We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Ripley, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very pleased with our stay. Rooms are a little dated, but colors of decor are nice. People should remember that Gatlinburg is an old town, and most of the hotels were built several years ago. The Rooms are very spacious, very clean, and beds were comfortable. No spiders, bugs, etc. Carpets and linens were clean.
We had a nice view of the mountains. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Couldn't beat the price...booked through Expedia using AARP membership. It's in the hub of Gatlinburg, so the parkway is close. The restaurant is nice as well.
It's hilly, but the name should alert everyone....the buildings are terraced. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Building 6 gives the best view of the mountain range. The River terrace is close to the street, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review! We look forward to having you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    195
    137
    142
See reviews for
283
322
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very Comfortable stay. It's an Older Motel but a good value. It is located near Stoplight 5 on River Road. These rooms are in walking distance of Gatlinburg's main Parkway and shopping areas.

Parking in Gatlinburg can be as much as $2.00+ per hour and the fact that you can leave your car at the motel and walk is very convenient. Trolly service is also available. The rooms are not fancy, but the location more than makes up for that. It is convenient to the Ripley's Aquarium and food from "The Pancake Pantry", "Shoney's", and Gatlinburg's newest addition; a new English Pub "The Sherlock Holmes Pub" on River Road with live music on the weekends, all of these I can recommend.

I had a large room in Building 5 Hillcrest with a clean and comfortable king size bed and plenty of room to move around. Nice views. The furniture in the room consisted of a king bed, 2 side tables, mini-fridge, small table and two chairs, a sleeper sofa, and a standard TV in a TV cabinet and in-room coffee. I dislike the steep incline in parking lots to most of the rooms which makes walking difficult for an elderly guest and it could be tricky getting in and out with snow or ice. There are drink and snack machines close by your room. There is no Continental breakfast and I would be hesitant to recommend the resturant connected to the motel. However "The Pancake Pantry" on Parkway serves a wonderful breakfast. Start early to breakfast as there is usually a line in the summer but it moves swiftly.

Location is excellent, right off parkway and the new English pub across River Road which has live music on weekends is a plus. Ripley's Aquarium is next door. A connecting pathway to the aquarium is located between the "River Walk" building and the pool for easy access to the Aquarium. There is also a small picnic area on the property. There is a passageway to Parkway (the main street) right across the street from the hotel bridge.

This property is now owned by Westgate Properties, the timeshare sellers. When you call directly for reservations, you'll get Westgate. The reservation clerks will offer you the world but simply do not expect what they tell you to be actual fact.

The Little Pigeon River runs in front of the motel and access to the stream is provided at points. Building 2 "Duckwatch" would be the preferred location if
you are lucky however the rooms are a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNMmmGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review! We try to make everything as comfortable as possible for our guests. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked online after viewing the website and thinking it was rather nice for the price. What I saw and booked online was nothing like what I walked into upon arrival. The hotel is old and really needs an update, that was not the problem. The bedspreads were not very clean looking, dead bugs were in the overhead light in the bath, the tub was stained which gave the appearance of being dirty, and I noticed one of the pillows on the bed had a blood stain (about the size of 2 golf balls) that had tried to be cleaned but was still there. ( Thank goodness I carry my own pillow) The location is great and the staff was neither friendly or rude....just there. Live and learn, but take my advice and maybe try one of the other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devildogmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed by the difficulties that you faced while here. I offer our sincerest apologies and hope you will give us a chance to better your view of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This past week we were in Gatlinburg for a conference and was completely shocked with the hotel conditions. The overwhelming stench of the rooms were incredible. The beat way for me to describe the stench was the smell of old cat litter box. The shower head was clogged with mineral deposits from the water which made it almost impossible to take a shower. The food was not only horrible and also a health hazard. We had a banquet that served Fried Chicken that was freezing cold in the middle of the chicken. They ran out of food and ice tea. This was hard to comprehend knowing the received a list of reservations for dinner. The conference room conditions were appalling! The stage looked like it was gonna collapse. The plants they used for decorations were dusty and looke like they had been run over by a semi truck. The sound system had so many problems. The microphones were not reliable even when new batteries were applied. I recommend this hotel for those who have very little money saved and don't mind getting bit by bedbugs! We had two confirmed cases of conference attendees that left the conference from overwhelming bed bug bits to the body. I am heading home to research methods of decontaminating my luggage and clothing. To the River Terrace hotel Owner, I believe the Health Department will be paying you a visit! Good luck with trying to keep your hotel afloat!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4686amym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we were troubled to hear of the challenges you faced during your stay. Your feedback has been shared with our management staff and we will be investigating how to ensure these challenges do not occur again. We hope you allow us to alter your perception of our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I travel a great deal and my wife & I take numerous vacations. I have stayed in hotels all over the world. The River Terrace is unquestionably one of the roughest places ever! I attended a conference at the River Terrace Conference Center and as a speaker, the room was provided for me. I walked into the room ... walked around ... and immediately walked out!!! The beds were horrid (a blue light on the bed covers would have revealed some awful things). The place looked like it had not been touched since 1960. When I was in high school, I stayed there in 1977. It was no prize then ... it is a Real "Dive" now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We rely on our guests' feedback to constantly improve. We were troubled to hear that we did not live up to your expectations as well as the challenge with Housekeeping. We hope that you will allow us to host you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Been to Gatlinburg dozens of times - first time staying in town.
Likes: Great value on the economy king room. Within walking distance of everything in Gatlinburg. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Being located a block down from the main strip made for a quiet, peaceful location. Being right next door to Ripley's Aquarium made for a super convenient location = no parking lot fee!
Dislike: steep incline in parking lot to the econ rooms walking and driving - looks like it could be tricky with snow/ice

We will most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majorb98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us! We strive to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last year and had a very nice room (2118) in the Duck Watch area -overlooking the Little Pigeon River. Planning a trip around Labor Day to meet our brother and sister-in-law, we called directly to River Terrace Resort. We were told that Westgate now owns the property and we would need to call them because they can no longer make their own reversations. Calling Westgate, we explained that we would be bringing my 88 year old mother-in-law and another sister-in-law and would need two rooms. We asks if rooms 2118 and 2119 were available? The customer service rep put us on hold and came back and said the rooms were available. She got all of our cr card info and said she would send a confirmation. This was a month prior to our arrival date.
When we were checking in, we were told our rooms would be on the 5th and 7th floors. Now this was an impossibility because my 88 year old mother-in-law would be in a wheel chair (that's why we requested the Duck Watch in the first place). There were stairs just to get to the elevator to view the 5th and 7th floors, so there was no way my mother-in-law could walk up the stairs. The 5th and 7th floors were not anything like the Duck Watch rooms. Hot in the hallway, not very clean, etc. We went back down to tell them how displeased we were. They were quick to tell us that Westgate did not have the authority to assign rooms - well tell that to the Westgate Rep that told us the requested rooms were available in the first place. There were five (5) clerks behind the desk at River Terrace and they were all very unconcerned about our PROBLEM. Not one of them offered an apology. To top it off, we were told that we would need to call Westgate for a refund on our credit card. Now we were left on Labor Day with bumper to bumper traffic to look for somewhere to stay. We went back to Pigeon Forge and talked to a very caring lady (unlike River Terrace employee's) who found us a much nicer room and the same rate in Pigeon Forge. This is the first complaint letter I have ever written, but we were not treated fairly. Guess this is the way of the world now - what ashame!!!!

Room Tip: Duck Watch is the only one I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmoonglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry that we were unable to fulfill your room location request. Normally we have the availability to grant most room location requests, however, there are times when we are extremely busy that we just do not have the availability. Because we are unable to grant each and every request when someone makes a reservation, and because we do not want to promise anything that we may not be able to deliver, we do indicate at the time you make a reservation that a request will be made with every attempt to fulfill that request. We apologize for this not being the case for your stay, and would love a second chance at making things better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#43 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Property: River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing