We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
SLIDELL, LOUISIANA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old School accomodations”
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at the Park Vista Mon. through Fri. nights.
My wife had warned me the reviews were "so-so" and some of the complaints were serious. But I was expecting (From the hotel's claims) an up-to-date renovated hotel, a great view, and a friendly staff, and I was willing to put up with an inconvenience or two in trade. Ok, the room was clean enough; the staff was polite.

BUT here is my "so-so" list: 1.no microwave. 2. no fridge. 3. one small table with a big TV sitting on it. 4. one chair in the room. 5. horizontal (noisy)AC/heat unit from the 70's. 6.no operable bathroom vent. 7. poor lighting especially in bathroom. 8. no bedroom light switches, just lamps on individual plugs. 9. local calls charged to room 10. expensive internet $10/day 11. the view is good, if-standing-only...take another look at the pictures they provide. 12. to enter the elevator you walk through the outer-edge of a bar,...a sober(ing) experience. 13. no free-coffee in lobby

I believe it was an old Sheraton Hotel when it was new but it got a little obsolete, it didn't move me to take even one picture...Throw in a free high-speed internet and I might give it a 2.5 but a 2 is pretty fair for this $700+ stay.

  • Liked — NOT SURE
  • Disliked — internet costs 10 dollars per day extra
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank duhbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    935
    420
    245
    154
See reviews for
1,424
902
55
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

This is a very run-down hotel and the employees in general were not friendly. Stayed here for one weekend for a wedding, there were actually several weddings held here over the weekend I stayed. We only had a limited amount of time for the rehearsal dinner and the actual reception before we were kicked out for the next group. The view is very nice if you are lucky enough to get a room facing Gatlinburg, otherwise you will be looking at the parking lot. The hotel is major need of updating, looks like nothing has been done to it in years. Needs a paint job and new carpet. Our shower was very difficult to adjust, it was either scalding hot or too cold. The iron leaked water all over the place and the TV had a bad picture. The food is just terrible and very overpriced. The breakfast buffet is $9.00 and they charge you $2.00 extra for coffee! The food was not hot and definitely not worth the price. If you must eat here get room service where you at least have the choice of ordering things a la carte and can pay less. They don't handle their own reservations so getting service at the front desk was difficult. Some of the staff were just rude to us.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

The hotel has wonderful views from every room, as each room is facing the out of doors (it is built in a circluar pattern-every room has a view). It is a little hard to find, but well worth the effort. Rooms are large and well decorated, and very clean. The restaurant in- house is nothing to brag about, a little pricy, but OK. A shuttle bus comes to the door every half hour, so leave your car, take the shuttle down the hill. Explore Gatlinburg, and catch the shuttle back to the hotel. Out of the hustle-bustle.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

We just recently stayed at Park Vista. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable and the pool area surprisingly very clean. All in all - my family did enjoy the hotel. The downsides are that they have alot of conventions/groups in this hotel. Be prepared to cart your own luggage if you are fortunate enough to snag a luggage cart. They have one bell hop on duty for 100s of folks and you are pretty much on your own. Upon checking out - with a full cart of luggage - it tooks almost 20 minutes to get on an elevator that wasn't full. They have only 3 main elevators and 2 other service elevators that service 15 floors of folks - combine that with conventions and it can be a nightmare to get from your room to the lobby. The staff was half really nice and the other half were somewhere between "not caring" and simply bored with answering any questions. You also have to pay for high speed internet service as well. This hotel was once extremely nice but very outdated and in need of repairs. Our bathtub would not hold water due to a faulty drain. For the money and the view - it is nice. If you are not a patient person and hates crowds of folks - you might want to stay away. You need to be pretty self sufficient in this hotel. This hotel does a poor job of handling alot of people at one time since they are unprepared and extremely under staffed.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable room, nice pool area
  • Disliked — under staffed and over crowded -convention hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Skipper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

BEST VIEWS IN THE SMOKIES FOR THIS TIME OF THE YEAR IN OCTOBER!!!!! Rooms are clean and people were friendly!!! I don't stay in hotels when we visit Gatlinburg but this time we came on spur of the moment and lucked out on a Resv. Usually we spend around a $1,000 or more on a cabin and only spent 1/2 of that here and loved it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smokymtnsgal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My wife and I needed a weekend away so we researched what is within a few hours of Atlanta and we are so happy we found the Park Vista Hotel in Gatlinburg.

We had been to Gatlinburg about 2 years ago and we were not too excited about all the hotels clustered around the main street. The Park Vista gave us a real getaway, but close enough to the action to have some fun.

We loved the hotel's service, restaurant and amazing view of the Smoky Mountains. We definately recommend this hotel for a great vacation. It is super for the kids because it has a great swimming pool, game and a playground.

  • Liked — The pool and the mountain view
  • Disliked — the carpet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rikrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Park Vista for our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a better stay. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. The only hiccup of the check-in was that we had come in late (because our wedding lasted until 6 PM) and they had a hard time finding our reservation. What had happened was that they had checked us in already, but held the keys and the printout of the charges until we got there so that the room would not be released. The food was very good, and when we got room service, we waited only about thirty minutes. The longest we had to wait on a trolley was thirty minutes as well, but I do not place the blame for that on Park Vista. The pool was very nice, but needs a bit of renovation around the pool area itself. The arcade was a nice touch for the kids who stayed there as well. While we were there, the Tennessee Sheriff's Association annual meeting was held there. For the most part, the elevators were not overcrowded, nor were they loud. Because the entrance to the rooms are backed away from the central shaft, it was hard for my wife and I to hear much. We did have some bleedthrough sound coming from the room next to us, but not enough to disturb us. One last thing...the showerhead was very small and made the water sting a bit, and there was little room between the tub and hte toilet, but I realize that this is because the hotel is a bit older and there is no room for them to expand the bathroom without taking away from the main sleeping area. By the way, if you request to be put on the mountain side, the staff will do it for you!

  • Liked — Away from the strip
  • Disliked — $10 a day for internet! Did not like that one bit!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MtubaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg

Property: Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Address: 705 Cherokee Orchard Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton Gatlinburg hotel is known for its spectacular views and exquisite service. Overlooking the beautiful Smoky Mountains National Park and the quaint city of Gatlinburg, each guestroom has its own private balcony with amazing views. Conveniently located on the City’s Trolley Route, The Park Vista is only minutes from the many restaurants, shops and attractions that downtown Gatlinburg has to offer. And if your adventures include a visit to Dollywood Theme Park or a day of Outlet Shopping we are only minutes away! All guestrooms include a 42” flat screen television, refrigerator and wireless high-speed internet access. Other hotel amenities include:• In-room Dining• Business Center • Complimentary Wireless HISA in public areas• Spectacular Indoor Pool / Water Park• Outdoor Playground & Arcade• State-of-the-art Fitness CenterEnjoy your favorite beverages and appetizers, expertly created and served in our own Firefly’s Patio Lounge. Or relax and enjoy an enticing menu of freshly prepared Southern-inspired selections at The Vista Grill, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. With just over 25,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space as well as an executive boardroom, our professional catering and convention services team will insure a flawless and memorable experience for your next sales meeting, seminar, luncheon or social event. Whether your next visit to Gatlinburg involves a meeting, leisure or both, our friendly staff will always welcome you to The Park Vista a DoubleTree by Hilton with our signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Vista Resort
Park Vista Gatlinburg
Park Vista Motel Gatlinburg Tn
Park Vista Hotel Tenn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing