We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Unfortunately, I've had to stay in this hotel twice due to business conferences hosted by the hotel. This hotel is old and dirty. When I say, dirty, I don't mean it is only worn out, but it is filthy too. I put my hand on the nightstand in our room and came away with sticky slimy stuff all over my fingers. There were clumps of hair and other things on the floor too. After the first visit, I was told they were going to renovate all the rooms and it would be nicer. When I returned for my second business meeting, it was just as old and filthy as ever. No one I spoke with at the conference has an updated or clean room, so I wonder what happened to all the work they promised to do. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Anne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 889 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2007

We found this hotel on another site for a westgate resort vacation. I was worried after reading the reviews, but we were only staying one night so thought we would try it. I called the place twice to verify our reservations. We needed two beds as we were travelling with two children. When we got there at 3 in the morning, they had us in a king bed room but they did change it for us with no trouble. I heard several people at the desk having problems with their reservations. Supposedly, Westgate has bought this hotel and is doing major renovations. They did not tell me on the phone that neither of their pools was open yet. That was a big disappointment for my kids. The room was nothing special and the carpet was dirty, but the bathroom was clean. We weren't in the room much anyway. But the location was great and the view was nice. No continental breakfast, but breakfast restaurant right beside lobby. We didn't try it.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank lolitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

i love this place i stay every year 2-3 days i live in texas so i only get to come once a year however this year there was a rude clerk who informed me she had been there 2 years and hadnt seen rates that low 69.00 and quoted us a price too high over 100. i informed her ive been coming here over 12 years and have never seen it that high so we walked out i was so disappointed as we drove by those 3 nights the place was empty i guess they have so much money they would rather have it empty than occupied by a use to be loyal customer so we stayed at river house the people were great and friendly and the place excellent i guess we found a new place to stay. i even emailed them and got no response you would think they would want to correct this problem disappointed in texas leigh

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank smokeymt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Booked through hotelscorp and they refused to refund the money paid. Nothing about the hotel was satisfactory. Nasty rooms, worn out fixtures, unhelpful staff. do not use either river terrace or hotelscorp.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unhappy666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

My sister and I stayed at the river resort for 2 days-which was plenty ling enough. In on the Dec 28 - Out on the 31st.

Sister asked for 2 queens-had us down for a king. No problem- changed it. Problem is, we were assigned a room that had a couple in it. Chaned the room again.
Bathroom fan sounded like a loud garbage disposal. old electric plugs and not very well kept. Sheets had sweat smell and burns on carpet, but was only 85.00 a night. Cheap I hear for gatlinberg.

Next day the rrom was not cleaned nor beds made. Someone was there but left only 2 towels and 1 wash cloth, soap. . No more coffee but did toss a new box of tissue on the sink.
Called desk for a few items which they said would be brought to us, but never arrived.

MORE LIKE A CHEAP MOTEL THAN A HOTEL-RESORT.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MISSVICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

We were referred to this hotel by the staff of the convention that were were attending. What a mistake!!! The entire complex seems to be under renovation. We asked for the newer section and was put in a room that had not been updated since the 70's. Carpet was soiled, arms of the chairs had huge holes in the fabric, just an overall nasty feel to the room. These rooms should not be rented out in this condition. One of the worst things about the room is that the heating and air unit is on the wall at about 6.5 feet up. The only way to turn it on and off is to drag the wingback chair over to it and stand on the arms of the chair to reach the controls, i guess that is how they got torn!!! whatever you do, do nt stay at this hotel. there is a great hampton inn here in town as well as one in pigeon forge and for the same or cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank COTTONSGVLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Having stayed in Gatlinburg several times at newer hotels, I was a little disappointed with this hotel. Upon checkin in we were informed that one of the employees had changed our room from a double to a king. WHY??? My friend and I did not want to share a bed so we were put into a room with 2 double beds (the beds were the best part of the room). The room was in definite need of repair. It does look like they are doing some major renovations though. Let's hope they upgrade the rooms. The drop ceiling had water stains, and was dirty in places, the tub had hairs in it and the chrome work was water stained. When exiting the room it was very difficult to close the curtain so that all our luggage was not on display (the curtain covers the double paned glass door, and can not be closed as you are trying to close the door to leave the room). For the $100 (discounted) rate, I would have expected a much better room.

On a positive note, the linens were all clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The restaurant had a really good breakfast buffet. It looks like they are doing some major renovations, but they really need to work on updating and cleaning their rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outtanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 78 in Gatlinburg
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $86 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing