We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Clean, Will Stay Again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean, Will Stay Again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed a 4 nights in July. The rooms were nice and clean (no bugs!!), recently updated with a nice little balcony overlooking a beautiful creak. The linens were clean and we were able to get extra fresh towels (upon request) with no hassles.

The location was good, was near a trolley stop. Very easy to hop on the trolley and get into downtown Gatlinburg to walk through all of the shops without paying to park.

Free breakfast. The food was pretty good (waffles, biscuits & gravy, sausage, eggs, bagels, cereals, etc) but there were only like 4 tables, so we had to take breakfast back to our room every morning. That didn't bother me, because I enjoyed having breakfast out on the balcony.

The only 2 things that stopped me from giving the hotel the full 5 stars was the wifi was horrible. Couldn't hardly get on. And the pool was very weird. It had a very large deep end, and a very small shallow end that was hard to get in and out of.

We will definitely stay again though, I've stayed in a lot of hotels in Gatlinburg and this was one of the better ones. The view from the balcony was spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    410
    210
    85
    57
See reviews for
470
569
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Unfortunately, we had to find another hotel in Gatlinburg after spending 2 nights without sleep because of the noise on the 4 lane road in front of the hotel. The trucks and motorcycle traffic did not slow down, not even at 2-4 am. There was thick dust on the upholstered chair seats and the notepad on the nightstand had water stains on it. The rate was close to $80 per night with all taxes, while hotels 5 minutes away in Pigeon Ford were advertising $29 rates all up and down the strip. These are hotels that I feel are comparable to the Comfort Inn on the River, We spent more and relocated to an upscale hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank BuckeyeGirlUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Comfort Inn. Breakfast was good, and the location was convenient. We had a room with a balcony that opened out to the river. Loved hearing the sound of the river at night. We hiked to Leconte (10 mile round trip) and we were very happy to have a hot tub in the room. Great parking.
I gave 5's because it was perfect for our needs. It is not a 5 star hotel but it met my needs and expectations. I loved staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayB6465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived without a booking and looked at 2 other similar hotels in Gatlinburg before deciding to stay at the Comfort Inn on the River. Its in a fantastic location right on the river and only a 10-15 min walk into the heart of Gatlinburg. Our room on the third floor was clean and spacious. The staff was fantastic from the warm welcome we received on arrival to the brilliant housekeeping staff who kept our room beautifully clean. The balcony was a plus however it is not totally private. We did not have any problem with road noise even though there was a Car Rally being held in Pigeon Forge on the weekend. Lots beautifully restored old American cars which had been highly tuned drove past the hotel from Pigeon Forge to the National Park day and night. Our room was spacious and clean and the air conditioner worked well (if a little noisy), It was a little dark inside but this was not a problem either because it was so bright and glarey outside. Perhaps we slept well because we spent most of our days swimming in the beautifully clean and deep pool each morning and then hiking trails in the National Park for hours from midday to early evening. We only intended a 2 night stay but increased it to 4 nights as we were having such a fabulous time. Without asking we were given a discount on the last night!. All parking is undercover which we appreciated because it was so hot during our stay. We hope to go back next year and will definitely stay here again. OK so its not the Ritz but its great value for money in the heart of Gatlinburg and the Great Smokey Mountains which have so much to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel was convenient to the bustling downtown area, clean and had a nice view of the river. We enjoyed the evening and morning we spent here. All of the rooms have balconies on the river side. It was nice to sit on the balcony and listen to the river. The complimentary breakfast was adequate for our needs and the staff was friendly. The only down side, was the busy street in front of the hotel. It took a while for the traffic sounds to quiet down. The hotel was great for the price.

Room Tip: The third floor was nice, but it might be nicer on the lower level. Staying on the lower floor migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delighted33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Yes, its an older hotel, but everyone in town is, as well. The staff was amazing. The room was a basic room. The balcony had the best view over the river and looking at the mountain. Beds were comfy. TV worked. Air worked, although it was a bit noisy. When we entered the room it smelled a bit old, but I plugged in my Scentsy plug in and that took care of it. We will stay here again! The ONLY complaint was the breakfast. It was not great, so we skipped it after the first morning.

Room Tip: Room 218 had a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

From a location standpoint. Yes, it is near a trolley stop. And, yes, there is a small creek running next to the hotel. Beyond that...I question all of the positive reviews on this hotel. The room was spacious but old and did not appear to be overly clean. We weren't brave enough to use the fireplace for fear of lack of maintenance. The toilet was missing one or two bolts that hold it to the floor so it rocked every time you sat on it. There is a balcony, but it overlooks the hotels and parking lots behind it. If that wasn't enough...no one else mentioned that although your room has a balcony and view of the creek out back....guess where the other side of your room is located? It is about 100 ft from the main thoroughfare through town. Every bus, truck and group of Harley bikes that passes you will have the pleasure of a wake up. The best part of this hotel was the woman at the desk in the morning. She was very pleasant and friendly. She gave us directions to one of the best breakfast locations in Gatlinburg (Mountain Lodge - the biscuits and gravy are excellent). Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mprochn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Address: 293 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Comfort Inn On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The River Hotel Gatlinburg
Comfort Inn Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing