We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Gatlinburg, and we were lucky to find a winner in this place! You are right next to Ripley's Aquarium, and practically on the strip! The rooms are a little outdated, but the location, & value makes up for that. We will be coming back, and plan on making this our home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Refjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your recent stay here at The River Terrace Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We aspire to ensure that all of our guests received an exceptional experience. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    196
    138
    146
See reviews for
289
322
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is an older hotel. Our first room smelled like mold, paint coming of the wall. When we complained, the clerk said she could send someone up to spray the room. We requested another room, they gave us a handicap room. The toilet overflowed. We were to stay 2 nights, but we checked out after one. The clerk did not ask about our stay; she just credited our credit card.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryupset3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at River Terrace Resort. We take all our guest's comments into consideration as we are always looking for areas to improve. Yes, our hotel is quite dated but, we are constantly upgrading. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive the service that you deserve. We hope you will give us another opportunity to change your perception of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a hotel so don't let the resort wording fool you. They might rank it a three star on some sites just for location but outside of that, that is it. We went during off season with limited number of guests in the entire place and they still put us farthest back building-mountain view which was more like trash dumpster view. The last night we were the only people in the back of the RESORT. The ice machine for our building was broke. The room was dated, I mean really dated. The staff were friendly, but we had limited interaction. If the rates are cheap enough, it would be worth due to location but don't book this place if rates are high. I would not pay more than $60.00 a night for this place even during peak season. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are very sorry that the location of the room did not meet with your approval,nor did the condition of the room. Yes, our hotel is quite dated but, we are constantly upgrading. Hopefully you'll enjoy a few changes on your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The lobby and reception area is new and updated. Then you check into your room that is showing its age. It was clean, that was really all that it had going for it. Plaster was chipping, cabinets that the doors didn't close well, towel bars that were barely attached to the walls. My favorite thing was that neither of the doors were sealed and if you weren't careful leaving the door would not catch and would slip open. This was not a resort but a motel. So that was the bad. The good...it was located downtown, quiet, and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekadawn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay! We are sorry for the challenges that you faced while staying with us and hope you will give us an opportunity to better you opinion of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We go to Gatlinburg every year and we always stay here. The location is perfect, within walking distance of just about everything. We once had a problem with the fridge in the room and maintenance was there within 5 minutes to fix it. It is an older hotel, but things always have seemed very clean. We love the view from the balcony down over the river and the whole village.

Here are some tips:

Ask for the Duck Watch building. I see in some other reviews that folks complained about parking, and that is an issue. Normally when we have stayed in the Duck Watch building, we have been given passes to park in the more open parking, not in the funky little garage that they have.

Ask for a non-adjoining room. The adjoining rooms give up an extra vanity/sink to make room for the adjoining door.

Leave plenty of time for just sitting on the balcony and soaking up the mountains!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay! We always like to hear from our repeat customers. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to Gatlinburg for a random weekend with my boyfriend and another couple. We are all in our late twenties and just wanted to have fun and enjoy the scenery. River Terrace is in a perfect location right off of the main strip, although it's literally so close you wouldn't even realize you were off of the main drag if you hadn't been to Gatlinburg before. We walked everywhere with zero problems and it was snowing fairly hard both days we were there. Rooms are average and dated, but it's safe and clean. I'll be the first to admit that I can be a hotel snob from time to time...but it's Gatlinburg! The kitschy feel is what it's all about. Don't over think it! We had a ball.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay! We are very happy that you had a great time with us and hope you will be able to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at River Terrace for almost a week. For Gatlinburg it was fine for us. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly. The location was good. The pool was small, and turned green on the last couple days of our stay. But for the price it was good enough. Almost all the hotels in Gatlinburg are older, and dated. And a lot of other places have roaches, so you have to be careful when booking a room in Gatlinburg. We go to The Smokies at least 3 or 4 times a year, sometimes more. No roaches was a plus for us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apasara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on River Terrace Resort. It’s lovely that you were able to spend your vacation time with us in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. We certainly hope you had a great time. There are plenty of local attractions to explore such as Downtown Gatlinburg, Dollywood and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We would love to have another opportunity to provide you with a cozy and comfortable stay.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing