We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row for a Creations convention in the Spring. The locations is right downtown, it is very easy to get in and out of, traffic wise. It's only a 2 minute walk to the Aquarium and the rooms and service were nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley200688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for always choosing us as your destination when coming to visit for your convention. We appreciate your nice words. It’s our hope to continue this level of service every time you visit.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 889 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend with my wife. We've been to Gatlinburg probably 20 times. And I must say I will definitely stay here again. Two most important things to us is cleanliness, and location. Both of those things were A++. A block from downtown Gatlinburg, we never moved our car from Fri to Mon. It has a nice little restaurant/bar. The only thing keeping me from giving it a perfect rating was the outdated decor. Which I'm not complaining about because if u have ever stayed in a hotel in downtown Gatlinburg thats exactly what u get. It did have a new extremely comfortable bed. With a balcony with a good view. Pool wasnt open yet, but looked nice.
We will most likely stay here next year. And highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ptinindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We love to receive reviews where our guests have a great time! Thank you for your awesome responses about the cleanliness and location of our property. We are beyond delighted to know about the convenience of you being able to travel to downtown Gatlinburg. Once again, thank you for your recommendations and we hope to create more adventures for you next year!

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As a frequent traveller to the Gatlinburg area and a top contributor I take reviews very seriously. It kills me to read negative reviews of places that are based on unreal expectations and no Pre trip education. If you have the ability to access the internet to write a review, I am sure you also have the ability to access the internet and see what to expect at the hotel you book and what's included and what's not. Please do this before hurting a business with a negative review that shouldn't be there. Also digging in corners and vents to take a picture of some type of dirt is ridiculous. No place is perfect and if you look in 5 star hotels you can find the same but why are you digging is the real question. Okay rant over. This hotel has an excellent location right next door to the aquarium and close to all the attractions in town. There is a short cut through baskin creek mall to access the center of the strip across from the main entrance. The grounds are clean and we'll maintained. The rooms are clean but older. Note older means older and not unclean. There are no 5 star resorts in the area so all rooms will be older and more of a motel type basic room. The staff at check in was great super friendly and helpful. Remember that people often reflect the attitude given to them. Start with a greeting and a smile and I bet you will get the same in return. We stayed in room 1108 and had a king bed with a bathroom and a jacuzzi tub. Yes the tv was older but my idea of a vacation is not watching tv. The room had a walk out porch facing the river. Plenty of free parking. This hotel is a solid 2.5 star hotel. Nothing more and nothing less. You can get some great rates here through Hotwire or Priceline as low as $49 a night. If you are looking for a great location with clean rooms then this is your place for Gatlinburg. If you are looking for 5 star accommodations at a 2 star price then you may want to skip the entire area. Safe travels!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
8  Thank mws813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your honest and nice review. We are happy to hear you had a great time, and that our friendly professional staff had an opportunity to enhance your overall stay. Our amenities are one of the many things that our property has to offer to all guests and owners. Please come back to see us soon so that we can offer you another true vacation experience.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Don't let the name resort fool you, this is really no resort, it is average accommodations at best. The shower ceiling was falling in on us as we showered, we had to avoid the plaster! The staff was pleasant, the restaurant never opened (and my son fell asleep very early one night so the room service from there would have been great, but I ate PB &J instead!), and the Wi-Fi was a joke (I gave up and used my hotspot). Location is great, didn't have to drive anywhere, and there was a van that took us to the indoor waterpark which was nice. Wasn't dirty, just needed a lot of upgrades, huge rooms with a lot of empty space,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

We are truly sorry for the issue you experienced. If you would like, please contact our Corporate Office at 800-217-5076 to speak with our Rapid Response Team to further discuss your experience. Although your stay was not 100% perfect, we hope you will stay with us again.

Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a absolutely not-value-for-money experience at a convention here - not very clean, and the most incompetent crew in reception. They could not find out their own cash register, added extra nights on creditcard instead of removing, intertnet on rooms or convention area not working proberly.

Room Tip: take another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorgen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We are truly sorry for the issue you experienced. If you would like, please contact our Corporate Office at 800-218-3623 to speak with our Rapid Response Team to discuss your experience further. Although your stay was not 100% perfect, we hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The purpose of this stay was to attend Claus Fest 2014, a convention of Santas and Mrs. Clause folks from the USA and some other countries. The Hotel offered an extremely attractive price to the convention organizers and made promises to accommodate the health concerns of many of the 350 attendees. The keeping of those promises was somewhat marginal in that the reservations were handled in corporate HQ several states away from the actual venue. The staff on hand was as friendly and helpful as the availability of rooms would allow but could only do so much. All in all the rooms were clean and comfortable with nice views. The attached restaurant was pleasant but had a very limited menu and an early closing time which proved to be inconvenient. Again the staff was quite pleasant and responsive. Very little effort and expense by the management/ownership would improve my opinion. For the price, the venue was adequate and the convention organizers did an extremely good job in their choice and efforts!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyguyRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is old, worn, and dated. But, it is clean, quiet, and comfortable. Quite possibly, it was the quietest place that we have ever stayed in. We had a top floor room with a fireplace, which is a nice touch for a hotel. Very comfortable king bed. The location is unbeatable. A very picky person could probably pick the place apart but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DHayes818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We value and appreciate your feedback. We’re glad you had a relaxing stay with us. We take full consideration in our guest’s comments as we’re always looking to provide them with an ultimate vacation. We’re diligently working on the upgrades of our units through a renovating and maintenance schedule. We thank you for your patience during this process and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $85 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing