We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO! DON'T DO IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NO! DON'T DO IT!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here in years past. Good location .. toilet didn't work properly the first night, called front desk. Plumber came .. same problem next day.. again third day. No offer of moving to another room .. no apology . Nothing! Frustrating when money is more important than CUSTOMER SATISFACTION!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GS4UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your response with us on River Terrace Resort. We are always happy when our guests and owners come back to visit us. We understand that you faced some challenges during your stay. I apologize if this was an inconvenience. Our guests and owners are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. We hope you will allow us to provide another vacation for you in the future.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    195
    137
    142
See reviews for
283
322
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wanted a place to stay where we could park and walk throughout downtown Gatlinburg. Location is perfect but the rooms are very dated. Bathroom left a lot to be desired. Sides of the tub were dirty from what we assumed was mopping. Baseboards were dirty. Towels were small and scratchy. No extra towels or pillows. River is a "creek" and our terrace was small, the patio furniture was dirty. For the price....it just wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay. It’s lovely that you found our location perfect to everything near Downtown Gatlinburg. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. Once again, thank you for your comments for this will help us to make any necessary changes at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for the night on our road trip. The staff was friendly and the hotel was nice and clean. The room had a beautiful balcony and was quite large. The location is PERFECT, just park the car and spend the day and evening walking around Gatlinburg. I totally recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We really appreciate your recommendation and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your accommodations. We hope you will stay again now that you have discovered just how convenient our location is.
Sincerely,
Lucía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for the winter festival and chili cook off. Prices are good, ask for the special deals they are better. Nice clean room, and yes the room is dated. But for the price not bad. The personal was friendly and helpful, from extra towels or blanket to coffee. One of the best reasons is location, you can open the door and you are in downtown Gatlinburg (open the door and down the hill. Ha.). You can walk and not have to worry about parking. In the room you have mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee marker, oh wife reminded me a hair dryer. To still be so close to downtown, it's quiet.
If you call of reservations, ask for the special deals. This is the second time here for us. If you like a nice price and clean rooms, give it a try.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajwinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. We are glad that you found our location convenient to Downtown Gatlinburg for the winter festival and chili cook off. It's nice that you were able to enjoy the quiet location and our clean rooms. We look forward to hosting your vacation again soon.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

First stay at this motel in Gatlinburg. We were in room 6359 in the Mt. View building. When we made reservations, we asked for a room overlooking the creek. Traveling with kids and they would've enjoyed looking at the ducks. Well we definitely didn't get a creek view. We had a nice view of Gatlinburg, but that wasn't what we asked for. Enjoyed the location of hotel, but getting back to the room was a steep hike, so unless you enjoy climbing mountains, ask for any buildings other than 6 or 7. Room was clean except for a few stray pubic hairs in the bathtub (gross). No ice maker in our building, had to walk to building next door. They really need new mattresses.
There were several positives, but I think we will stay somewhere else next time. Two main reasons why: we weren't given the room we asked for and the mattress was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Westgate River Terrace. It was our delight to have you stay us. Thank you for enjoying our great location near all to do in town. We understand you had some concerns during your stay. I have noted them and will forward to the resort management. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My family took a road trip last summer. We actually booked reservations in Tunica, New Orleans, Orlando and Gatlinburg. Knowing Westgate's reputation, we booked most of our vacation at Westgate resorts. We found this resort, River Terrace Resort and Convention Center, on Westgate's website. We assumed this was an actual Westgate resort. We later learned that Westgate purchased this resort. The convention center reminded me of an hourly motel. When we checked in, we were given keys to an already occupied room! It's a good thing the occupants were out when we invaded their privacy. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonni27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your being such a loyal guest. We love having you and your family visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. At this property, we are in the process of renovating all our units and amenities and we apologize if this created an inconvenience for you. We hope to see you again soon so that we may have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The rooms are really old, reminded me some cheap rental apartments. The heater and refrigerator are noisy, plus the bed's headboard is smashing the wall on every move. The location and view is good. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igor_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We appreciate your response on River Terrace Resort. I am truly sorry if you were unable to sleep comfortably. We hope that this did not prevent you from enjoying the rest of your vacation. It is lovely that our staff members provided such outstanding service. Please come visit us soon so that we can provide you with an even better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#43 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing