We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn & tired, but clean & spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worn & tired, but clean & spacious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The location is good because it's close to all the attractions, yet it's on River Rd so it's more quiet than on the Parkway. The entrance to the Smokies is a very short distance. We even walked to it one night for a casual stroll on that very relaxing trail along the river. You need to drive for all the other trails. We had an end room with a balcony on the river. The room had a noticeable smell when you first walked in, but it ended up not bothering me. My husband was more bothered by it & I'm usually the one that's bothered by smells. The closet really had a smell & we just kept the door shut & didn't put anything in it. The shower had one of those old style small heads, but the pressure was good. It had a curved shower rod with a good curtain, so no sticking to you. Both of us thought the bed was comfortable enough. The sliding glass door to the balcony was always so clean I thought they left it open when I first walked in. Sure, the place has seen better days, but we weren't in our room all that much & when we were we were outside on the balcony. Bottom line is I'd stay in our same room all over again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Trave-LVN-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We’re glad you found our resort to be clean, relaxing, and conveniently located to the hiking trails and other area attractions. We do apologize if you experienced any odors in your unit. Please keep in mind that we do have our Housekeeping team available if there are any issues, just let our Front Desk know. We’re glad you chose us and we hope to see you again the next time you’re in the Gatlinburg area!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    209
    192
    136
    141
See reviews for
280
316
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Good location to walk downtown friendly staff, and good value !! Rooms nice and restaurant on site and bar. Close to aquarium and a short walk to other attractions. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Balcony overlooking the Pigeon river is a must. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing the River Terrace Resort. We appreciate your comments and are glad you found us to be a great value. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do best! We invite you back and hope to see you again very soon.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We found the rooms to be spacious and clean, however they were very tired and in need of a make over. The air conditioner was so noisy were did not operate it at night, luckily the nights were cool.

The location was handy, however I would suggest you consider alternate accommodation as there is plenty around

Room Tip: Consider alternate accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your input. We’re glad to hear you find our resort to be conveniently located close to the local activities. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your unit. Please keep in mind that we want your stay to be enjoyable and our Front Desk staff is always there to assist you in any way that they can. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments as it helps us know where we can improve. We hope you will visit us again.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is well located. Check in was fast. Room was very large as was the balcony. Electrical needs to be updated. We were told that our room was on the redo schedule for next week. The view as wonderful. Had an electrical storm and were able to get pics from our balcony. Did not like having to walk up and down the hill, my knees are shot, but the exercise did me good anyway. Would for sure stay again. Had a slight medical emergency and the staff responded very fast and were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We’re glad you chose River Terrace Resort as your first vacation of the year destination! It’s great to know you enjoyed our well located resort as well as the scenic view from your unit. We’re pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you very quickly and were very helpful when a medical emergency arose. We hope to see you on your next vacation!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tompkinsville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have never written a review but I feel that anyone thinking of staying at the River Terrace needs to be warned. First of all the rooms are so dated but that isn't as much a problem as my room had furniture that had chunks missing. The air is an old wall unit that it mounted so high that your have to use a stool to adjust the temperature. The carpet was wrinkled up and the rooms are dismally dark. I paid extra for a room by the water and the peacefulness that should have came with it. The water sound was great but at 9 PM a band across the road broke the peace. Then there was the Bikers. At about the same time the band started a club of Bikers started a corn hole game.. They took over the parking area blocking any exit or entrance with about 60-70 Bikers. Screaming and drinking until 2 PM in the morning. A call to the front desk at 12 lead to a promise to send security. Well Barney never showed up. Another call at 1 PM lead to another promise but the noise and game went on until they either ran out of beer or finished the game. I wanted to leave in the middle of the night but they had the exits blocked. The next morning we packed up and had to maneuver between empty beer cans and move lawn chairs from the exit to leave. Although the manager was sympathetic it ruined our Memorial Day weekend.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rut-Dog-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you enjoyed the scenic view from your unit. We do apologize if you had any issues with your unit. Please feel free to contact our Front Desk as we do have a Maintenance Team that is available to fix any issues you may have as soon as possible. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments and will be giving this info to the resort manager as it helps us know where we can improve. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and have never been disappointed. The location is great and convenient to all of Gatlinburg. I would definitely recommend to anyone that is not trying to get a 5 star resort at a 2 star price. Our room was very clean and the desk attendants were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on River Terrace Resort. Thank you for being returning guests! It’s awesome to hear you always stay with us when you’re in the Gatlinburg area. We are in the perfect location close to area attractions such as dining, shopping, and outdoor activities. We love hearing that our Front Desk team was very friendly and made your stay even more enjoyable. We’re glad you chose us and can’t wait to see you again.

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Not a pretty place: concrete buildings, cracking tarmac and views across car parks. Rooms are very tired, and all in all it was a place that looked as if it had seen better days. We won't be going back even though it's well placed for hiking in the Smokey Mountains which are very beautiful!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here make sure the air conditioning unit doesn't come out on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your input. We’re glad to hear you find our resort to be conveniently located close to the local activities. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your unit. Please keep in mind that we want your stay to be enjoyable and our Front Desk staff is always there to assist you in any way that they can. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments as it helps us know where we can improve. We hope you will visit us again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing