We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We live in Knoxville, so a 24-hr getaway to G-burg is easy because of proximity. The challenge is to find lodging that isn't touristy and loud. The Park Vista has beautiful views and great amenities. It's on the trolley line, so no expensive parking lots to worry about. Great pool, great outdoor spaces...and great rates through Hotwire.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    969
    442
    255
    165
See reviews for
1,499
940
55
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

So we're a crazy family - slept 2 adults and 4 kids under 9 in one standard room in 2 queen beds (thus the poor sleep quality below!). The room was nice and clean, with great views. The shuttle stop was a plus, but the great thing is the pool with 2 water slides. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazanYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel dominates the skyline above Gatlinburg and has great views both night and day from most any room. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed, and very up to date with wifi available. The challenge is that you have to drive down from the hotel and then find parking in downtown Gatlinburg, which is not easy,,,,,,or take the trolley for fifty cents down to one of the stops........and then return via trolley. We waited at a trolley stop and were told every 20 minutes...which turned into an hour wait. And we heard the same from other guests. Not very reliable but NO FAULT of the hotel. Check in and check out were very efficient.
Hotel is also reasonably priced with great cookies!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfloyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We returned to this hotel while passing through the area because my son loves the pool. The rooms are handsomely appointed, and room service is reasonable. This hotel has its good points but it also has its quirks.
QUIRKS: Both visits (July, 2011 and Nov, 2010), the hotel was swarming with groups like one finds at "convention hotels" which resulted in long, long, long, long waits at the elevators, long, long, long, long waits for luggage trolleys, a long wait to get in the restaurant for breakfast. Hotel seems short staffed: our waiter at breakfast apologized profusely because they only had two servers; crowded bar unattended while bartender went to get food orders from kitchen; waited 5 minutes for room service to pick up then was put on hold another 5 minutes. Pool is themed really well, but crowded. First visit (two nights last November) we returned to a room that was only partially serviced -- like someone got interrupted and didn't come back. Brief power outage. Lower slide was closed. "mature/violent" themed games in arcade. Bugs. Restaurant hostess leaning on counter talking on cell phone (personal call) while guests waited to be seated. Second visit, front desk staff took a loooong time checking guests in. Had to go back down because we did not receive HHonors breakfast certificates or parking pass. Not welcomed as HHonors or returning guest, which is out of step with Doubletree standards. A few bugs, which may just be a "mountain thing," mold in the shower. One silverware rollup and no napkins with room service even though they brought plates and glasses for all. Another knock on door 5 minutes later ("ketchup!" which we did not order / need with pizza) Checkout time is 11 am, which is on the early side. Requested later checkout and was told to call back in the am. Called in the a.m. and was granted 11:30, which we barely met after breakfast and waiting 15 minutes for a luggage trolley before I trolled the parking lot to grab one from another guest who had just loaded his car. Slow elevators.
POSITIVES: Great pool. Attractive lobby area with arts and crafts decor. Pretty "jewel" elevators (pair of regular elevators are faster and less crowded, though). Beautiful birds. Rooms are handsomely decorated with luxurious touches. Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room is much better than coffee in the restaurant : ) Nice new Crabtree & Evelyn Citron bath products replace Neutrogena. Soft, giant bath towels. Comfy "Sweet Dreams" beds. Room is shaped like a wedge, so bathroom shower and stool area is cramped, but closet layout allows some privacy at vanity, and there is lots of room to spread out near the window wall: in the comfy easy chair, at the desk and on the floor. We were able to place a large pizza on the luggage rack at the foot of the bed, and my sons built two large Lego sets on the floor! Mountains and are beautiful to wake up to and take in from window or balcony.
All in all, Park Vista provides a lot to ooh and ahh about, but it could use improvement in the staff department as it appears to cater more to large convention-type groups than it does to the regular leisure traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb63040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

From the booking process to checkout, this hotel & staff were great.
We stayed here for 5 nights on a family vacation with my wife & 2 girls, and we all loved it and will stay here again on our next trip to Gatlinburg.

The amenities were great, and the girls absolutely loved the indoor pool with the fun slide (ok, Mom & Dad loved it too).

The mountaintop setting gave amazing views down on Gatlinburg and across the Smokies, the outdoor areas were very relaxing, and we even saw a bear from our balcony on our first morning.

The Gatlinburg trolley comes right to the hotel if you don't want to drive to "the strip" (it's too far to walk, and the road/driveway up to the hotel is very steep).

There are several computers to use in the lobby area, and the housekeeping staff did a great job; the kids are sure to like all the birds just off the lobby too.

We had no complaints, and I will highly recommend to anyone traveling to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband, 4 year old daughter and myself chose the Park Vista Hotel after a 4 night camping trip in the Smoky Mountains National Park. Now, Im sure any hotel with hot water and AC would have been good for us but the Park Vista was AMAZING!!! The front desk staff was very accomadating to our requests and allowed us to check in 2.5 hours earlier then their usual check in time of 4pm. While waiting for our room to be ready we had lunch at their main restaurant. I must say this was our only disappointment. The restaurant ( a 1pm) was understaffed and the service wasnt very good. The menu for lunch was also very small. The only good thing that came out of our dining experience was that our room was ready for us when we finished. After finishing at the front desk, I must admit, the famous chocolate chip cookies that were given to us won us right back from the bad dining experience. They are delicious!! As we made the elevator trip to our room, which was on the 15th floor, we were blown away by the incredible mountain views. Well worth the $179 to have the mountain view with balcony! The AC was nice and cold, the bathroom and linens were very clean, tons of pillows, and a nice little refrigerator too. The TV had a wide variety of kid friendly channels and the shower was hot and had great water pressure. The trolley service to downtown Gatlinburg was also a huge bonus and only costs 50 cents a person. Overall an excellent hotel with a great pool with waterslides too! Just stay away from the restaurant and eat in Gatlinburg at No Way Jose's!

Room Tip: Request a Mountain View room ( Floors 12-15)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel has a gorgeous view of the mountains surrounding Gatlinburg. It is a beautiful place to stay. There is a glass elevator in the center, and it has a very nice indoor pool. We ate at the Park Vista Grill inside the hotel; it was casual with sandwiches and salads. I had a blackened salmon sandwich which was absolutely delicious, and my husband said his hamburger was the best he had ever eaten. It was slightly overpriced, but worth not having to go out and eat when we were tired. Our room was very clean and spacious. We were on the 5th floor and had a nice view out of the windows that took up one whole wall. It was quiet, and we had a peaceful evening. There is an outdoor playground with nice landscaping near the parking area. We also saw a couple of fire pits, but didn't use them. I hope to come back and stay again. The room rate was very reasonable for the area.

Room Tip: We booked online the day before we stayed and got a good rate--$109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesienoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Property: Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing