We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“older but nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
fla
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“older but nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

stayed here 4 nights had a room over looking the river with a fire place.. the bathrooms were old looking and really needed a new tub. but room was very large the couch in the room was very old and I used it for our luggage rack.. would not sit on it..

The price was great.
The restaurant well that is a different story the food was so bad had to send it all back, how can a hamburger not good!!! well because it did not taste like meat I don't know what it was.. salad had so much dressing we could not eat it and the chili was hormel..
The staff they were great.
over all great location rooms were fair.I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btaylorFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    209
    191
    135
    138
See reviews for
276
315
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

arrived on Monday afternoon about an 11/2 hours early, our room was ready and they let us check in at that time. the room was nice and roomy overlooking the river, which was nice and relaxing to sit at night and listen to the river. the only problem I had with the hotel was the wi-fi was not working for the first day and half, but the did comp me a free breakfast buffet for the problem. other then the wi-fi had no problem with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reverenddanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms and the view of the river. We always look forward to providing the ultimate customer service experience. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

So, I read some reviews about this place before we booked and a lot of people complained about it being really out of date...and I decided if that's the worst thing people have to say then what the hell, let's book it.

The building is not modern, I'll give them that. But it's quiet, the room was huge, the staff were friendly. The jacuzzi tub didn't work (rather the jets didn't work) but it was nice for a hot soak after hiking anyway. We booked through expedia and got a really good rate. Out of curiosity on our second day there I looked at their website to see what they charge for this room and it was a lot more. Had we paid full price for the room I would have been disappointed, but the value for our price was worth it.

A big plus for us was that this hotel was off that main busy strip in Gatlinburg. We came to the mountains to hike and enjoy nature, and all the commercial nonsense just really wasn't appealing to us so we really enjoyed that the hotel was in a quiet location and just a short drive to the entrance of the park. We were still able to walk anywhere in the town we wanted to go for dinner or anything but it was far enough away from all the people and the tourist gimmicks that it was actually enjoyable.

I will say that there is construction going on across the street, and while they were not working on it all the time we were there, on our last day they started very early in the morning and woke us up with the noise. If that had been happening the whole trip I probably would have asked to switch rooms to one of the buildings farther up the hill.

We did the breakfast buffet there one morning, not really worth it. The food was acceptable, but nothing amazing, service was good though.
We went to the pool one afternoon and it was fine. I swam a few laps and we lounged and read in the sunshine. The pool was clean, they have umbrellas for shade, it was fine.
We did not have any housekeeping while we were there so I cannot attest to that aspect. My fiancee and I really prefer that no one is in our room during our stay so we just kept a sign (that I made since there was not a "privacy" sign in the room from the hotel) on the door and we were pleased that the housekeeping stayed out. We did run out of towels at the end of the trip but we just called down to the front desk and someone brought more up.
Would we stay there again? probably not, our stay was fine but we walked by some other really nice looking hotels along that same back road and if we went again we would either try one of those or rent a cabin.
TLDR version: yes the hotel is older, but if you book through expedia or a similar site you will get a better deal and it will be worth the price since it is quiet and off the main drag in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lah343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our resort amenities. We want to provide our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We are always looking for areas to improve upon; so that all our owners and guests feel the comforts of a “home away from home”. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First off, I felt like I was in one of these movies, like "Vacancy" or something. The first room we were given I just couldn't stay in. So they sent me to a new room. It wasn't much better, but at least it was an improvement. Weird stuff happened like we found our do not disturb sign hanging up when we left it inside at 10:00 pm. There was no room service that late at night. I just felt as if there was a creeper watching or something. I will NEVER stay here again. Terrible. I actually left early and forfeited a night of vacation because I felt unsafe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sk8ter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We deeply apologize for the issues your encountered. We will take note of them and pass them onto management. We would love to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although the resort is old and in dire need of an update, it was perfect for what we needed. You don’t go to Gatlinburg to stay in the hotel anyways. The check in was fast and the front desk personnel were extremely friendly. The bartenders at Drafts were super nice and you can’t beat their happy hour prices. No issues in the room other than the décor, 70s wood panel walls, cheap furniture and an ancient TV.

As far as convenience of location goes, the resort was perfect. Stay in Pigeon Forge if you want a more updated resort but you will regret the drive to Gatlinburg to enjoy everything the town offers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parishve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort. We hope you had a wonderful vacation with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is located on a more quiet street off of the main street. The rooms are large but old and need refurbishment. Staff at check in was friendly. It's a 5 minute walk to restaurants. I must say that we totally disliked Gatlinburg, way too touristy so would never go there again!! The positive about the River Terrace was that it was cheap and had free Wifi included. We would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing