We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new place to stay in Gatlinburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new place to stay in Gatlinburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon (January 2012). Just walked in without a reservation. The front desk folks (including the manager) were so friendly and helpful, and we got a great room at a great rate. Convenient access to the trolley line (less than a block).

The room was very nice and super clean. Balcony view was just lovely, and great to stand out and watch the creek. Even if it was a little chilly in January, the view was worth a few shivers! The bed was really comfortable, and the room layout was great. Plenty of space, and I suspect our bathroom had been recently renovated.

If you want a place to stay where the staff really seems to care about giving you a great experience, book a room here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thescrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for your response. We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to post this review. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    410
    210
    85
    57
See reviews for
470
569
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on the River, Gatlinburg, Tn from November 18 to November 23, 2012. We had two queen beds on the second floor. It was quite until the last night there when more guest arrived and children ran up and down the exterior hall until 1 am. The beds were very comfortable and we had no problem with them. We also had no problem with the internet. The room was large and appeared just as it does in the photo in its advertisement. It is a little older hotel but in good condition. It was clean and very nice. The staff was very good and pleasant to us at all times. Breakfast was free and I did show some pictures and the breakfast area had nice large windows running alone one wall so you could see the river below. They always had a tv on in the morning to catch up on the morning news. Not too loud. There was a wonderful lady that handled the breakfast area only and stayed on top of it. There was cereal, biscuits, pastries, waffles, eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, coffee, orange and apple juice, 1 and 2 % milk, and I don't remember what else they had. But it seemed like they had something to satisfiy everyone. It was so nice. Got you off to a good start every morning. Our room was always clean when we came back from the day just waiting for us to bathe and rest a while. They had HBO free. They also had a mini frig. and microwave. You enter the room from the front exterior coridor but in the back you have a private balcony looking over the river, it is not over the river, but it is looking over it. The view it beautiful. Very relaxing to sit on the balcony and just enjoy the sound of the river. Makes you not really want to leave. We received good service and the price was great for this time of year. We slept well except for the last night when other guest started to arrive. You can hear traffic from the road because you are one of the first hotels coming into Gatlinburg, but it is easy to get in and out of the hotel. Having no little ones I can not comment on that. and I did not see a fittness center nor did I look for one. It does have an elevator. I feel it was a good choice and I would recommend it and would use them again based on my experience only.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your awesome review, we look forward to having you here again with us. Here at Comfort Inn on the river, we agree with you, it’s a wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while we were on leave from my husband returning from Afghanistan. They were very accommodating and very helpful. We stayed in the king room with a Jacuzzi and it was amazing! They are doing some remodeling so you have to over look that and could use a little more updating in the rooms but the room was very, very clean. It is very close to everything in Gatlinburg & in Pigeon Forge! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review!! We are doing a lot of remodeling and a lot more to come, new carpeting is soon to arrive, we are very excited! All of our Jacuzzi’s are brand new just recently installed. Again thank you for your great review and look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The photo in the Choice Hotels booklet is very deceiving! What you don't see is that the hotel is about 30 feet from a busy highway! Noise from vehicles all night long..it was terrible. We tried turning on the A/C unit for some "white noise" but it rattled and made so much noise..that didn't work! I finally got some sleep by putting my head UNDER the pillow. We left after one miserable night. The staff was nice and efficient, but the location isn't something that can be fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank imhere55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Our hotel is located right on the main parkway, it is also located right on the river, with a beautiful view from all rooms. The peaceful river is very soothing and relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We thought that a room with a balcony over the creek would be great, but the third floor up was too high, balcony not private enough then, the layout of our room was just crazy, you go out on the deck thru your bathroom! The room was clean, that was the highlight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Criti-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw, we would be willing to relocate a guest to our 2nd floor (depending on availibility) All of our rooms are clean, and we are in the process of painting and updating all of our rooms. We do have pictures of our rooms on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family of 5 was so excited to go on our mini-vacation, but this motel put a damper on the entire trip. We were only in the room for 1 hour and I killed 3 roaches. When I told the man at the front desk we were leaving because they were infested his response was..... "Sorry". I am still trying to get a refund from the motel. We luckily found a clean, roach-free motel about a mile away. Stay away from this motel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for making us aware that this room did have a few roaches in it we did get the exterminator out the next day and have not had any problems since. This guest came to our hotel through a marketing company and we unfortantly do not owe them any money. We did credit there sales tax back on there credit card when they stated they would be leaving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's a bit older (they're doing renovations now), and the carpet in the room was stained, but it was clean, big enough, and had a private balcony overlooking the river (each room has one). The breakfast was free (waffle-maker, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy, cereal, muffins/bagels/English muffins) and plentiful. I never saw them out of anything - the lady that runs the breakfast is excellent.

The best part about the hotel was that it is far enough away from Gatlinburg downtown to avoid the crowds, noise, and huge traffic jams, yet close enough to walk through town in 15-20 minutes. There is trolley service right outside, too. There are tons of hotels downtown, and the poor souls trying to pull out of the parking lots were stuck there forever due to the huge lines of traffic downtown. There is parking right outside the hotel, and lower level parking if the lot is full. There is a (small) elevator, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetta H, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review!! We do offer a great bargain, free Breakfast, Free Wifi, a balcony over looking the little pigeon river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Address: 293 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Comfort Inn On The River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The River Hotel Gatlinburg
Comfort Inn Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing