, #405, had "plumbing problems" and that we were to be placed in Room 301 instead. As it turned out, if Room 301 was an upgrade from Room 405, we would have REALLY HATED to have stayed in Room 405.

When we entered Room 301, we discovered several problems not usually associated with a facility that rents rooms to the public and holds itself out as first class accomodations. The place was just simply dirty. There was dirt in the corners in virtually every room. The kitchen floor was dirty, as was the bathroom floor off one of the bedrooms.

The place was poorly maintained. There were marks in the paint of most of the walls and the base boards in various rooms were gouged in a variety of places. There was a cover plate off an electrical outlet in one of the bedrooms and two wall plugs in another bedroom were dead. The oven was also not very clean.

Rather than possibly souring our vacation, we simply cleaned the oven and accepted the fact that the rooms were not particularly clean or well maintianed. Had we known all of the things we would later discover, we would have sought other accomodations.

When we took our two Grandsons down to the swimming pool, we noticed some unusual looking debris in the water. An investigation revealed that there were exposed ventilation pipes running through the ceiling of the pool (and by the way, the pool was about the size of a postage stamp) and the metal straps that were holding them had rusted through. They were being held in place by cloth straps normally used for securing freight on trailers and trucks. The management had not removed the rusted straps and they were dumping rust into the pool.

Wait, it gets better. After being out all day at Dollywood on Monday of the week, we returned around 6:30 PM. We had planned to get up early the next morning to drive to Asheville, NC to visit the Biltmore Estate. We also had not yet picked up our clean towels and washcloths for the day (no, they do not normally deliver them to the room).

You can imagine our chagrin when we discovered two very important things upon our arrival back at Gatlinburg Towers.

The first was that the only elevator was out of service. You can imagine how difficult it was for two of our party who have Osteoarthritis and who both have very bad knees, to hike up three flights of stairs to reach our room. More to the point, since there are no apparent guest accomodations on the ground floor of this facility and there is no other way to reach the other floors, this may be a violation of the Americans With Disabilities Act. as it subsequently turned out, the elevator was out of service for one and one-half days, whcih was absolutely an extreme inconvenience for everyone staying at the place.

But back to Monday night. When we went to the office at 6:45 PM to get clean towels and washcloths (remember, it is supposed to be open until 8:00 PM EVERY night), the office was CLOSED! NO NOTE, NO EXPLANATION; JUST CLOSED!

At that point, a call was placed to the telephone number on the door that was listed for emergencies. The telephone was answered by some who identified herself, when asked, as Donna, and she stated that she was the owner of the property.

When asked why the office was closed, her reply was that "It was an emergency." When the caller told her that he was there to pick up clean towels and wash cloths, she said that she would be over to open the office in about an hour and that she would bring them to us in our room. When asked about the elevator, she stated that the repairman would be at the property first thing the next morning and would put the elevator back in service.

An hour and a half came and went and no clean towels or wash cloths. We went downstairs again and and the office was still closed. Finally, after waiting for about two hours, we went to the emergency telephone at the office and called this woman again about clean towels and washcloths. We reminded her that she had stated that she would be over in about an hour and that had been two hours ago. We also stated to her that we were trying to get in bed early in order to drive to Ashville, NC the next day. Her reply was, "Well, are you in that big of a hurry for them?", to which our reply was "Yes, we are.", which we did not think was unreasonable under the circumstances. Her smart-aleck reply was, "Well, it ain't gonna' happen. I'll be there later."

The woman did finally bring fresh things to us . . . at 10:50 PM! Most importantly, her attitude from then on out in dealing with us was pretty smug and very uncooperative. When the elevator was not fixed the next evening as she had promised and we asked her when it wuld be fixed, her very smart-aleck reply was, "If you don't like it, you don't have to stay here!"

We attempted to get the booking agent that we used to move us to another property, but without success. It was very obvious by their obfuscations that they just simply did not want to be bothered. They had their money and they didn't really care if there was a problem, or not. But that is another story.

This kind of attitude toward a guest from the owner of a property is unconscionable, particularly when the owner has created the problems. If you intend to accept money from people to provide accomodations for them, the accomodations should be at least clean and the property should be in reasonable repair. Most important, if you are dealing with the public and you have declared that your business has certain public hours, than you had better be prepared to operate your business during those hours. And the owner of the property really does not need to be a smart mouth when she is the one who is causing all of the problems.

If you plan on staying at the Gatlinburg Towers in Gatlinburg, TN, then your watchword needs to be Caveat Emptor. I WOULD NOT STAY IN THIS PLACE AGAIN IF IT WAS THE LAST HOTEL IN THE AREA!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ItsAFact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#16 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 78 in Gatlinburg
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Towers

Address: 413 Baskins Creek Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3505
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $138 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatlinburg Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gatlinburg Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Towers Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing