We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic time at the Park Vista.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just got back from spending a week at the Park Vista Hotel. We had a wonderful time there. Fantastic views of the Smokies and Gatlinburg. You are right in the mountains yet only a half mile to town. We booked 2 family suites for our party of 11. Each suite has 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. There is a King in one room and two bunk beds in the other. The kids loved their room. It was like being at camp. Each room had a large Flat Screen TV. The Hotel was in great shape - almost everything was new. New carpet and furniture. There were a few minor things still being remodeled but all the main items are done. The pool is fantastic. The kids spent every evening there and did not want to leave. Even after spending all day at DollyWood's Splash Country. The staff is very friendly and the cleaning crew is constantly working. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning. The only drawback is waiting for the Trolley. It is supposed to come every 20 minutes or so but we often waited 40 or more. You can drive the half mile to the center of Gatlinburg but parking downtown can be difficult. Also, parking at the Hotel can be tough if you get in late - so once you had a spot we did not want to leave. Walking there is even tougher because the Hotel driveway is VERY steep. We did it one day as a hike :).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocawork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,154 - 3,160 of 3,411 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just returned from weekend getaway with the family! Check in was easy, children liked the cookies. Luggage carts were available, no valet or service attendant at the front door. We booked a king suite with the getaway package (inclusive of breakfast) and requested upper floor with a city view and we received just that. 10th floor room with two balconies and great views of downtown gatlinburg and the mountains. Room was very attractive with comfortable furniture. Large flat screen tv's in each room. Children didn't even mind the sofabed, very comfy. Restaurant was nice, service was a little slow during breakfast. Pool area was great for the children, being indoors was not a favorite of my wife and myself, however I did go down the slide a couple of times! Outdoor area was well manicured with a play area for the children and very comfy outdoor seating to sit and relax and take in the views. Lobby has computers with printers for use at any time, we did not purchase the wifi, our Iphones worked just fine anywhere in the hotel. We loved the open architecture with the glass elevators. Lounge was open daily and into the evening with more outdoor seating. Very nice gym with new equipment, fresh towels and cold water. Our only legitimate complaint was the parking on the weekend nights, the hotel does host receptions which made for limited parking spaces if you take your car out at night (take the trolley or walk if you are in shape). You will see a few construction workers about the property, they are close to finishing, most of the inside was complete. Painting on the exterior was beginning during our stay but not any bother to us. We have have not reason not to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negril1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Upon arrival we were met with a parking lot that was filled beyond capacity and could not finda place to park. Construction crews were still working on the building even though their website clearly stated the construction was to be over by June, 2010.

There were no luggage carts and no bell-hops available. The lobby area was not complete and the furniture, as the attendant stated, was ordered but had not come in. When we checked in we were told that no rooms were availble even though we booked via the internet. Once we told her we had booked via the internet and had confirmation in hand she quickly gave us a room.

The pool area was large but trying to find it was an excursion in and of itself. There is one door leading into it from off the main lobby. The area is nice if you have children but the pool is only 4 feet deep. The arcade was closed to renovations.

The newer rooms are great and the view is not bad. The walls of the hallways AND ceilings were cheaply renovated and sprayed with popcorn texture and then painted over.

The Vista dining area was nice but breakfast was very busy and the hotel seemed to need more help dealing with the crowd. It would make business sence to have adequate help when your hotel is allegedly filled to capacity. For a city like Gatlinburg that sees 5 million people yearly I would think there would be. Again, construction hampered going onto the balcony to have breakfast or dinner.

The cleanliness of the facility was ok and we noticed crews cleaning at night. The location of the building is good as it is down the street from the main strip and Trolley service runs every 20 minutes or so depending on traffic. The quality of the rooms was good with the newer furniture. The price of our three night stay was close to $700 for a King room. We felt this to be high as we could have stayed in a new cabin for less the amount with fewer people and a hot tub and game room.

Bottom line: The hotel was 90% renovated; It was obvious they exceeded their June 2010 construction completion date; The prices were way too high; The desk staff was unfriendly and a bit rude; The hotel needed more help in the dining area; The hotel needed more bell-hops and carts; The hotel needed more parking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcso075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Renovated 2010 with nice size, beautiful rooms, granite tops, quality furnishings, great beds, kind of Craftsman meets Moderne style, really perfect for Gatlinburg. This hotel
sits up a short steep drive with views overlooking Old Town Gatlinburg and the Smokies, and the shuttle makes it convenient so you don't have to look for parking in town. It is about 12 stories around an interior atrium with glass elevators, a more urban style than I expected in Gatlinburg. The indoor pool complex has a big water slide in the
deep pool and and toddler water slide in the not-so-deep pool, also a whirlpool. The food is pretty good, too. Right now, the prices are around $100 per night, a good value.
The hotel drive is right next to the Scenic one way loop and GPS tells you to take it; don't fall for that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabascothomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Hard to separate the improvement from what is was two years ago from the quality that is offered today. Although the renovation continues our room was excellent. The views as always magnificent. The lobby area and restaurant totally redone. Very enjoyable!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwestend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was supposed to stay in the fairfield inn north, which also looks nice, but got a great rate here, and I heard they were completely remodeled in the rooms. The room is very nice. the mountain view was beautiful, and we saw a deer eating across from the parking lot, from our room about 6 pm. The rooms are a little small, and the halls still need some updating in my opinion. I like that it is off the main strip. Room is very tastefully done. I would stay here again, and I'm very picky about hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mittmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

First review I've ever written, but our experience was SOOOOO BAAAADDDD that I felt inclined to write this to help others avoid the same problems.
We stayed here over the recent holiday weekend and of course it was sold out, but what we more surprised to see was the amount of construction still going on around the hotel (inside and out). The property is being marketed as a DoubleTree but it certainly is not your typically DoubleTree. They are working on it but it is not there yet.
The pool is nice, but we are pretty sure our oldest son got sick after swiming in it. The water was so warm that ANY bacteria or anything (even with the clearly high clorine) would not be totally killed.
The views are the only high point of this hotel! The room air conditioner is so bad and so loud that it is hard to sleep through it, but the hotel is so old that for some reason, even when it is 70 degrees outside, the rooms feel like they are 85 and never cool down, so you end up having to run the a/c ALL night.
The service at the restaurant was good for breakfast, but both of the dinners we ate there were sub-par. First night there, the buffet chef was downright rude and the last night (our third night) we ordered an appetizer that came out with MOLD! All they did was say sorry, and took it away and took it off our meal. Well needless to say, by that point we ALL were feeling sick thinking about what else might be lurking in our meals!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank az_rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $91 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing