We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIND YOUR CREDIT CARD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“MIND YOUR CREDIT CARD!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed there 2 months ago.Recently a charge has been made to my credit card from there which we did not make. I have called 3 times and the phone is answered by what sounds to be girls,who claim to know nothing. I have sent 2 emails to management and gotten no reply! Get a statement when you check out and keep it forever! Better yet,there are many honest places in Gatlinburg,choose another.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkat33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are truly sorry for the issue you experienced. If you would like, please contact our Corporate Office at 800-217-5076 to speak with our Resort Stay Response Team to further discuss your situation. We hope this will not keep you from staying with us again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    195
    137
    142
See reviews for
283
322
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This property needs up grade ~ room 7676. Suggested improvements shampoo carpet, nightstand drawers fall out when you try to use, replace old tube TV, fix water flow for shower, bathtub peeling from repainting, replace mattress, paint balcony outside doors. GREAT location or we would look at other properties!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lassie280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on River Terrace Resort. We’re glad you found our location to be in a great location and close to all the area attractions. We appreciate your comments and suggestions on the unit. It lets us know where we can improve. We hope you will visit with us the next time you’re in the Gatlinburg area.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

On May 22, 2014 I made reservations at River Terrace through Westgate Resorts for a two night stay checking in on June 10 and checking out on June12th. My credit card was charged on May 22th for one night. Since my wife and I had stayed at River Terrance many times in the past we requested a king, non-smoking room on the river side. We even requested building #2, level 2 and room 2210. After driving about 8 hours we arrived at the hotel around 4PM only to find out that our requests were denied.
We were booked in building 5 which was unsatisfactory. We asked if we could see another room and to our disappointment, the room was dark and dirty looking. So, I requested my money back and left to find another hotel. The young women at the desk said my credit card account would be credited for one night that same day and the original night would show up on my card on my next statement. Never happened. It took 3 weeks and several phone calls to get this straighted out. In the past, I dealt with the hotel direct. I don’t recommend this hotel anymore but, if you want to stay there, call direct: (865) 436-5161. Oh! I called Westgate first and they told me I had to deal with the hotel. I called the hotel and they told me I had to deal with Westgate. Anyway, I would like to recommend the Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium. It’s very convenient and includes breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2015
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. Our front desk staff does their best to accommodate all of our guests reservation requests but unfortunately they are based on availability at check in. We do hope that you visit again in the future to see what improvements we have made.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a Military Reunion at the hotel. First of all, let me say this, your paying for location. Room 1106 was assigned to me when I checked in. Very, very distinct odor of cat urine filled the room. They assigned me another room, which was much nicer (1209) I was happy at that point, and the front desk clerk was very nice and apologetic. While were on the Front Desk, let me just say this..Beth should not be in any customer service role. Doesn't smile, doesn't greet you, and cuts you off when trying to explain a situation. I had more than one complaint from our reunion folks about her. All other Front Desk Staff were exceptional. Chris (Sales Manager) and Julie, did a GREAT JOB in helping us with the reunion. Always available to us and responded in a timely manner.The exterior of the hotel was beautiful. Very well maintained and landscaped very nicely. The rooms are dated, but then again, most rooms in Gatlinburg are dated. Remember, your paying for location and its not a bad deal. The only real negative that we walked away with was having to go through WESTGATE reservations to book the rooms. We prefer to deal directly with the hotel that were staying at, of course. Overall, if your planning a reunion give Chris and Julie a call, they are exceptional folks and will work with you to satisfy all your reunion needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We’re glad you chose us for your family reunion and enjoyed your time while us. It’s great to hear that our staff was friendly and able to assist you in a timely manner. We are located within walking distance of all the area attractions like shopping, dining, and entertainment. We appreciate your comments on updating the units. We value all of our guests’ comments; as this helps us know where to improve. We hope you will visit with us again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I normally do not write reviews but we were so happy that we chose to stay here. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were more than pleased with this resort.
It may be dated a little but the location and friendly service more than made up for that. The rooms were large, clean and the views were awesome. Just one street back from the main attractions, it was the perfect location. The restaurant/ bar had the nicest people working there, so friendly and helpful to give us advice on making our trip memorable.
We will definitely stay here again. We were very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus5NewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We love hearing that you had such a fantastic time while at River Terrace Resort. Our objective is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations. Nothing pleases us more than to hear when a member of our staff was friendly and able to make your stay with us a pleasurable one. It’s great to hear you found our resort to be large, clean, with awesome views, and located close to all the area attractions. We’re honored to know you’ll be returning soon. Can’t wait to see you!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay in downtown Gatlinburg. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The room rate for the area was very reasonable. We would hesitate in staying here again. We did not use the pool or eat at the restaurant. People seemed to be enjoying the same. Hotel is right next to the aquarium.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jube56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay as well as your clean unit with the comfortable bed. It’s great to hear you find us to be a good value and located close to all the area attractions. We’re honored you chose us and hope to see you again soon.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullins, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here in June for two nights. Even though the decor was old, it was very clean and the sight outside our door was fantastic! We had previously stayed at a Best Western in Kentucky for a wedding, even though it was updated with everything new, it was not as clean as the River Terrace! I go for cleanliness over new furniture anytime!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of River Terrace Resort. It’s great to hear that you found our units to be very clean with a scenic view. We’re glad you had a great time and hope you will visit again!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#43 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing