We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Park Vista!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay! We love the warm cookies upon check in. This is not the Hilton...definitely not, BUT for Gatlinburg it's the perfect place to stay! This is an older hotel that has been completely remodeled. It's not exactly fancy but its nice. Every room seems to have a beautiful view and their own balcony. Its located just above the town, over looking the entire town of Gatlinburg. The room was very nice and modern. Flat screen TV, couch, plenty of chairs, desk, very comfortable bed! We had a mini fridge in our room which was so nice. The bathrooms are small. We did not eat in the restaurant. My only complaint is that the restaurant stops serving at 10 & and room service stops at 11pm. There is no late night food to be found here....not even food vending machines. Its hard to find late night food in Gatlinburg---but if you go into the town the Atrium is open until 1 or 2am. There are coke machines on every floor. The pool was huge & crowded--fabulous for kids! Everything appeared to be very clean in the pool area. It has a nice big lobby which makes a wonderful gathering place with plenty of tables and comfy places to sit. The fitness center was great. Updated equipment & large. Machines have their own TV attached so bring your headphones.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glittermomma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,426 - 2,432 of 3,352 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel if you want a room with a view.

Location
On a map it looks close to downtown Gatlinburg, but it's down a long road and then up a hill. Definitely too far to walk. However, it's only a short drive and there is a trolley if you want to wait.

Parking
There is no valet that I could see. There is a surface parking lot. It appears to fill up fast so plan accordingly.

Entrance
The front entrance was renovated two years. It was very well done in mountain lodge style. There's a patio nearby that has a fireplace. You can sit there and watch the mountain view. The lobby is all new and well appointed. It's more like a Hilton than a Doubletree. There are lots of spaces to just rest and relax.

Check In
I waited for several minutes while the clerk chatted with a guest. There was no line thankfully. Over three days I interacted with several front desk clerks. All of them smiled, but they were either rude or clueless. When I checked in I asked if they had a concierge level. The response was, "yes, we have a concierge right there." When I asked about HHonors amenities it seemed they had not been trained in the Hilton system.

Conference
The weekend I was there I expected it to be slow. Instead the hotel was full with a conference of teenagers doing Bible studies. This created lots of problems which I will detail later. When I asked about upgrades they said "no, we gave them to the chaperones for the conference." I suggest that the hotel put up warnings because of the problems created by conferences like this.

Elevators
There are four. With the conference there were sometimes very long lines where you might have to wait for 2-4 elevator cars to go by. In these circumstances the hotel really should bring out someone to help with the queues. It was a stressful and awful experience.

Room
Fantastic. It's Hilton quality with big screen TV, etc. This is an old hotel, but the rehab is one of the best I've seen. The views are amazing. I had the mountain view. Can't imagine that the city view could be any better. This has to be one of the best views in the region.

Housekeeping
My room had mold on the shower curtain.

Amenities
There's a pool and slide downstairs. Looked dated so I didn't use it.

Restaurant
The restaurant is on the lobby level. It's well appointed and has a full view of the mountains. Problem is the service. People didn't care, they were rude and they weren't helpful. With the conference in town they changed the breakfast buffet to make it limited and tasteless. So my HHonors vouchers ended up in the garbage after the first day because the experience was so bad. I choose Hilton for the service and the perks, so this was incredibly disappointing.


On another weekend this might be an outstanding hotel. They did a terrific job renovating and it's the view is one of the best I've ever had. Problem is service. They need Hilton Family training from top to bottom. They need to know how to deliver quality service and they need to know the basic expectations of Gold and Diamond HHonors members.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel, we truly appreciate it. I am so sorry you had a problem with a member of our staff. We are working very hard to ensure all of our staff are properly trained on the Hilton standards. Once again I'm sorry you experienced these issues and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything was absolutely amazing! Front desk staff was very kind, shuttle service is super convenient, the pool is really nice! The restaurant has really great prices but the wait line is always so long. They only use half of the tables, 1 or 2 people at the breakfast buffet and a wait line of 13 parties? They need to get it together, hire more people. Oh and faster cooks. Last night the entire restaurant waited more than an hour for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taryn B, Manager at Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your response, we appreciate the feedback, I'm so sorry you had a problem with the restaurant. I hope this will not deter you from coming to see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the end of February, 2013. Clean rooms and quiet as the hotel was not busy this time of the year. Nice location up on a hill side. Note that you would probably need to take your car to go down to the main street for shopping and dining out. Many other hotels are down below, just off the street. There are plenty of lounge chairs and couches around the lobby and bar for socializing, as well as multiple computers for use. This is a circular building, so rooms have a balcony. We liked this feature, for we were there for the cold weather and some snow. Nice indoor pool with a slide and separate Jacuzzi. Gatlinburg is a great location in the Smoky Mountains, especially if you have children. We were there for hiking, with nice accommodations close to the national park. No roughing it here at Park Vista, enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris N Lorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a short weekend away in Gatlinburg. The hotel was very nice and a great location in Gatlinburg. The room was clean and comfortable and the view of the town was very nice. An A+ stay at the Park Vista!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanStationTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Overall, very good hotel .A few things could have been better. Had spacious room but we pd. for that -$220. nightly.Had 2 boys with me, had no privacy when getting cleaned up. The toilet/shower actual area was tiny. Had to stand in vanity area to dress & make-up. Also,we called from room for coffee for the next AM- twice- it was never brought even though a telephone recording advised us to call since we declined room service. We still love this hotel. Have stayed here 3 times. Internet/WiFi should be free in rooms for the price.

Room Tip: We won't chose this particular room again. King bed suite, sleeper sofa for kids. Bathroom was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girls weekend trip. The room was perfectly appointed. So girly, but we loved the hair dryer! Beds were very comfortable, right next to the Smoky Mountain Park, and just a block from downtown gatlinburg, though the hotel is up on a hill with a very winding and long driveway so you probably won't want to walk to the downtown area. The pool is very family friendly with water slides (all indoor) The hot tub is not large for the size of the pool area, but we never had a problem getting in. The breakfast was a little below standard compared to other Hilton properties. If you don't have the vouchers, I would go somewhere else. But overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandic1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $129 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing