We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
A TripAdvisor Member
Trenton, OH
1
Reviewed October 23, 2005

My husband and I went down for the weekend and stayed at this hotel. It was wonderful!! The staff was wonderful and very helpful with any and all of our questions or requests!! We will definately stay here again and hopefully soon!!!! Our room was wonderful and the view was excellent!!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 912 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Middletown, Ohio
18
Reviewed October 8, 2005

This place is in bad need of renovation. After seeking the front desk's assistance on area attractions and telling them I planned to be gone for the day and most of the night, one hour later when plans changed I was still in my room. A service man knocked on my "Do Not Disturb" door and requested to enter my room and change air filter. Hummm............I find this strange. General manager Liz became unapproachable and defensive regarding the matter and allowed me to leave over a $10 rate dispute. I called the police to have the room inspected prior to leaving to avoid any accusations of damage. In the presence of the police I asked the General Manager the name of the owner of this establishment and she refused to tell me. Why?

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati
14
Reviewed August 10, 2005

This outdated place has about 5 years left and it needs to be leveled. We were told we were going to a "premier" resort through world-wide travel. We got there and this place had 50's decor and we were afraid of what "wildlife" might come out in our room at night. The internet says it has a fridge and microwave.... not a chance. We had a nice view of fungus/mold in the shower. The service was fine but the only reason I stayed in this joint was because it was free. My 7 year old cried and wanted to stay somewhere else. Even my 5 year old said the place was a dump.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milan, Tennessee
14
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Husband and I (and 2 little yorkies) stayed July 24-28. Our room was so very emaculate and clean, way above and beyond anywhere we have ever stayed before. Every single person on staff that we came in contact with was so very pleasant, kind, helpful and friendly. The location is perfect - just a few steps from the main strip in Gatlinburg, yet far enough from the street to enjoy privacy. We enjoyed the mountain view in the back, and feeding the ducks in the river from our front balcony. The grounds and pools were so very clean! I would recommend this place to EVERYONE, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Irvington, KY
17
Reviewed August 7, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at the River Terrace Resort in Gatlinburg. I will admit, after reading some of the reviews we were kind of afraid to stay there. When we got there(August 6, 2005), the staff were very friendly. We even got to check into our room 2 hours before normal check in time. Now believe me, this is no "luxury" resort. This is just your average hotel room. But everything was nice and clean. The rooms were very spacious and every room also has a balcony that overlooks the mountains. The location is excellent. It is right next to the Ripley's Aquarium and everything is in walking distance right in the heart of Gatlinburg. The bed was our only complaint because it was a very firm mattress. Overall, the place was clean and comfortable, especially for $70. to $80. bucks a night.

I here it is also pet friendly and we were afraid that there might be an odor there but there was not. This is a night place to stay (especially if you are on a budget!)

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

I too went online to read about this property and we were hesitant at first, but those people didn't stay at the same property as we did. I asked for the building with the elevator as my husband could not climb stairs. We arrived around 11:00 p.m. on a Friday night and the front desk could not have been more helpful. One of the staff members even moved his car so we could park close to our room! Upon opening our door, we had a huge room with 2 queen beds- micro, refrig and a great working a/c. It was very clean and neat. We could not have been so pleased. We did eat at the property's restaurant the next morning and they did have a problem in the kitchen that morning, but otherwise, the property was great. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go again.

4  Thank nlong24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We stayed at the River Terrace Resort for a weekend getaway in July 2005. The room rate was reasonable ($99/night for two queen beds) and the location was great!!! You're in walking distance to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean but old and dated. The resort does need to be updated and remodeled. However, overall I would recommend this place as a good choice.

4  Thank Readytoltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have updated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have to enjoy.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#37 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg South
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $73 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing